This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Sheffield x 4 from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

1

A close encounter with the natural world!

Namibia between 21 Oct 2011 and 8 Nov 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"I loved this holiday. The only thing missing was contact with local culture and food, which was inevitable and predictable in such an under populated country.

I wish we had had one more day in Swakopmund to do a pelagic or desert tour or to go kayaking. Mushara didn't add much to the trip but I could have stayed another day at Hoodia or Entendeka, especially if it had been cool enough to walk more.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I found the one night stops less rewarding on the whole although sometimes that can't be avoided. Sabina did a good job guessing our needs from our comments which may have been contradictory at times. Perhaps a very brief set of questions at the start? Sabina was very responsive to our wish to walk and we managed quite abit even though it was very hot."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2011
"This was a lovely introduction to our holiday.

It is easy to find from the airport in a quiet, peaceful part of town. It is in easy reach of Joe's beer house although we ate at Luigi's fish restaurant as recommended by our hostess. Luigi's was an excellent choice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2011
"I felt a little bit of an outsider here, probably because Joanna was away with a sick horse. The staff had obviously been trained not to interact with guests which felt a little odd.

My partner was told off for being about 4 minutes late for dinner the first night but on the second night it was much more relaxed and nearly 20 minutes after the time indicated. At breakfast although coffee was served it wasn't obvious where to get the tea and I had to find someone to ask. These are trivial points but stopped Bullsport being one of my favourites."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2011
"What a place! Friendly staff, superb accommodation and facilities and a wonderful location. It was particualrly inviting to be able to walk from the door along the river or up onto the ridge.

We could easily have spent another day here just walking freely on the local hills. I didn't use the swimming pool but i might have been keener to do so if there had been a changing cubicle near the pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2011
"Lovely location on the beach but it was very hot when we were there.

Although there was a fan in the room it couldn't come on without the light which was a nuisance.

We organised a Turnstone Tour to Sandwich Harbor for these travellers. They commented:

Life in the sand dunes of the skeleton coast: Excellent.

This was like being with David Attenborough on tour! We had a beautiful and amazing day.

I wouldn't have missed this for anything."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Life in the sand dunes of the skeleton coast"

27 Oct 2011 • All-day excursion

This was like being with David Attenborough on tour! We had a beautiful and amazing day. I wouldn't have missed this for anything
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2011
"I felt this lodge had more style than substance. Little things detracted from the experience. For example, none of the lights in the lounge were bright enough for reading and star gazing was difficult because of the lights all rouind the roof platform.

The staff were less friendly than at Hoodia and less concerned with individual needs. There was no mosquito net so one didn't feel like pushing the bed outside although the room was hot. Outside, there was not even a small trail to walk from camp which was frustrating."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2011
"What an expereince! The service was outstanding and every need was catered for. Great attention to detail from iced water or juice permanently on tap to your own water bottle for trips! There was even a thermos of water in the tent.

At no time did I feel one of a long line of guests; the hosts were friendly and interested in everyone and keen to follow up individual interests.

It was an education to see how they managed their environment."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2011
"Only a few months since it opened and there are still little problems to solve. The staff, except the guides, are obviously novices.

The transport to and from the car park is erratic and walking is the best option even in the heat. There is a need for a parasol or other shade at the huts and fans would be nice - it was very hot.

In a year or so this camp should be unmissable"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2011
"Obviously older, plainer and lacking the style of other camp [Ed: Dolomite Point!], this camp nonetheless had all you could wish for. The air conditioning allowed a good nights sleep!

The buffet style meals were excellent and nearest to more "authentic food" than any where."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Nov 2011
"This camp is obviously older and lacking in style but the chalets had everything necessary for comfort including fridge and air- conditioning. The water hole was most attractive and there was a small trail to the top of a hill to walk.

The buffet style food was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2011
"The camp was not very full and for some reason everyone kept to themselves.

More experienced managers would have facilitated more interaction, I think."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Fitting end to holiday at Ghaub Guest Farm"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2011
"A lovely traditional farm with friendly, knowledgable staff. The walks around the area were first class and even included bushman paintings.

The rooms had fridges and fans and a verandah overlooking the hills; bliss!

The trip to the caves is not to be missed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team