This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by ian from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Okavango Kwai River and Vic Falls Holiday

Botswana and 1 other country between 29 Apr 2019 and 5 May 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable holiday which was expertly arranged by Expert Africa spending 4 nights in the Okavango Delta Kwai river area and 2 nights at Victoria falls

Everything was well arranged, everything worked out to schedule and we relaxed and enjoyed our time on safari and at the spectacular falls.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
Thank you for arranging this spectacular holiday."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

"Lovely holiday mixed with poor food"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2019
"We travelled as a party of 8 and had a great time overall. The safari experiences were wonderful and we really enjoyed the close encounters with the elephants. The camp itself was friendly and the staff really tried hard to make our stay very welcome.

Our only criticism was the food - the quality was sub-standard and unfortunately, as our group were last to eat after arriving a little late at meal times, there was not enough food or choices of food left for us. One evening most of the food was finished leaving some of our party little food to eat. Breakfast the next day again had no fruit salad leftover and little other choice on offer and again on our second evening at the camp, the food was poor and most dishes were finished when we arrived. We did challenge the staff and all they could say was that there was no other food available.

Overall we had a great stay but were entirely unhappy with the food quality and availability of choice and sufficient food."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Excellent
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

"Wonderful Camp"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2019
"We travelled as a party of 8 and had a great time at Sable Alley. The camp and rooms were above our expectations after just having spent 2 days / nights at Hyena Pan. We thoroughly enjoyed the camp, food, game drives and friendly staff. We would definitely recommend this camp to other travellers. The games drives, Mokoro boats and abundance of game and bird life made for a really enjoyable experience.

We struggled with food at Hyena Pan in terms of availability and quality and by comparison, Sable Alley was substantially improved. The food was table services rather than buffet and the food was of a really good standard. Well prepared, well presented and a joy to eat. We would honestly recommend that Hyena Pan follows a similar approach to serving food to their quests.

As a pure safety note, we would say that our last day was more exciting but could have ended in tragedy. Our truck followed 2 lionesses with 3 cubs and in trying to get as close as possible became stuck in the boggy mud. Luckily a second safari truck was close by to assist but when it arrived neither safari truck had any tow ropes???

Our tourist group was then asked to transfer to the second safari ruck to lighten the load to see whether this would help but unfortunately the safari truck was stuck deep in the mud.

A third safari truck after some 30 minutes arrived with a tow rope and proceed to hand the tow rope over to their colleagues and then drive off??? All of the safari tourists were then asked to stand in the open field unattended in pretty close proximity (circa 30 metres) to the 2 lionesses and their cubs. The safari truck was eventually towed out (circa 20 minutes later) and we then managed to all get back into the trucks and proceed with the safari tours.

In hindsight, we should never had agreed to leave the safari truck and stand in the open fields. This is incredibly dangerous especially with 2 lionesses that could have attacked us at any stage.

We would honestly recommend that all safari trucks carry tow ropes, the staff are trained in how to tow vehicles our of deep mud or perhaps avoid the mud in the first place and that tourists are never allowed to leave the safari trucks and stand in open fields unattended within such close proximity to wild dangerous animals. We would also recommend that the third safari truck should have stayed around to help and not leave tourists vulnerable.

Despite the above adventure – we really did enjoy the camp and our experiences and would recommend this camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Safari Club

"Lovely Hotel and Spectacular Falls"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2019
"We enjoyed two nights at the Victoria Fall Club and had a wonderful time. The location overlooks two watering holes and enjoys quite spectacular views.

We also thoroughly enjoyed the Zambezi sunset cruise, the Livingston safari game drive, the falls and the Boma restaurant.

We would recommend this hotel and destination."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Namibia Holiday

Namibia between 5 Feb 2014 and 15 Feb 2014

Trip rating: Average
"Overall a great holiday but really in some ways spoilt by Nhoma Camp.

Expert Africa should however be congratulated and thanked for the excellent service given in booking and arranging the holiday."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 6 Feb 2014
"All round good experience with helpful friendly staff"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2014
"Staff really great and friendly.

Cave experience was really worthwhile and enjoyable albeit a challenge"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2014
"We were booked to stay at the Mushara Bush Camp but we decided after the Nhoma experience to upgrade the stay to the Lodge.

The lodge was great and we really enjoyed our stay plus the game reserve was also excellent with loads of good game sightings. We chose a self drive and this worked out really well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Feb 2014
"Truly wonderful and we had a really lovely time.

They made a real effort to help us celebrate Valentines day and a 50'th birthday.

The location and surrounding boulders are really spectacular and we were blessed with really lovely weather - what a great last day in Namibia for us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team