This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ghaub Guest Farm
Ghaub Guest Farm
Ghaub Guest Farm

Reviews of Ghaub Guest Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ghaub Guest Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ghaub Guest Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

60% success

Oryx

40% success

Eland

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Stroud

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2010
"A very relaxed and friendly place to stay.
The bird hide was equipped with binoculars for all to use.
Food & ambience very good.
Lovely gardens - good bird life.
A bit of luxury after two weeks in the bush.
Would have been happy to stay more than one night." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs JC
Stroud

"Ghaub Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2010
"A nice place to stay en route to Caprivi. We did not take part in any activities....hence no comment." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr K
Channel Islands

"A long way home"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2010
"After two weeks of 40+ degree heat, 3500km of driving and stunning wildlife viewing this is a great place to come.

It is much more than just an overnight stop and possibly deserves 2 nights as it is a great place to chill. The staff a very friendly and the rooms and facilities brilliant, plus they have food and wine of the highest standard.

The farm feel is very welcoming and the walking very enjoyable." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Ireland

"Very peaceful at Ghaub Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2010
"Very helpful manager and staff. Very ineresting history about the farm.

Loved the birthday cake I was given by the lodge." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2010
"We were the only people staying there. A lovely room and great food after a long relaxing walk." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Bucks

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2010
"Hard to imagine this farm is in Africa. Never seen so many different sorts of cow.

A real education" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Dorset

"Too short"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2009
"We arrived too late to take an evening trip which was a shame and we had to leave too early in the morning,another night would have been great as it is a lovely place and we enjoyed the farming aspect of it." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2009
"We enjoyed exploring the caves at the farm together with our children (8+9 years) with only torches spending 1,5 hour in the dark passages!

The guide was very friendly and took good care of the children (and parents). Highly recommended for adventures families. There were good walking trails on the farm and a beatifull large garden (park). We got the best South African red wine in Namibia in the nice little restaurent "Rust en Vrede" (rest in peace) - try it.

The waiters were attentive and the manager asked to our well being all the time - hope they get a good salary. The family room was spacious and nice, the pool was perfect (but cold). Spend no less than 2 days here, highly recomended." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Family P
Belgium

"What a wonderful place!"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2009
"Somewhat unexpectedly, Ghaub was one of the highlights of our trip to Namibia. The welcome here was so genuine (it was the only place where the initial "hello" was not immediately followed by a request to see our voucher!) and friendly and this continued throughout our short stay.

Mika and Gerry really made us feel we were welcome guests. Meals were good and good value and adapted to give smaller portions for the children. An impromptu concert by the staff and another guest was enjoyed by all. The rooms were easily large enough for four beds and the views were amazing with lots of room for the children to run around. The pool was large and again had lovely views, and the chance to see so many kudu at the small waterhole was another bonus.

The farm tour in the morning was great and very good value for money - relaxed and not hurried, the guide was friendly and kept us entertained with stories of farm life, snakes, etc. Although we didn't see many animals the scenery, rock engravings, cemetery more than made up for this. We loved this place and were sorry that we had only one night here." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2009
"We can see why new owner Gerry fell in love with this place. Yes, furniture may be dated, but we're not talking 60's and 70's plastic here, it's all solid wood, well cared for and will last for years (in contrast to Namutoni!). It's completely in keeping with the atmosphere and age of the place.

Beds were comfy, rooms cool, towels soft and fluffy (best we had all trip.) We had an excellent home-cooked dinner (eland) accompanied by good-value wine.

A lovely afternoon by the (very cold!) pool, then saw over 30 kudu at the waterhole plus duikers and warthogs on the lawn.

Gerry was an excellent host (ably assisted by Bano the dog and Zorro and Hutch the cats), and we spent lots of time discussing his plans for Ghaub. We wish him all the best and really hope he can make it work. We'll be back one day!
We'd have happily stayed another night and taken one of the farm tours or other trips available.

Whilst Ghaub is a bit 'out of the way' it's definitely worth the trip (visit the lovely town of Tsumeb on the way). On leaving we recommend taking the Kombat road – may take longer than other routes but scenery is lovely and we saw lots of wildlife on the way. Also, if time permits, visit the Hoba Meteorite – the largest in the world – well worth a few minutes stop with cold drinks and clean loos available." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 36
90%
36 reviews of Ghaub Guest Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
16
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (412 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (83 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

A convenient stop between Etosha and Windhoek,.Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, and some spectacular San rock art.


90% (38 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


90% (37 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (27 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


83% (13 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa