This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Norwich

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

19

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2010 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 23 Jul 2010 and 9 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great trip with one lodge excepted!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
Provide guidelines for the cost of activities so there are no surprises."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2010
"A great first night, lovely room and food. We really needed this after a dreadful experience with Budget cars!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2010
"We were the only people staying there. A lovely room and great food after a long relaxing walk."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2010
"The lodge was still recovering from the floods in May. However other than the owners dog mess that was everywhere we had a great stay.

The people were very helpful particularly in the morning as we had to renegotiate a difficult route as a bridge had been washed away."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2010
"A great place to stay, surprisingly we were the only ones other than a camera crew.

Really wished we could have stayed longer! Great guide and lovely canoe trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2010
"Fantastic lodge on the river.

Really great to hear the hippos at night and see them by day.

Michael was a great guide who took us to his home in the village and also to the village school where the kindergarten children entertained us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2010
"Great location and room. The only activity we were offered was a total 'rip off' and disappointing.

The guide seemed more interested in arranging an activity for another group for the following morning! We did not ask the price as we assumed a river trip would be similar throughout our travels but was at least six times that we had previously paid. We feel that Expert Africa should warn other guests of this matter.

The evening meal was at best warm. Thankfully no activity was on offer the following morning as we would hate to think what the price was!"
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2010
"Fantastic location, guides and staff.

We enjoyed exhilarating chases following the wild dogs resulting a wart hog kill. We really loved every minute here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2010
"Another fantastic lodge. Very friendly and helpful managers and owner Matt.

Highly recommended and we would love to go back.

Matt was great in helping to sort out a major return issue with the Budget hire car!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"An idyllic way to spend time on the Chobe River.

Ernest and the team were fantastic! So many elephants, crocs and birds that we lost count.

Even saw some lions on our last morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"We were upgraded to the Royal Livingstone, what a treat to finish a fantastic holiday in colonial style!

Vic Falls were not bad either................"
Excellent

What a great holiday!

Namibia between 17 Jul 2009 and 6 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Truly wonderful holiday for our first African experience."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2009
"Room a little dated and in need of re decoration (note we were informed of this on our arrival).
Breakfast excellent but evening snack poor even the squash soup on the menu was not available!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"A superb location and the dune chalet was truly wonderful.
Friendly and very helpful staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2009
"Magnificent location and dune drive was fantastic.

Very interesting river bed walk.

Excellent food first night but average second night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2009
"The location of our room on the hillside was fantastic. However was in need of curtains and cleaning of windows.
We had a cute resident dormouse who visited the room each evening!

The new management stated he would address the overall standard of all of the rooms.
Food and conversation was some of the best on the holiday.

Great walk along the canyon."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"We had the honeymoon suite equipped with laptop!

As we were tired Saturday evening we decided to eat in. Limited choice of food (note we were told [Ed: by other travellers] this was a recommended Italian restaurant), steak only on offer and in comparison was expensive.

The restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2009
"The best lodge on the trip!
Very roomy lodge and we wheeled the beds out onto the verandah to sleep out under the stars.

Elephant drive was a fantastic five hours.

Food and service excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"Excellent game viewing at the water hole day and night.
Game drives excellent both escorted and on our own.

Buffet style food was poor, drinks service was slow and paying the bill by credit card was chaotic.
Note we suspect our credit card was cloned here.

However the game made up for this."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"Less activity at the water hole but plenty outside the camp.
The herd of elephants and the lion and cub activity was memorable.
Food again buffet style but much better than Okaukuejo."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2009
"Wonderful location and a great place to chill. Walks excellent.
Sundowner drive a little disappointing based upon the cost.

Food was varied and of high quality.
Staff was extremely helpful and personable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team