This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve

Reviews of Mundulea Reserve

Wildlife sightings and reviews

76 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mundulea Reserve and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mundulea Reserve.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Eland

83% success

Zebra

36% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Black Rhino

9% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 76
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A & Mr M
London

"Absolutely fantastic"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2018
"The only negative aspect during our three nights at Mundulea was the puncture by the gate - our second of our holiday and not the fault of Mundelea. After that it was all marvellous.

We were very lucky that Bruno was in residence and he led our walks. Apparently we were the last guests of the year before Bruno closed the camp until January. There was only one other guest so we were a small and quite intimate group. Bruno is fascinating and interesting company and we seemed to spend much time, without noticing the passage of time, discussing his ideas and ideals, world politics and matters of common interest at the communal dining area. Bruno led us on a series of walks from the camp through the bush and was so very informative on flora and fauna as well as landscape and geology. The walking seemed at times to be so tranquil and idyllic, especially in the evenings as the sun was setting.

At Mundulea, one does not see game in such close contact as in game parks where one is driven to waterholes and other such areas where game concentrate. We saw a lot of different antelope and giraffe through the bushes and we were shown signs of pangolin, aardvark, badger, hyena and ostrich as well as fresh tracks of rhino, cheetah, lynx and leopard. The walks were more about discovering the habitat and behaviour of animals and about the natural and not-so-natural vegetation and landscape.

After visits to Desert Rhino Camp and Etosha where one sees the game at close quarters, Mundulea offers a contrasting learning opportunity and we were very pleased that we visited after having been to Etosha. We gained so much of the context of the wildlife. A pair of binoculars is absolutely essential as from the top of some of the hills we climbed, Bruno could pick out animals way below.

All the meals at Mudulea were nutritious and delicious and many thanks to Tommy for producing it all by means of a camp fire and wood oven.

Our visit was another unforgettable highlight of our stay in Namibia." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mrs F.
Aylesbury

"Really remote, Namibia in the raw"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2018
"A wonderful, remote, no frills bush camp for the benefit of the wild animals almost more than the guests!

Comfortable tents, outside bathroom. Good hides to watch the waterhole. Because you are walking everywhere, there is less chance of seeing many animals as they are very nervous. We came very close to black rhino on several occasions, without actually seeing them. Their snorting and thundering feet were quite close enough.

A certain level of fitness is required for this camp as well as strong nerves. Bruno is enormously knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his reserve pointing out many tracks of animals, proving they were there, just not visible! Lion, leopard, hyena, black rhino all there, just not seen." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

K+R, J+P
Stirling

"Highlight of our trip"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"Bruno was an excellent host, extraordinarily well informed about every aspect of the reserve so we really got to understand the ecology and ecosystem.

It was refreshing to get out of Toyota landcruisers and connect to the land through the walking trips. Each walk took us in a different direction, looking at a different aspect of the place. The hide a few paces from our tents provided excellent viewing of all the game and birds coming to the waterhole. This included some animals that we didn't see elsewhere including dik-dik, duiker, honey badger, banded mongoose and scrub hare

The camp was very different from anywhere else we stayed with nearly every item made from the natural resources of the place, or from recycled materials, without compromising comfort. The meals all cooked on the open fire were excellent and we all enjoyed the wide ranging conversation over mealtimes and round the fire with Bruno and the other 2 guests.

These days of our trip were so memorable as they were so different to the rest of the trip - we would not have missed it and would love to return." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Mrs J
Somerset

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2018
"We had a fantastic experience at Mundulea. Bruno is a wonderful guide and knowledgeable about many subjects. No-one should be bored spending time with him! Tommy looked after us in camp and cooked delicious meals. This is a different experience to most other lodges I have stayed at. For us it was a highlight of our trip but it is not for everyone. It helps to be reasonably fit because all activities are based around walking. I understand that Bruno will adjust activities to suit his guests but if you can't walk at least 10km (I suggest) I think you would not get the most from this experience. Also, being on foot brings you into contact with fewer animals but the landscape, tracking and stories more than make up for any deficit on that score. Personally I loved the wildness of it and the sink holes and cave systems. I hope I will return one day." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mr G
Somerset

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2018
"This was a magnificent and true African experience
Our host Bruno Nebe was terrific, knowledgeable and clearly very experienced. His right hand man Tommy was most attentive too.
This really was a 'middle of nowhere' experience.
Wonderful walking and wildlife experiences - great birdlife.
Successfully tracking Pangolin, nighttime Lions roaring, and witnessing the release of a 12ft long python was a thrill.
The daily bees in the toilet bowl was not so much a thrill as a challenge - fortunately not unsurmountable!
This is not for the faint-hearted, but sitting under the stars around a campfire drinking beer and swapping stories with Burno will be remembered for a lifetime. Brilliant!
There are no facilities - apart for a couple of hides" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Wendy
Melbourne

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2018
"This was one of the highlights of the trip. Bruno's knowlege, and being able to walk, made this a wonderful experience.

We really appreciated the more low key accommodation and approach, after the luxury of the Botswana experience.

I can understand that this might not be everyone's cup of tea, but it was certainly ours." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Samantha
London

"I loved it!"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2018
"I found our three night stay to be the highlight of the holiday in many ways. It was absolutely fascinating to spend time with Bruno. We learned about geology, flora, fauna, the challenges of establishing and running a reserve, Namibian politics, history, bushcraft and so much more. I also loved being out walking in the bush as opposed to sitting in a jeep. Bruno has high ideals and has taken a very purist approach, yet he is also very honest about the downsides of that and a few mistakes he has made. We saw quite a large range of wildlife while we were there, and tracks of more. However, I don't feel that is really why you go there (Etosha is for ticking off the game). I felt it gave our family the most amazing introduction to the country and knowledge that gave us a really deep understanding and context into which to place everything we saw on the rest of our travels around Namibia.

We were the only guests at the time we stayed (2 adults, plus children aged 14, 11 and 7). We shared three tents, which were very comfortable and with nice touches like the hot water bottles Bruno's colleague Tommy put in for us each night. Solar power gave us plenty of hot water and enough light (though was dim at night so definitely paid to get organised with clothing and toiletries in daylight hours). There were some insects in the outside bathroom as you'd expect including bees which were mentioned in one tripadvisor report - I just sprayed round the loo with insect repellant and it really was not an issue as they were extremely benign. My daughter got a bee up her trouser leg. She calmly peeled them down and out it flew - none of us got any bites or stings while we were there.

The food was fantastic (though I would ditch the breakfast fruit yogurts if I were him in favour if a big bowl of plain yogurt to go with his delicious homemade granola). Again, Bruno takes a purist approach that everything is cooked over the campfire. We were particularly impressed by the bread from the metal bread oven he had built (he has built everything on the camp from beds to chairs to bread ovens), the homemade zebra salami, brisket of eland with polenta. My favourite food of the holiday with perfectly judged portions and always second helpings if wanted.

Bruno was patient with the kids and took a lot of time to explain things at an appropriate level, while also being firm when necessary and expecting them to respect their environment (eg delicate skulls and tools on display, sometimes needing to keep the noise down when out in the bush).

I cannot recommend it highly enough and it was definitely my highlight (and I say that even though we stayed at some uber luxurious places like Little Ongava and Damaraland Camp). I feel I learned a lot and, for me, that was a true luxury." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Midlothian

"Amazing Mundulea"

3 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2018
"This is Bruno's home and he is an expert naturalist. His passion for wildlife conservation is inspiring.

Tommy his right hand man is a gem cooking on the open fire. The experience of walking in the bush is very different from being driven around and we have some special memories.

This is a place that grew on us and we were sad to leave." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Napier

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"Wonderful experience walking with Bruno.

Twice heard a leopard close to our tent." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Bath

"Fabulous"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"Mundulea is pure Africa. It's a bush camp, and you spend all your time walking in the bush, tracking animals, seeing lots of animals, going to their amazing waterhole, sitting round the camp fire, and eating simple delicious food.

This is adventure, not luxury. Having said that, the tents are very well equipped, and the beds comfortable. The tents have outdoor bathrooms, which are open to the bush and all the animals.

The leopard in the camp was an extra attraction !" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 76
99%
76 reviews of Mundulea Reserve by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
73
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (411 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


90% (37 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (26 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


91% (22 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (10 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa