This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by P & B, from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Namibia Sept 2019

Namibia between 3 Sep 2019 and 22 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our second Expert Africa arranged trip.

Josh and Claire were helpful, knowledgeable and patient with our endless questions.

I have no hesitation in strongly recommending them."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Great place for a first night stop.

We were there on our last night too, and the staff were very helpful with taxis into Windhoek for us. Highly recommend Joe's Beerhouse - only 5 minutes away by cab. We had a lovely meal there on our last night (gets very busy so best to book).

We also ate at Olive Grove which was very good too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"BullsPort Lodge & Farm review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2019
"Lovely place with great self-walking trails.

And not too far from Windhoek for a first day's drive.

Really nice people - and great cake!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Lovely place - and such helpful staff. We were suspicious about a slow puncture on our vehicle - they found the cause, changed the wheel, mended the puncture so we had a useable spare, and lent us a phone to contact Bidvest to sort out a new tyre - all part of the service!

We loved the conservation ethos (no single use plastics, conserving water etc).

Dinner on the deck was great, and the singing from the staff added to the atmosphere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"Characterful and quirky!

Well positioned to walk into Swakopmund.

Sam likes to join you at your table at mealtimes for a chat. He is full of helpful advice about the locality which is very useful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2019
"Absolutely wonderful.

Our guide, Immanuel, was brilliant and such a lovely person.

We loved the singing and dancing by the staff and still have the bye-bye song running through our heads."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"This was by far the most "touristy" place we stayed at. But we were very glad to have spend just one night here, for the waterhole.

The Water Chalets were pretty comfortable and the food was better than we'd expected.
And the animal sightings were great."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Onguma Tree Top Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2019
"Loved the location and the tented rooms with only three walls - magic to wake up and look at the waterhole.

And to have an open air shower watched by a giraffe."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"We were so glad we added three nights at Mundulea to our trip. It was a completely different experience and instead of observers, we felt a part of the country, its landscape and its challenges.

Bruno was so full of information and knowledge (and so good at passing it on), it was a real privilege to spend time with him. His understanding of Namibian - and wider African/world - problems and his measured, well-considered response is rare to see. The sustainability of the camp and what he is trying to achieve at Mundulea is impressive.

I suppose he is too busy but I'd like to propose him for a newly created post of King of the World (or at the very least, world environment minister). He'd do a lot better than the shower we've got at the moment.

PS He also tells a very good story."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2019
"(see first page)"
Excellent

Trip of a lifetime

Botswana between 10 Jul 2009 and 22 Jul 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was the most expensive holiday we have ever taken - but it was truly worth it. Botswana seems to have got it just right. There was no commercial feel to it, just observing the natural world, and being guided by locals who you felt genuinely care about the environment, love their jobs, are well trained and justly proud of their country.

Suggestions for improvements:

You are right - it really is COLD in the mornings! Lots of layers are the best things to take - and I was very pleased I had my gloves.

We took your advice on the order we did our trip, and for safari novices it was really good - the night in Motsentsela to acclimatise, then starting the trip at Muchenje - luxurious and a good overview - then Lagoon where we got a bit more involved by following the wild dogs, and some hunting lions, and then finishing with Grant at Santantadibe where we really felt a part of the African bush.

I cannot think of anything that could have improved our trip (oh, perhaps if we could have stayed longer..)"

Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

"Motsentsela Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2009
"We built in a first night here in case of travel problems - not in fact needed as our flights were on time and all our luggage arrived - but it was good to have some recovery/adjustment time after the long journey, and nice to be able to walk around unaccompanied."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Fantastic setting"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2009
"This was a brilliant place to start our holiday. It gave a great overview of what there was to see and was in a stunning setting. The all day river trip is a must - in fact we did it twice.
The staff were wonderful, and Sean made it feel like a private house party. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We loved it!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2009
"What a beautiful place. BD and Alson, our two guides were terrific. Following wild dogs hunting, although not for the faint-hearted, was tremendous fun.

Incidentally there is no longer a double decker boat here, which I had seen commented on in previous reviews - it is just a small motorboat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Private Mobile Camp, Botswana (this camp has since closed)

"Santantadibe Mobile Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2009
"Do not miss this! However good the reviews you have read about it, it is better. Grant is fantastic, the camp facilities are brilliant, the food (all cooked on an open fire by Joyce) was amazing, the whole experience was magical."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team