This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve

Reviews of Mundulea Reserve

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mundulea Reserve and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mundulea Reserve.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

93% success

Wildebeest

93% success

Eland

85% success

Zebra

42% success

Roan antelope

23% success

Black Rhino

8% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R
Napier

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"Wonderful experience walking with Bruno.

Twice heard a leopard close to our tent." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Leemings
Kent

"Wonderful place wonderful owner"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"We had a wonderful time at Mundulea.

The camp is simple but very relaxing & to spend so much time with Bruno was truly a privilege. He is an amazing person not only for what he is doing at Mundulea but for the way he is doing it based on good scientific evidence a lot of which he has developed himself in conjunction with academic biologists. He is a magnificent host & guide & we were lucky enough to have him to ourselves for most of our visit.

He seemed to understand the flora & fauna at a deeper level than any other guide we have met. Walking with him was a rare pleasure.

Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

We would recommend driving via the D 2779,2782 & C39 to Otavi as a quick & easy route ,avoiding the rather boring C38 & B1" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Mrs R
Berbs

"Mundulea is fabulously interesting reserve."

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2017
"Mundulea is a must for anybody who has interests in natural history, archeology, and conservation.

Bruno Nebe is a wonderful host with deep insightful knowledge of the environment." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AB
SW London

"The highlight of our stay"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2017
"For us Mundulea was by far the highlight of our stay in Namibia. But it wouldn't necessarily be the case for everyone.

Mundulea is a private game reserve created by Bruno Nebe. Accommodation is set within a small tented camp, with its own waterhole. There were a total of 6 guests, including the two of us, during our stay. The only activity (other than talking, eating, drinking, and sleeping) is walking in the reserve, expertly guided by Bruno. Tommy stays behind to cook the most delicious meals over an atmospheric open fire, one of many highlights being the daily fresh, home-made bread, baked in some rescued car part (I think).

What staying in Mundelea gives its very lucky guests is an intense, in-depth, understanding of how wild game and its environment, the whole integrated chain of life, operates, from the termites, beetles, guinea fowl, snakes, up to the predators.

This was a uniquely powerful experience for us - it might not have the same appeal for others. You may not see a lot of animals or being able to tick boxes on the number of different species seen.

For example, we didn't see leopard, except a hazy dark outline at dusk at our waterhole, but we did hear the leopard call (a distinctive, rasping, sawing sound) all night 5 minutes (or less ) from our tent and the next morning we followed the tracks of the leopard female, and her companions from just outside our camp. Plus we just avoided tripping over a languid black mamba (Obviously Bruno saw it well in time, a few metres ahead of us)." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"Bruno!"

4 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2017
"This place is for anyone who loves wildlife and wants to see Africa as it could be.

Lots of walking with Bruno who remains the best guide we've ever spent time with. You learn so much from him.

Mundelea is special." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
BIggar

"Wild and remote"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2017
"A remarkable solo effort. One man's contribution to conservation. A privilege to be able to share it.

Bruno most knowledgeable about every aspect of conservation from beetles and spiders at one end to rhinos at the other. A complete contrast to the radio controlled Toyota at Ongava.

Here we walked in silence for four hours and could listen to the birds. What it lacked in creature comforts it delivered in wildness." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
K & J, J & R
UK

"A real highlight of our trip"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2017
"Once again the weather did not help. There was a slightly dodgy moment for the first half mile off the tarmac in the wet. Secondly, early morning starts were off because the long grass was soaking.

In the context of the location it is fair to grade everything as excellent, although the camp is not (thank goodness) luxurious..

One member of our party had not understood that once at the camp the only method of transport is walking.

The whole thing revolves around Bruno's guiding which is all encompassing. Everything from beetles and caterpillars to rhinos, vegetation and spoor is grist for the mill. Bruno's vision for Mundelea is visibly working. I particularly enjoyed our afternoon expeditions when we able to climb up a couple of local hills.

The camp is delightful, though some might find it a little basic; it overlooks a waterhole. The cooking is delicious (all prepared on an open fire) and wholesome.

This was a highlight of our trip and contains some favourite moments.

At this time of year with the grass long and with one member of the party unable to walk long distances there were some restrictions but Bruno took it all in his stride. At the right time of the year I would think that this would be breathtaking. I hope to return." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Mundulea"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2017
"We loved everything about this place. The accommodation is basic but comfortable and everything works.

Food was delicious, wonderful walks and excellent host.

We had an unforgettable experience watching a vet dart and tranquillise a giraffe, then remove a snare." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Huntingdon

"Magical Mundulea"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2017
"I loved this place!

It was a magical wilderness experience (but not for anyone who doesn't like bugs!), Bruno was a fascinating guide and the walks twice a day were fabulous.

I will never forget this place and would love to go back." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr N
King's Lynn

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2016
"This was a superb experience, living in a bushcamp and going for guided walks with such an expert as Bruno who was a great host and a fascinating person to talk to.

Wouldn't have missed this for the world." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 77
99%
77 reviews of Mundulea Reserve by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
74
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (411 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


90% (37 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (27 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


90% (27 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (10 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa