This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve

Reviews of Mundulea Reserve

Wildlife sightings and reviews

73 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mundulea Reserve and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mundulea Reserve.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

91% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Eland

90% success

Roan antelope

30% success

Zebra

22% success

Black Rhino

11% success

Pangolin

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 73
Duration
Arrival date
M family
Hampshire

"Fascinating insight into conservation effort"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2016
"Definite highlight of our trip: whisked straight off into the bush as soon as we drove up to farmhouse for a fantastic 4 days walking with Bruno and learning about everything from geology to animal skulls, and how he is trying to recreate bush from farm. He is incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about what he is doing. Learned lots about the land, tracking animals etc. Saw plenty of antelope at the water hole, but not a place to go if you just want to see animals.
Bruno isn't a guide, he is a conservationist, and you are privileged to see a tiny bit of his work.

Basic bush camp, shared by porcupine! Excellent food cooked over open fire.

We were the only guests at first, joined by another couple for 2 days. We loved it (2 parents, 20+ year old daughters)." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Exceptional walking camp"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2016
"Mundulea is private game reserve owned and run by Bruno Nebe. Bruno is perhaps the best guide we've had in Africa. At the end of our 4 days we felt we'd just had a fascinating course in Namibian ecology, geology, and wildlife. We had the great fortune of being the only guests for our 4 nights here. This is a walking camp and we really enjoyed our walks. One morning we walked to another waterhole which was very busy with a good variety of animals and birds. There is also a waterhole at the camp with hides and we saw quite a variety of animals there too.

The camp is simple but very comfortable. Food was very good and more the style of home cooking which we enjoyed. A bonus was a porcupine who came to visit us at dinner time most nights.

Our stay here was exceptional. Mundulea is a very special place and we feel privileged to have spent 4 days here." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Walking with Bruno"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2016
"This was very different to all our other accommodation on the trip as it is a basic bush camp with open-fire kitchen. It is a walking camp run and guided by the owner Bruno. Stayed three nights during which time we were the only guests in the camp with him and his helper Tommy. From the moment we arrived we did not get in a vehicle until the day we left. This is all about the reserve Bruno has set up for endangered species and his encyclopaedic knowledge. He was the most informative and knowledgeable guide of the trip. The weather was unseasonably hot which led to some steamy bush walks as the sun rose in the sky. There are hides by the tents which are rewarding. Best of all was a full early morning walk to a large water hole attracting all manner of visitors. Despite the basic facilities the vegetarian food was better than most of the other camps. It is an intensely personal experience and it is a privilege to share in Bruno's vision." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs A
Kornhall

"Grand and Unique Camp in Noble Simplicity"

3 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2016
"To anyone who longs to fill a trip to Southern Africa with true substance and depth I would say; do not hesitate, go to Mundulea. We had seen some of that greatness the country has to offer to visitors and we were already happy with that when we arrived to Mundulea and our expectations were high but there were only pleasant surprises. With Bruno’s passionate and guidance we could observe and steadily absorb our surrounding, which is nothing less than a visionary man’s grand and unique project to return the former farmland to the indigenous wildlife and vegetation.

The facts, the tales, the myths and history of the rocks, the mountains and deep caves, the flora and fauna of the area were looked at from every possible angle and only the guests interests decided how deeply any subject came to be explored. Engaging conversations by the camp fire and at dinner were thoroughly enjoyable as we moved from earliest geological time through human history to today’s problems and hopes.

We could fill pages with praise but suffice to say we left the camp happier and wiser.

As for lodging; True bush camp is designed with simplicity and recycling as guidelines but also with excellent taste. Very comfortable and practical, everything you need is there and you are very well protected from any sorts of potentially dangerous creatures while resting.

Meals are mostly from locally produced or home made ingredients and skillfully prepared on the open fire which adds to the unique ‘Experience Mundulea’. Especially appreciated were the freshly baked delicious bread and the big bowl of salad for lunch- exactly what one wants on a hot day. Dinners; varied, well prepared and tasty, game or bird or vegetarian. Even the water from their own spring has a remarkably good flavour ." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Mr J
Reading

"Wonderful bush camp - the real thing!"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2015
"We had a really wonderful time at Mundulea. It was excellent being able to have informed in-depth discussions with Bruno about animals, birds and conservation. I particularly enjoyed the opportunity to discuss current Namibian politics and progress. Bruno's leg was broken and so his son Ky took us on guided walks - Ky was excellent. Really well informed and knowledgable and very personable.

We really appreciated Bruno's decision to take us out one evening to a place where he does not usually take guest. An amazing evening - a real privilege. While at Mundulea we saw lots of animals and birds, really benefitting from Bruno's unrivalled knowledge. Watching the animals in the evening was entrancing - not dramatic big 5 but the whole spectrum of wildlife coming to the waterhole near the camp. The walks were lovely and very instructive. John's bad knee was effortlessly accommodated in the schedule. The food, method of killing and cooking, was terrific - best eland I will ever taste, killed with bow and arrow and cooked over open fire." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2015
"Wow - what a great experience to be able to enjoy such a great location. It felt remote but then it was.

Small and intimate with fantastically knowledgeable people running the operation. It was fantastic to be able to get out of the vehicle and walk around with our guides whose knowledge was invaluable.

The food was good camp food - plain but delicious. The accommodation was perfectly comfortable but more basic than others." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Brilliant for walkers and outdoor people"

4 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2015
"Perhaps we were spoilt as we were the only 2 guests there for the whole four days. Bruno had a broken leg so his son Cai was our guide.

Fortunately Bruno and Cai's idea of heaven was just to be out walking in the bush which matched ours exactly. The occasional game sighting and talk on the flora and fauna added to the walking. I think because we were so at one with Bruno we were privileged to be taken to see some of his prized game one night, while our supper simmered away at camp.

Talking of food it was good camp tucker and went down well.

This is not a luxury game lodge with game drives. More an exclusive part of Namibia for who want to experience Africa and walk the bush with an agreeable and knowledgeable host." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms M & Mr N
Hagley

"Good experience but three days was too long"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2015
"Knowledge of Bruno and Kai undoubtedly in a different league - the camp was well set up - the walks were a too much the same, which was probably related to the terrain than anything else" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms FJ
SW London

"Fabulous Mundulea"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2015
"Loved this place, we were the only people staying here and it was heavenly. Walking instead of being in a jeep.

The incredibly knowledgeable Bruno walked us around spotting tracks and animals. Morning walk followed by great lunch, another afternoon walk so quite energetic. Great feel for the surroundings. Camp perfect, hot shower, hot water bottles.

Watched animals at the waterhole in a hide for ages, it was a privilege to be here. Good meals too, supper punctuated by Tommy the porcupine making an entrance." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"It just got better!"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2015
"A truly special and unique place. Clearly reflecting the character and interests of its creator the camp was full of fascinating improvisation from the fire extinguisher bread oven (We want one!) to the lead wood baboon proof chairs!

We learnt so much and it was an absolute delight and privilege to share for a brief while Bruno's interests and experience. Is there anyone in Africa he doesn't know? From guides we had in Zambia five years ago, to canoeists in Swakopmund, to someone I last met in Swaziland 49 years ago! A slightly less luxurious camp than some of the true glamping affairs but perfectly thought through to provide a very comfortable stay.

Probably the best food we had in a trip full of fabulous meals - thank you Tommy (and Tommy 2 for the campfire entertainment)!

One small word of warning - it was the only place where it was really quite cold at nights (being slightly higher than elsewhere). Be prepared and have a magical time!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 73
99%
73 reviews of Mundulea Reserve by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
70
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (25 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (16 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa