This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve

Reviews of Mundulea Reserve

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mundulea Reserve and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mundulea Reserve.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

93% success

Wildebeest

93% success

Eland

86% success

Zebra

46% success

Roan antelope

23% success

Black Rhino

8% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Dr N
King's Lynn

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2016
"This was a superb experience, living in a bushcamp and going for guided walks with such an expert as Bruno who was a great host and a fascinating person to talk to.

Wouldn't have missed this for the world." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Tonbridge

"Mundulea Reserve review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"This is where we had a proper safari experience. I love Bruno, he is the coolest man I have ever met. If his philosophy for conservation could be taken up across Africa , we would see the conservation issues being resolved. We walked and walked, we clambered, duck and dived. We sat on top of rocky outcrops watching the sun go down and giraffe moving across the landscape. This is a little piece of heaven.

You need to do your own washing or go smelly, you have salad for lunch and meat and veg for dinner, and thankfully there is no dreaded WIFI, but I would go back in a heartbeat. The bed is comfortable, this was where I slept the best, the shower is powerful and hot and plentiful. The chat is constant , interesting , challenging and yes educational.

I loved loved loved Mundulea." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Toronto

"Extremely knowledgeable owner/guide"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"We have been on many safaris and cannot count how many guides we have had, but no one nearly as knowledgeable as Bruno. It is a special experience to walk with him.

Mundulea is a place for nature lovers. The hides in front of one's tents allow one to get very close to the game. Accommodation in tents is suitably rustic and perfectly comfortable with luxurious-feeling duvets and an attached bathroom with flush toilet, shower, sink, horns for hanging one’s towel over and a piece of stone to act as counter space.

Food is quite good with outstanding nutty bread cooked over a bush fire. Be aware that, although Mundulea is expensive, it is not a luxury lodge but a wonderful experience for people who want an extremely knowledgeable guide and really love being “in the bush.”" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Mundulea Reserve review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2016
"This was our third stay, and is always one of our highlights.

Our last visit was two years ago and it was interesting to see the changes and developments with the wildlife and how the area was responding to good management. Staying with Bruno on Mundulea is always something we look forward to, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As ever you never know what we will see – such as Bushbabies, a young Giraffe and many trees just coming into leaf & flower.

We always learn something new and very much enjoyed the in-depth discussions around the campfire and over dinner. Excellent visit - always sad to leave." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr A, B & B
San Diego

"Mundulea Reserve"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"This is a totally different experience than the other posher camps.

The accommodations were rougher but still quite nice. This is all walking, so may not be for everyone. We loved it.

We did a 10km and the 6km walk the first day. One does not see many animals on the walks - the blinds are best for this - but Bruno uses the Socratic method to great advantage asking us to elucidate some particular scat, track, or signs of sone event. The only suggestion would be to take a five to ten minute sit down break every hour or so. Bruno suggested the camp might close in the future, so go while you can.

Although laundry services were indicated in the materials provided us, this was not the case." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M family
Hampshire

"Fascinating insight into conservation effort"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2016
"Definite highlight of our trip: whisked straight off into the bush as soon as we drove up to farmhouse for a fantastic 4 days walking with Bruno and learning about everything from geology to animal skulls, and how he is trying to recreate bush from farm. He is incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about what he is doing. Learned lots about the land, tracking animals etc. Saw plenty of antelope at the water hole, but not a place to go if you just want to see animals.
Bruno isn't a guide, he is a conservationist, and you are privileged to see a tiny bit of his work.

Basic bush camp, shared by porcupine! Excellent food cooked over open fire.

We were the only guests at first, joined by another couple for 2 days. We loved it (2 parents, 20+ year old daughters)." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Exceptional walking camp"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2016
"Mundulea is private game reserve owned and run by Bruno Nebe. Bruno is perhaps the best guide we've had in Africa. At the end of our 4 days we felt we'd just had a fascinating course in Namibian ecology, geology, and wildlife. We had the great fortune of being the only guests for our 4 nights here. This is a walking camp and we really enjoyed our walks. One morning we walked to another waterhole which was very busy with a good variety of animals and birds. There is also a waterhole at the camp with hides and we saw quite a variety of animals there too.

The camp is simple but very comfortable. Food was very good and more the style of home cooking which we enjoyed. A bonus was a porcupine who came to visit us at dinner time most nights.

Our stay here was exceptional. Mundulea is a very special place and we feel privileged to have spent 4 days here." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Walking with Bruno"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2016
"This was very different to all our other accommodation on the trip as it is a basic bush camp with open-fire kitchen. It is a walking camp run and guided by the owner Bruno. Stayed three nights during which time we were the only guests in the camp with him and his helper Tommy. From the moment we arrived we did not get in a vehicle until the day we left. This is all about the reserve Bruno has set up for endangered species and his encyclopaedic knowledge. He was the most informative and knowledgeable guide of the trip. The weather was unseasonably hot which led to some steamy bush walks as the sun rose in the sky. There are hides by the tents which are rewarding. Best of all was a full early morning walk to a large water hole attracting all manner of visitors. Despite the basic facilities the vegetarian food was better than most of the other camps. It is an intensely personal experience and it is a privilege to share in Bruno's vision." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs A
Kornhall

"Grand and Unique Camp in Noble Simplicity"

3 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2016
"To anyone who longs to fill a trip to Southern Africa with true substance and depth I would say; do not hesitate, go to Mundulea. We had seen some of that greatness the country has to offer to visitors and we were already happy with that when we arrived to Mundulea and our expectations were high but there were only pleasant surprises. With Bruno’s passionate and guidance we could observe and steadily absorb our surrounding, which is nothing less than a visionary man’s grand and unique project to return the former farmland to the indigenous wildlife and vegetation.

The facts, the tales, the myths and history of the rocks, the mountains and deep caves, the flora and fauna of the area were looked at from every possible angle and only the guests interests decided how deeply any subject came to be explored. Engaging conversations by the camp fire and at dinner were thoroughly enjoyable as we moved from earliest geological time through human history to today’s problems and hopes.

We could fill pages with praise but suffice to say we left the camp happier and wiser.

As for lodging; True bush camp is designed with simplicity and recycling as guidelines but also with excellent taste. Very comfortable and practical, everything you need is there and you are very well protected from any sorts of potentially dangerous creatures while resting.

Meals are mostly from locally produced or home made ingredients and skillfully prepared on the open fire which adds to the unique ‘Experience Mundulea’. Especially appreciated were the freshly baked delicious bread and the big bowl of salad for lunch- exactly what one wants on a hot day. Dinners; varied, well prepared and tasty, game or bird or vegetarian. Even the water from their own spring has a remarkably good flavour ." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2015
"Wow - what a great experience to be able to enjoy such a great location. It felt remote but then it was.

Small and intimate with fantastically knowledgeable people running the operation. It was fantastic to be able to get out of the vehicle and walk around with our guides whose knowledge was invaluable.

The food was good camp food - plain but delicious. The accommodation was perfectly comfortable but more basic than others." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 78
99%
78 reviews of Mundulea Reserve by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
75
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (411 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


90% (37 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (28 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (27 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (10 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa