This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve

Reviews of Mundulea Reserve

Wildlife sightings and reviews

71 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mundulea Reserve and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mundulea Reserve.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Eland

89% success

Giraffe

89% success

Wildebeest

89% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Zebra

14% success

Black Rhino

13% success

Pangolin

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 71
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Another wonderful experience"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"As ever we had a wonderful few days with Bruno learning more about the whole ecosystem, and the progress of all Bruno's hard work trying to restore the area to what it had once been, before it was a cattle farm. We managed plenty of walking while Bruno taught us much about what we saw along the way. And although, as is the nature of these things, you are not guaranteed to have game sightings, we drew the lucky straw on this occasion and saw plenty. Including an eland calf just a few days old. Whilst we were there on one afternoon and evening we listened to and watched a lightning storm, which brought with it some early rain which was torrential and which lasted several hours.

The food was excellent (Soya Milk was provided) and much time was enjoyed in the evening round the fire & dinner table discussing Bruno's plans for Mundulea and learning more about Namibian life and the country." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs S
Scotland

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"We spent three night here at the end of our Namibian trip and had a marvellous time. Bruno is an impressive and entertaining interpreter of the landscape and wildlife - and not as restricted in walking as he ought to have been given that he had broken a bone in his foot days before we arrived.

After a lot of driving and viewing big game earlier in our trip, it was good to get more walking and to focus on the smaller birds, animals, plant life and landscape in a setting which is changing so significantly as part of Bruno's 're-wilding' process.

The camp itself is fun - with leadwood {baboon proof} furniture and an incredible array of recycled equipment in the open kitchen and boma. The lively and educational conversations over dinner and around the fire were as good as the walks and helped make the stay memorable." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Herts

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"A great experience and very special place to stay.
No luxuries but we didn't expect them however the beds were comfy and the ensuite, fitted with animal skulls and a turtle shell for a soap dish was great.
Food was some of the best we had with Bruno and Tommy creating miracles with a camp fire.
We were so lucky that no other people had booked while we were there so had Bruno all to our selves. His knowledge and enthusiasm is unrivalled and for anyone interested in the whole ecology of Namibia and not just the 'big five' it is a wonderful, educational three days.
Need to be hardy as five hours walking in the heat during the morning was quite tough but it was worth it. The evening walk of two or three hours was easier though avoiding the acacia trees was a full time event!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs DH
Cardiff

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2014
"What a very different experience from anything else we have done in Southern Africa before, but an amazing few days amidst an extraordinary project to create a reserve as it would have been before it had been farmed.

Bruno's knowledge is second to none - breakfast, lunch and dinner time was a feast of simple but delicious food as well as an opportunity to hear more of the story of Mundulea, as well as understanding so much more about conservation, poaching and other subjects relevant to Namibia and it's neighbours.

Not for the faint hearted given all the walking in the bush and essential to take good walking shoes or boots, but so rewarding for the effort that goes in," See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs E
Bucks

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2014
"It was a real treat to spend time in the bush with Bruno. When we arrived we were whisked off to observe the rescue, tagging and release of a very rare pangolin, an animal we would never otherwise have seen. This was followed by 3 nights in bush camp with Bruno and Tommy (who looked after the camp and cooking), walking and learning about anything and everything to do with Namibia. Although we did not see many animals while walking, there were many tracks and traces.

Bruno's knowledge of plants, animals, geology and politics is exemplary and he takes obvious pleasure in sharing this.

The only slight criticism is that the walks sometimes seemed to be rather lacking in objective. The vegetation at this time of year can be rather uninspiring. Perhaps a little more discussion and briefing before each walk might have helped." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Unique experience"

3 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2014
"Loved catching up with Bruno - it was a total delight. He still remains to me one of the best guides in Africa. Sadly it poured down with rain for 2 days but it did not in any way dampen the experience - we thought it was great.

No, we did not see a pangolin and for 95% plus travellers there is no chance, however Chris, as you already know, be very selective about the clients that you send there.

We loved it and have promised to go back. We love Bruno and his knowledge and experience of life in the bush. Could you please forward us the details of the Pangolin Trust as we want to get involved and Pete is going to work on a game for the website to promote the plight of Percy the Pangolin." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Kathryn
UK

"Marvellous Mundulea"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2014
"This was a very special place: a bush camp, not luxurious (it doesn't set out to be luxurious) but comfortable.

Bruno is an outstanding guide and what he is doing on the reserve is fascinating. It was lovely eating food cooked by Tommy over an open fire." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Renaissance!"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2013
"Mundulea is a private reserve where the owner, Bruno, is looking to restore the environment to its pre-cattle farming state. This is not a short-term project as over-grazing has caused significant bush-encroachment. But Bruno is very dedicated to the cause, which is well worth supporting - not least because this sort of private project may ultimately (and sadly) prove to be the best hope for Africa's megafauna in particular in the medium- to long-term.

Bruno himself is a true (latter-day) 'renaissance man'. Sculptor, film-maker, photographer, birding guide and bush expert, he has a wealth of knowledge on a wide range of topics and is genuinely curious about many others. Over the four nights we were there our conversaations ranged across, inter alia, the origins of multi-cell life (based on local fossiles), the eating habits of porcupines (more complex than you might think), the genetics of the zebra (and kite) family, undoing the damage of over-intensive farming, local politics, the Chinese in Africa, and human dietary issues.

Mundulea is a true bushcamp. But the accommodation is very comfortable - and we commend in particular the shower which is as good as any we have found on our numerous trips to Africa. Much of the fittings have been made by Bruno and his team from locally available materials (including scrap metal from the area's farming days). Bruno produces amazingly good meals on an open fire, which would do credit to many a modern kitchen.

The waterhole right outside the camp attracts a good range of mammals day and night and, although we were a few weeks early for the peak period, we also saw a wide range of birds.

Best of all, no trucks! Mundulea is all about walking and we enjoyed some excellent rambles through the bush morning and evening.

In short, highly recommended." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family Adventure
UK

"Mundulea Reserve review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2013
"Brilliant as ever. Our time with Bruno was amazing. We would like to find a way of helping Bruno with his work there and spoke to him about it.

We would like to talk to Chris about it sometime." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family Y
Hong Kong

"Mundulea Reserve"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2013
"Bruno and Kai took excellent care of us.

The children really enjoyed the trip and was fully engaged in the things Bruno explained to them. The food was great, I think they were surprised how much we (including the kids) can eat." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 71
99%
71 reviews of Mundulea Reserve by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
68
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa