This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve

Reviews of Mundulea Reserve

Wildlife sightings and reviews

71 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mundulea Reserve and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mundulea Reserve.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Eland

89% success

Giraffe

89% success

Wildebeest

89% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Zebra

14% success

Black Rhino

13% success

Pangolin

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 71
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs E
Gloucs

"A wild reservation in a remote area"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2012
"A very authentic camp with the tents placed within a bomba. We were the only guests at the time and enjoyed our numerous walks and conversations with Bruno Hebe, the owner who is a most interesting guide.

The amenities were very basic - much like living in the bush - but a wonderful experience. Walking was the only activity." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Outstanding and Inspirational"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"Spent 3 nights here, and could have spent longer.

It was fascinating and learned so much from Bruno about the bio diversity on Mundulea and surrounding area. Bruno is an excellent host and a first class guide. A wonderful insight into Namibia.

Would love to go back and see how Bruno's vision develops." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr G & Dr E
UK

"long walks in the bush ;)"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"Not sure how much lea way Bruno gives to those who are less fit or used to the heat than he is! Just about managed to keep up, but certainly not for the faint-hearted.

Bruno is an extremely knowledgeable guide and we had a lovely 3 days here (even though the animals were all hiding!). Would defiinitely return, but maybe after some training or at the end of the trip when we had acclimatised to the heat" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Managing Expectations"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"I could be critical but nature controls the viewing not the people. We had three quite difficult days and the experience fell short of our expectations. On the positive side you have the opportunity to spend time with one of the best guides in Africa and gain a detailed understanding of the bush and how it works.

On the downside this is a farm (well 4 actually) that has over 2,000 animals and i can confirm they are there as you see them as you drive in and there are dozens of tracks and more poo than you can shake a stick at, but on the walks the chances of seeing anything away from a waterhole seem to be very low.

Bruno is keen to keep the animals wild (good) but this means they are not comfortable with people on foot and very skittish near the waterholes. If you love to walk (we do) this is great but 6 hours at 30+ degrees is tough, if you want to photograph animals or at least see them (we do) this is probably not a great place to start.

Overall it is a wonderful experience but the advertising and the hype are not quite what you get - or were we just very unfortunate." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The H family
Sweden

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2012
"An excellent bush experience, but if you're looking for easy spotted game this is not the place." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"An unforgettable experience"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2012
"Previous guests have expounded on the wonders of Mundulea, and we can only add our admiration for what Bruno is succeeding in doing on this vast reserve.

Yes, the tents are simple, but not basic, the beds are very comfortable, the night-sky view from the loo extraordinary, and the wake up calls of the francolins and the babblers something to be experienced. We even had a leopard calling metres from our tent in the night. Bruno's home cooking was the best food we had on the whole trip (and that is saying something). We were the only guests so we had two days of gentle trailing with Bruno and his son, during which we learnt so much about the animals, plants and the exceptional geology of the area, not to mention history and politics! Like many other guests, we have become "poo" experts and we now have to find a use for all our knowledge in rural Sussex!

This is a true bush-camp but with enough of the creature-comforts to make it a wonderful experience for all ages. We could not recommend it too highly." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"A great bush-camp"

3 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2012
"One could not hope for a better or more well-informed guide than Bruno. We were the only guests so everything was catered to our interests. We had a dramatic first night with violent thunderstorms which made the outdoor dining and bathroom experiences ones to remember.

Everything was provided by Bruno and Tommy, Bruno cooking over a fire after a full day out with us walking which was no mean feat. We learned a lot and had close sightings of a variety of animals, some very close to camp. The access road was difficult after prolonged rainfall, maybe at some point it will have to be addressed.

A welcome experience and a change from luxurious lodges, an adventure really." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K & Ms C
NJ

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2011
"Mundulea is fantastic.

After being in the car for much of our trip it was great to get out and walk. Bruno is a fantastic guide and host - we learned so much about the animals at the reserve and saw some animals we had not seen before. The food was amazing.

Mundulea was definitely a highlight of our trip and we really wished we could stay longer." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
D party
Belgium

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2011
"Bruno is trying to make the world a better place and we were privileged to witness this for several days. We received a warm welcome and were impressed with the amazing hospitality. Bruno is a fountain of knowledge, an inspired guide, and an enthousiastic teacher. Mundulea lodge is the perfect start to a Namibia tou as it provides a broad and fascinating base of knowledge in terms of wildlife, geology, ecology, vegetation etc etc.

The atmosphere in the lodge is warm and personal, the food was marvelous, and the evening discussions around the campfire fascinating.
Highly recommended !!!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Ms H
Surrey

"Mundulea Reserve review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2010
"The clear highlight of our holiday - loved every minute of it.

Bruno Nebe is a wonderful host and inspirational guide. He has also built a camp with the best showers we found in Namibia. The camp has everything except mains electricity, which we did not need.

We left Mundulea on a high, much better informed and keen to return." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 71
99%
71 reviews of Mundulea Reserve by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
68
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa