This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve

Reviews of Mundulea Reserve

Wildlife sightings and reviews

71 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mundulea Reserve and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mundulea Reserve.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Eland

89% success

Giraffe

89% success

Wildebeest

89% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Zebra

14% success

Black Rhino

13% success

Pangolin

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 71
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"experiencing real outdoor life"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2010
"Having been charged 1 dp and 2 fb at Nhoma, I was surprised to find the same time scale applied but we were charged 3fb. at Mundulea. We were not told what time to arrive so I rang and we confirmed the time between 2-3pm. However it was not clear that it was a 20min drive in a VW Polo saloon to reach the farm which needed to be added to our timings.

It would have been helpful to know a bit more about the activities before arriving but we were well prepared (I would have liked my camel bag for drinking water - saved time when out walking). Very good stout boots should be advised - despite having good boots we both got a thorn through ours and into our feet.

Mundalea and Bruno's great expertise and knowledge grew on me and 2 days quickly passed. It was a very good end and winding down to the end of our holiday.

We did not like the bees buzzing around the bathroom but Bruno moved us to another tent which was much better.

Staying with him and getting him to share just some of his great knowledge was a privilege. It made a lovely relaxed last stay of the holiday. He was a very attentive host.

The tents seemed to be very hot and airless compared to Nhoma where the breeze seemed to go through the tents and help to keep them cool." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms R & Mr B
Eggenwil

"Mundulea Reserve review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2010
"Words fail me. This must be one of the best camps I have visited in over seven trips to Africa.

It won't be for everyone (thankfully), but we will definitely be back." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs K
UK

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2010
"The best place we visited. Bruno is a fantastic extremely knowledgable host/guide.

We've been to Southern Africa on quite a few occasions, but still learned a lot.

Walks are very good and (mostly) were adapted to our very low fitnes levels!

Couldn't recommend it more highly." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & family
USA

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2010
"Wow, we visited Mundulea as the first stop on our trip to Namibia and the visit changed our lives. Visiting Mundulea first turned out to be a good thing (because we were able to absorb all the details about the country's history, geology, flora and fauna and politics at the start of our trip) and also a bad thing, because as my 13 year old son commented "after talking to Bruno for three days pretty much everything anyone else had to say was repetitive"!

Bruno's vision at Mundulea is to recreate the natural environment of Namibia's Central Highlands, including the animal and plant species endemic to the area. This remarkable project is now well advanced and the property has established herds of Eland, Kudu, Giraffe, Warthog, Blackfaced Impala, Roan Antelope, Zebra, Ostrich as well as many other ungulates and carnivores all the way up to Leopard. While the accomodations at Mundulea are not as luxurious as others. our kids voted Bruno's open-fire cooked meals the best of our destinations in Namibia.

More importantly the passion, depth of knowledge and experience he brings to the task of guiding his clients around the property are infectious and result in an extraordinary educational, environmental and scientific experience for the young and the young at heart. If your preference is to see your game from the back of a land rover with half a dozen others then this is not the destination for you; if however you prefer the surprise of a truly wild animal crossing your path as you walk through their territory, then you will find Mundulea a dream come true." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family Adventure
UK

"Mundulea Reserve review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2010
"Bruno was amazing again. This place really gets under your skin. A must to go back." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 7n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
E & D
New Mexico

"A hiker's treat"

3 nights Arrived 16 May 2010
"We thoroughly enjoyed the guides and staff at all the places we stayed but none more so than Bruno Nebe. Bruno grew up in Namibia, the son of a professional hunter, and learned tracking skills from a Bushman.

We booked our stay at Mundulea for our second-to-last stop because we figured by then we would have seen a ton of animals and we would enjoy walking with Bruno just to see what we could see outside the confines of a vehicle. We learned about many different types of thorny acacia, all designed to snag and trip, and how to tell one dung pile from another. Whenever Bruno saw some poop he put it into his pocket until he had 6 samples and then laid them side-by-side under the shade of a marula tree – his outdoor classroom. He showed us how to ID the rhino’s dung by the bits of twigs nipped off at a 45 degree angle that it contained and how another one’s insects parts revealed it to be from a badger.

By the end of 2½ days we felt like we had walked a lot of the 13ooo acres. We never saw Hooker, the last male Black Rhino of the subspecies Bicornis chobensis, nor any of his gal friends. We did see scuff marks where some eland bulls had tussled and we watched a warthog watching us back before he trotted away with his tail pointing skyward. We dodged a swarm of wild honey bees in the mini-Grand Canyon we climbed through and passed by a pile of bones from a Kudu that had probably fallen to his demise.

We were informed and enchanted by Bruno’s knowledge of this special place." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Chelmsford

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"Our time at Mundulea was the best we have experienced in Africa, and possibly anywhere we have visited worldwide. Don't visit if you want hotel accomodation, but if you want to learn about and experience African game, birds, trees, plants, insects, predators, politics, conservation, Namibian history with the best guide you will ever meet then this is for you. Bruno Nebe has bought 4 old cattle farms and is turing them back into their pre-farming state, stocking them with all the native antelopes, game and cats except (to date) lion, elephants or white rhino. It is a massive task, and must be one of the world's best unsung conservation efforts.

Bruno has built a superbly secluded camp site, fitted it out with furniture he has made by hand. He cooks excellent food over an open fire. He takes you on walks to suit your level of activity, and the knowledge he imparts on the walks is breathtaking in its depth and breadth. Ask any question about anything Namibian and you get a detailed answer. Unfortunately we didn't see his leopards and cheetahs on foot, but we saw plenty of signs, including a duiker freshly killed and hidden under cover by a leopard.

Tracking the Black Rhinos was fascinating - he knows the individuals by their footprints. His most amazing conservation effort is to take the last male animal in the most endangered black rhino sub-species and breed it with females with the right genetic make-up borrowed from Etosha in an attempt to re-generate the sub-species. The camp is beside a waterhole and we spent all daylight hours watching the game come down to drink while we were not walking. But the most exciting part of the visit was when we stroked the puff adder he caught by hand!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Leicester

"The 'Jewel in the Crown' of our Namibian trip"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2009
"Our stay at Mundulea was the 'jewel in the crown' of our wonderful stay in Namibia. It is hard to find words that do full justice to the truly unique experience of spending time there with Bruno Nebe whose deep and wide-ranging knowledge of so many aspects of Namibian culture and every aspect of wildlife preservation and conservation was astonishing.

The newly built camp has a wonderfully rustic charm in complete harmony with its beautiful surroundings and lacked for nothing in necessary facilities. Particulary impressive was the environmentally sustainable showers whiich Bruno had constructed using former gas cylinders which enabled the shower water to be heated by burning wood 'harvested' from scrub clearance. Just one more example of Bruno's many skills.

We were particularly fortunate that we were the sole guests at the camp during our stay so had lot of quality time to discuss a whole range of subjects with Bruno. The two walks we did were full of fascinating insights into so many different elements of the behaviour of game in a natural setting and was a massive contrast from Etosha where the game have become immune to the presence of humans. Relatively close encounters with kudu, a family of warthogs and wild cattle were electrifying.

Breakfast and evening meals were a delight with excellent and interesting meals cooked by Bruno over a wood fire. Sundowners with our host at a hide overlooking a waterhole were also a delight. Our only regret was that our stay had to come to an end but, hopefully we will get to return one day." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr L
UK

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2009
"I don't know how to describe the wonderful time we had a Mundulea. We went expecting basic camping facilities; & how we were we surprised! We did not expect such luxury - some of the furniture was built by Bruno. Take note of the chandelier over the dining table!

We had hot water for the shower (no bucket shower here), if taken during daylight hours; totally unexpected. Bruno has such imagination to have built this camp.

The walking was wonderful & it was such a change to see the animals from on foot rather than in a vehicle. Bruno's knowledge of the area is vast. It amazed me how he finds his way around.

The food cooked over the open fire was excellent with lots of it.

We would not hesitate to return - only next time, if going at this time of year, I think we would take hot water bottles & thermals; it got very cold in the night.

We wish Bruno all the best for his venture at Mundulea" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Maida Vale

"Dinner by lamplight at Mundulea"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2009
"Apart from one other guest we were the only people staying at Mundulea when we visited so we were lucky to have Bruno's (almost) undivided attention on our walks and also at mealtimes when Bruno prepared the food for us. The result was that we almost felt like houseguests rather than clients. We weren't that lucky with our gameviewing (as it was just after the rains it wasn't the best time of year) but we really enjoyed hearing Bruno talking not just about the wldlife but also about his aspirations for the reserve and all sorts of aspects of life in Namibia and Namibian history.

The camp facilities provide basic comforts but are not luxurious. There is no electricity but that is part of the charm. We found it very relaxing to get into the rhythm of light/dark as part of the daily cycle. Dinner was cooked over an open fire and eaten by the light of kerosene lamps with some interesting stories from Bruno.

One of the things we liked best about this reserve (apart from the wildlife especially Bruno's wild cows!) was that relatively modest hills gave great views over the Central highlands south towards the Waterberg plateau and north towards the Otavi mountains (where we were headed next). Perfect spots for sundowners." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 71
99%
71 reviews of Mundulea Reserve by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
68
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa