This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J from BIggar

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

A lovely introduction to Namibia

Namibia between 22 Feb 2017 and 10 Mar 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent in many ways. In retrospect we made two errors. Firstly we should have driven eastwards through Etosha and gone to Mundulea from the north, even if we had arrived a little later than 3.00pm. This would have enabled us to see more of the National Park and avoided going both ways along the B1 to Otjiwaranga. Secondly we should have seen Twyfelfontein in the evening, as we passed the turning, and saved the morning for a game drive at Doro Nawas. This was our mistake.

The dreadful car made driving on rough roads no pleasure."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2017
"Excellent place to start the holiday. Good welcome and good food. Guide John very professional and excellent at birds. Most interesting day trip to Sossusvlei and John full of information about bettles and spiders as well as birds.
Sesriem rather disappointing as not allowed down into the canyon because of remote danger of flash flooding.

Flight from Geluk to Swakopmund memorable with wonderful views of endless sanddunes and the wreck."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2017
"Friendly staff and a very modern hotel but somewhat lacking in character.

One could have been in any modern hotel in any major city."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 27 Feb 2017
"We arrived too late for afternoon excursion and left for Twyfelfontein in the morning so never saw the desert elephants.

In retrospect we should have done Twyfelfontein the previous evening, on our way thee, and left the morning free for an elephant hunting excursion"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Most interesting"

3 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2017
"Interesting to learn about the place from Dennis.

We liked the fact that it was totally wild - in contrast to Ongave, Mundulea and Okonjima which were all fenced in and most of the animals had originally been purchased.

It would have been helpful to have seen a map of the area showing the boundaries, mountains etc"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Good but overpriced"

2 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2017
"Seemed hard to justify £225 per head per night more than the cost of Anderssons Camp when owned by the same people and access to exactly the same reserve.

OK we were in a brand new Toyota and Anderssons may have had older vehicles. We had three game drives and one walk. Loud radio in the vehicle detracted from the wild experience.

Chasing rhinos unsuccessfully on our first evening a bit of a flop. Eventually saw one white rhino briefly because we had disturbed it and it promptly ran off. Good game drive on our last morning with sightings of lions very close.

Guide had good knowledge of birds but I hated the radio."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Wild and remote"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2017
"A remarkable solo effort. One man's contribution to conservation. A privilege to be able to share it.

Bruno most knowledgeable about every aspect of conservation from beetles and spiders at one end to rhinos at the other. A complete contrast to the radio controlled Toyota at Ongava.

Here we walked in silence for four hours and could listen to the birds. What it lacked in creature comforts it delivered in wildness."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Excellent place to end"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2017
"We had three enjoyable trips with a very good guide and saw a wide variety of birds and animals.

We saw leopards both with collars and wild and we saw three young cheetahs on a kill. Birds excellent.

Swimming pool the best of the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team