This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nhoma Camp
Nhoma Camp
Nhoma Camp

Reviews of Nhoma Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

39 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nhoma Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nhoma Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

33% success

Elephant

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Giraffe

67% success

Roan antelope

67% success

Zebra

67% success

Brown Hyena

33% success

Eland

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 39
Duration
Arrival date
The J Family
Herts

"Just loved it"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"We felt so privileged to have stayed here - a very memorable experience.

The family loved the walks with the Bushmen - what a privilege to spend time with these gentle men, observing them hunt and track animals, and learning bush skills (my niece apparently built a Spring Hare trap in their garden to catch the dog last weekend!)

We felt less comfortable in the village (felt like we were intruding a little) - but the children had a fantastic time playing with the local kids.
Nhoma camp is amazing - very relaxed, fantastic food,, and good accommodation. Arno is a great host - very entertaining stories around the camp fire. His views are pretty forthright, but thought provoking." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Nhoma Camp"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"We were slightly disappointed with Nhoma, possibly for not properly analyzing what might actually be on offer.

The visit to the village was fascinating but really only holds the attention for a couple of hours unless one is a photographer - and one visit was enough. My wife is a photographer and came away with lots of amazing pictures - the best of the holiday!

The hunting walk wasn't really hunting, it seemed to be a predetermined walk where the bushmen could show how they would prepare snares etc. which is amazing, but there really didn't seem to be any chance of anything being caught - particularly when there are ten people tramping along!

The camp is comfortable but there is no "Charisma"." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Family G
Oxordshire

"Nhoma - there is no experience like it!"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"Spending three days with Arno and Estelle at Nhoma Camp is something we will never forget!

They are both full of information, which they are more than happy to share sitting around the camp fire at night and driving around the area. It was a privilege to stay in the camp and to experience the lives of the Bushmen. Three days was just right - anything shorter wouldn't have been long enough.

We would love to go back." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family S
Leeds

"Great experience at Nhoma"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"We had a really good time at Nhoma.

It was a unique experience to visit the village and meet the lovely people. Although they didn't speak English this didn't matter, they were very friendly and the local man who took us from our camp to visit did so we could ask questions.

Arno also gave us the background to the Bushmen and how the relationship with tourists works for them. Worth the drive there!!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Mr B
Charlotte

"Stay with the local expert"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2013
"We had a very nice stay for 2 nights at Nhoma camp. These are simple tent rooms with wood floors and tent ceiling and walls. Furniture is simple and functional. The bathroom is connected. The first night porcupines ate the water line so there was no water for showers in the morning.

The toilet kept malfunctioning....but this is the place to stay to be close to Arno who I esteem was the resident expert. He was more chipper in the morning and gruffer as the evening went on. His frustrations with Namibia, the government, NGO's, and the bushmen were palpable ...and understandable. I think he is a realist and unfortunately a little miserable. I appreciated very much his expertise and his honesty. I think some others in the camp did not. I found his discussions eye opening.

Don't drive that last little bit to this lodge without a 4 wheel drive. The sand is steep and deep. The lodge is within walking distance of a Bushman village. The visits were genuine and not fake. They were and were not as I expected. Overall a very very nice stay. I recommend a 2 night stay to be able to visit the village and go on a Bush man hunt. Ours was long and very hot. Be prepared." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms T & Mr C
San Fran

"Unforgettable experience"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2013
"One of the highlights, if not the highlight of our trip.

Both the experience with the bushman and the personal interactions with Arno and Estelle are exceptional." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr E
Yorkshire

"Nhoma Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2013
"The most authentic stay of our whole trip. Although in no way a luxury destination or accomodation, the experience was one that I hope we will all remember for a very long time. Arno is a fabulous host and his knowledge of the country and its politiics engaging.

It was great that everything wall inclusive - and the only place we stayed where this was the case ie we were not presented with a bill of extras, at the end of our stay.

We stayed for three nights and it was worth it - the cooking of the ostrich omelette, the hunting with the men folk and the walk with the lady etc all really interesting.

The only suggestion I would make, would be for a small box with some childrens books or toys eg snakes and ladders would go a a long way, especially as there is no pool etc." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Paris

"Nhoma Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2013
"Exceptional place for several reasons.
1. Only place worldwide where you (as a tourist) can get a true understanding of the Bushman culture
2. Interesting discussions with Arno (the camp owner)
3. Communal tables which is good for interaction with other guests
We stayed here for 4 nights and this was the cultural highlight of our trip through southern Africa.
4. Home cooking
5. Whatever activity they offer, including visiting the reservoir at Oliphant's Water (animals) or Tsumkwe (lots of Baobab, animals, anecdotes), the walks, village visit, do it all.
6. Bring a power strip and adaptors in case there is a full camp using the charging station (and mark your smartphone cable to avoid mix ups and don't forget it!)
Film crew was there and used up the solar power for WiFi quickly.
7. Bertus is a very knowledgeable guide who answers all of your questions.
8. Our tent was the farthest out - great for morning sunrises" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family A
New Zealand

"Nhoma Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2012
"Our time with the Bushmen was one of our highlights of our 4 week trip.

This unique experience will be treasured by both the adults and the children in our family." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Nhoma Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Fascinating insight and experience spending time with the bushmen, and should have stayed for longer.

Arno's in depth knowledge of the bushmen was invaluable." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 39
95%
39 reviews of Nhoma Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
8
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa