This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The J Family from Herts

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Loved every minute. Great family adventure.

Namibia between 24 Jul 2014 and 11 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"It worked out fantastically. Loads of variety and activities. Despite the long drives we never got bored - Namibia is so beautiful and varied.

Elvis - our guide for the whole trip was fantastic - he felt like one of the family by the end of the trip. He was incredibly knowledgable and interesting, kept us organised, and was very thoughtful and considerate. He really made the trip."

Galton House

Galton House

"Convenient, good first stop"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2014
"Lovely place for our first night.

Nice rooms, lovely food next to a cosy fire."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Nice stay, but quite a drive to the park gate"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"Even though Desert Homestead is just off the 'main' road (if there is such a thing in Namibia) it felt really remote - great location.
Some nice walks to be done from the lodge.

Really enjoyed the sunset horse ride - which was just fine for novices. Sundowners under a tree with a huge Sociable Weavers nest, and a peaceful plod back home enjoying the scenery and quiet."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"Very friendly - an ideal base in Swakop"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2014
"Ideal for a family - nice clean rooms.
Lovely breakfast.

Very friendly and helpful hosts."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"A very special place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2014
"Beautiful views, and great location from which to look for Desert adapted elephants. Lovely food, which was eaten all together around a big table. On the first night we had dinner in the Boma, which was a very memorable evening.

But the best thing about this camp is the team - who were incredibly warm, welcoming and friendly. They were fantastic with the kids, and really went out of their way to chat, and make our stay really special. We were only there 2 nights - but they remembered everyone's name (not bad, considering there were 7 of us!).

I have quite serious mobility problems - which made many of the camps we visited quite challenging for me. The team couldn't have been more helpful - they changed our room so that it was closer to the lodge, and just before we needed to get from the room to the lodge (or vice versa) either Richard or Albert would appear at our room, or at our table, to give me a helping arm - which was such a help, and very kind.

The team create a warm, welcoming, relaxed atmosphere. They clearly love their work, and are justly very proud of their camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Lovely camp right next to the park gate"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2014
"Very friendly, chatty hosts created a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

Ideal for families (not at all stuffy) - it's surrounded by a fence, so perfectly safe for the kids to run off and explore.
Lovely rooms made out of recycled materials - quite quirky, almost felt like a beach hut!

Very nice food.

They have recently put in a hide next to the waterhole. This will be great - but it seems that the animals are adapting to the very close presence of humans there, and there were hardly any visitors, which was a shame.

Very nice camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"So disappointing."

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2014
"Great location just by the park gate. Nicely situated next to a small waterhole. But after Andersons and Damaraland camp this was a complete disappointment.

This camp was stuffy and formal, with absolutely no atmosphere, and a poor recommendation for a large family group. The staff were very polite but very quiet and reserved. I wouldn't have liked this camp even if I'd been in a couple. It was just too quiet and restrained - trying to be something that it wasn't.

The rooms are huge , so they were being pretty inflexible insisting that we had to have 4 rooms, rather than allowing the 3 kids to share and having 3 rooms between us - as we did at all other lodges. I wasn't that keen on sharing my room with a very active rodent, which was very happy coming and going through a gap in the canvas - but more concerned that if a large mouse could get in, then so could a snake...

It turned out that the 4 gunshots we heard before dinner marked the demise of a spitting cobra which was trying to attack the chef - apparently it would have been looking for mice - presumably like the one I was sharing my room with. The food was nice, but spoilt by the lack of atmosphere - so all the couples ate in silence and then went. Not comfortable or relaxed.

A real shame, as we were anticipating that this camp would be a real highlight. I imagine it was the most expensive place we stayed, but the least enjoyable. Not a good recommendation. Not sure why they insisted that we had to be accompanied by a guard when going to and from our rooms - yes, of course there are animals out there, but non of the other camps insisted on this. He clearly wasn't armed anyway - and it just contributed to the formality."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Image alt

TUCSIN Tsumkwe Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"It is what it is!"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2014
"We wanted to have 3 nights at Nhoma, but could only get 2 nights - so we stayed here as it broke the journey, and meant we could get to Nhama in time for the walk with the bushmen the following morning, and make the mist of our time there. Quite basic, and the food was not great, but it served its purpose for us, and was fine for one night.

Seems to be mainly used by officials visiting the area, as it's the main town. Don't expect to be able to use the swimming pool, which was full of crisp packets. Although the craft centre looked like it could have been worth a stop (if we'd had time) we were advised get the main attractions are the hairdressers and an underwear shop (crafts not actually being a feature apparently)."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Facilities
Terrible
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Just loved it"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"We felt so privileged to have stayed here - a very memorable experience.

The family loved the walks with the Bushmen - what a privilege to spend time with these gentle men, observing them hunt and track animals, and learning bush skills (my niece apparently built a Spring Hare trap in their garden to catch the dog last weekend!)

We felt less comfortable in the village (felt like we were intruding a little) - but the children had a fantastic time playing with the local kids.
Nhoma camp is amazing - very relaxed, fantastic food,, and good accommodation. Arno is a great host - very entertaining stories around the camp fire. His views are pretty forthright, but thought provoking."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Loved it! Fantastic way to finish our holiday"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2014
"Great camp, beautiful park, passionate team, great finale to our trip. We were perhaps a little cynical about the conservation work being done here, and not convinced about tracking animals which are tagged (would it feel like a safari park?).

We did some fantastic drives through this beautiful reserve - we tracked hyena and cheetah on foot (and got very close) - and left feeling very impressed by the passion and commitment of the team, and the work they are doing.

Tracking animals using tracking devices was a different experience, but just as exciting. A very action packed couple of days which we really enjoyed, and great for families."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2010 trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 18 Aug 2010 and 2 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic trip - it all worked out really well and everyone had a great time. Great itinerary.

Lucy very helpful, patient and knowledgable."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2010
"Great location. Helpful and friendly staff.

Didn't expect to have to pay extra for the kid's breakfast."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

"Elephant Valley Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2010
"Our guide, Daniel was fantastic - really great with the children, and really went out of his way to ensure we saw some great game. Very knowledgable, and good fun.

Rooms great - especially when moved to be overlooking the water hole.

Food average, considering the price. Lunch and breakfast ok, but dinner dissapointing (although great location under the stars)
A real luxury to have electric blankets.

The location isn't ideal - it's a 40min hard drive along bumpy roads to get to the Chobe gate. But there is game to be seen around the camp, and it's a quiet locaiton."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Private Mobile Camp, Botswana (this camp has since closed)

"Santantadibe Mobile Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2010
"Grant was fantastic - loads of activities to keep the children entertained, and very knowledgable. We trusted him completely.
Location is very remote - which we loved - but it wouldn't be for everyone. The floods have made the drive to and from camp very long (6hrs) and a bit tricky in places (i thought my mother was going to have a heart attack!).

The game here is much more sparse than in Chobe - and not so used to seeing vehicles, so rather shy and skittish. Having said that we had some good sightings (including a family of wild dogs with pups). Having started our trip in Chobe, where there was so much to see, there was a danger that the kids would get bored, but Grant kept them busy.

The food was absolutely fantastic - and included tea and cakes before we left on evening safari, and snacks for our sundowners. Joyce does an amazing job.,

The facilities were great, and every detail had been thought through - including colouring books for the kids.
Lovely campsite in a great location. Very efficiently run.

The only thing i would change is that we found it odd, and a bit awkward not to be introduced to the team managing the camp. On previous trips we have got to know the camp staff, and it has felt like one big team, which was great. On this trip we weren't introduced to anyone - even the guy who was on the 6hr trip with us from the airport to camp - by the time we realised he was part of the team, and not just getting a lift it was a bit late to introduce ourselves. With hindsight we should have made more efflort ourselves, but it felt as if the rest of the team was deliberately kept in the background. Very efficient, but a bit impersonal."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Clef des Iles, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"Clef des Iles review"

5 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2010
"Fantastic location on the beach and next to a pizza restaurant. Great for families, but (comparatively) busy for a quiet break. Seems to be mainly used by families, so not great if you don't want to be disturbed by the 3 screaming toddlers next door!!

Very clean, and nicely furnished."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team