This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family G from Oxordshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

Our favourite holiday - ever!

Namibia and 1 other country between 13 Jul 2014 and 31 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have done many long haul trips and we've been to some amazing countries, but this holiday was the best of the lot!

Sabina had made the perfect itinerary for what we wanted and I would hardly have changed anything - just one extra day at Corona Guest Farm would have been good. There were a few highlights - a hot air balloon trip over the desert with a champagne breakfast whilst at the beautiful Kulala Desert Lodge/ Corona Guest Farm as an overall wonderful stay and. of course, the privilege of staying with Arno and Estelle at Nhoma and experiencing the lives of the Bushmen."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove was delightful"

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2014
"Very warm welcome from manager. Rooms well appointed. Good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge is amazing"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2014
"This camp is amazing. It is set in the middle of nowhere but with the most stunning scenery and the camp itself is beautiful.

The staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful and the food was great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

"Corona Guest Farm - unusual but fantastic!"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2014
"This farm was like stepping back in to the 1950s. It was our favourite stay over the whole holiday and my daughter is desperate to go back. I would certainly have liked to stay here for two nights rather than one.

It is surrounded by the most beautiful mountains and is a very long way from anywhere. We had a great evening walk just as the sun was setting. The food was absolutely fantastic and the owner was great. It was the most perfect retreat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima is beautful but lacking character"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2014
"Although the rooms are stunning and the view from the bedroom window amazing, the overall feel of the camp is slightly cold and characterless. The staff are not very helpful and seem disinterested. It has a factory like feel to it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp is"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2014
"The tents are slightly basic, but the tin bath was an absolute triumph! The staff fall over themselves to be helpful and hot water bottles in the beds are fantastic! The restaurant is great and the food lovely."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara is stunning but 'cold' in feel"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2014
"The lodge is beautifully designed and the rooms are amazing. There is an incredible amount of detail gone in to the look of everything. Having said that, it is lacking in character. The staff all seem to walk around on tiptoe and whisper to each other. It has a melancholy feel to it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Nhoma - there is no experience like it!"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"Spending three days with Arno and Estelle at Nhoma Camp is something we will never forget!

They are both full of information, which they are more than happy to share sitting around the camp fire at night and driving around the area. It was a privilege to stay in the camp and to experience the lives of the Bushmen. Three days was just right - anything shorter wouldn't have been long enough.

We would love to go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe is delightful"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2014
"This was a perfect camp to come to after the three days at Nhoma - it felt very luxurious!.

The rooms were great and sitting on the deck overlooking the Okavango River at sunset was perfect. Staff all good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu is in a good location"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"This was probably my least favourite camp, mainly because the tents need upgrading and it all felt a bit run down - locks were broken and so our daughter had to sleep with me rather than sleeping in a tent that she couldn't lock.

Torches weren't provided even though the tents were a couple of metres from the river (nor hot water bottles and it was freezing cold at night!). The staff were good and the river cruise at sunset was really good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mazambala Island Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Mazambala is set in beautiful surroundings"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2014
"A great camp with a very attentive owner. Rooms are a bit basic and the tiled floors are freezing cold but the communal areas of the camp are really nice.

Food really good. Great river cruise."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun is perfect for the Falls"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2014
"A great hotel if all you want to see is the Falls - which we did. We spent our evenings at The Royal Livingstone as it had a more gentle feel to it.

The staff at the Zambezi Sun are really good and the buffet breakfast is great. Being only a few minutes walk from the Falls was the best thing though."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A fantastic holiday

Tanzania and 1 other country between 14 Jul 2008 and 29 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We couldn't have asked for a better holiday - both on safari and in Zanzibar.

Suggestions for improvement:

If only Expert Africa dealt with the rest of the world!

It was a pleasure to deal with Eleanor and her knowledge of all aspects of our holiday was spot on. Every single transfer went to plan, all on time, and the accommodation at all the venues was exactly as she had described it to me.

It was Eleanor's suggestion for us to spend 3 days in Ruaha and we wouldn't have missed it for anything.

Thank you."

Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Fantastic Safari at Selous Impala Camp"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2008
"It was a beautiful camp with the most wonderful staff.

The food was excellent - a rare treat for us as we're all vegetarian.

The guides were extremely informative and interesting and good company on all the game drives/ boat safaris.We saw a huge variety of animals/ birds, far more than I expected.

The tents were comfortable with great views. Nothing seemed too much trouble for any of the staff. We would all love to go back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Great Safari at Mdonya Old River Camp"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2008
"We adored the camp as it was so remote. Our tent was a fair way from anyone else and we had loads of animals walking past as we were on the ede of the old river bed.

The staff were excellent and we particularly enjoyed evenings round the camp fire and early morning breakfast.

Our safari guide, Giovanni, was incredible - there didn't seem to be anythiing he didn't know about the animal/ bird population. We had some great drives, with Giovanni and Roland, which all included picnic meals at some fantastic locations."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

"On the beach at Shooting Star"

5 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"This was just what we wanted as we weren't looking for a big international hotel, but wanted something more in keeping with the surrounding area.

The rooms (cottages) were absolutely beautiful, with stunning views over the Indian Ocean (from large private terraces).

Trips were available and easy to book and were all great - we did the spice tour and Jozani Forest."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2008
"We all loved this hotel as it was exactly what we were looking for.

The rooms and bathrooms were beautiful, decorated in Arabic style.

The staff were excellent and full of information about the local area, including booking us a local guide who took us around the whole of Stone Town.

We didn't eat here as we wanted to sample local food in town, but breakfast was great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team