This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nhoma Camp
Nhoma Camp
Nhoma Camp

Reviews of Nhoma Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

40 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nhoma Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2019, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nhoma Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

25% success

Elephant

75% success

Oryx

75% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Giraffe

50% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Eland

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 40
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Nhoma Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Fascinating insight and experience spending time with the bushmen, and should have stayed for longer.

Arno's in depth knowledge of the bushmen was invaluable." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
New York

"Nhoma Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2012
"An A+ to Nhoma Camp. In addition to very decent facilities i.e tents, bathroom, dining room, Arno and Stelle's hospitality, attentiveness and awareness of little details made the stay very pleasant. it was cold at night (minus 2 -3C) and beds were warmed up with bottles of hot water.

Food quite good and service simple but also attentive. Definitively a great choice.

The visits to the village and the activities very rewarding as well." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
O Family
Vancouver

"Nhoma Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2012
"We really enjoyed our stay at Nhoma Camp. Although more rustic than the previous camps we stayed at, the huts were clean and very comfortable. The experience with the Bushmen was unforgettable. The culture & lifestyle is so completely different than what we experience in Canada. The kids also enjoyed this camp. We found that 3 nights gave us ample time to try things, and we were ready to move on. It was very cold in the mornings - we should have packed thin down jackets." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 8n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Family Tsuchiyose
USA

"Nhoma Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2012
"It was a special and unique place, and the owner of the camp, Arno always made sure that all is well with us. He sincerely wanted to show us the best in Khaudum National Park and came back 8pm. The drive back at night with all kinds of animals at water pan in the sunset color was really scenic.

The walk with bushman in the morning, some demonstrations of making arrows, starting fire, preparing food etc at the village, and watching the healing dance at night were all very interesting and special.

The food was very good, and the canvas tent was nice with a bath tub. This visit was right after visiting Etosha National Park(Big animal park), so we really felt that we were able to see the real things here. Many thanks to Arno." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
New discoveries
UK

"Nhoma Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2011
"Thoroughly enjoyed the time here. It was a fantastic experience.

Arno was very friendly and a great host. The location of the camp to the Bushmen's village made everything so easy." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
D party
Belgium

"Nhoma Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2011
"Nhoma camp is a well situated, well organised, and inviting lodge. We received a warm welcome from Theo and his south african friends who made extraordinary efforts to make us feel at home.

What makes Nhoma camp very special is the Bushmen experience. Beside having full access to the bushmen way of life in their village we were thrilled with a day long hunt where we were tought Bushmen survival skills. Overall a very enjoyable and special experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
R Family
Alaska

"Nhoma Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2010
"Nhoma Camp was the absolute highlight of our trip. We loved it. Not an stop for everyone of course, but for us, it was like being at home.

The accommodations, compared to someplace like Mushara, aren't anywhere near as fancy, but taken as part of our lifestyle and how we like to do experience things, they were perfect. Arno is a superb host and made us feel right at home. The time with the San was wonderful.

If you like to get your hands dirty, meet people, and learn about life with the Bushman, this is the place to go. Our teenaged daughter was a little suspicious about Nhoma before we arrived, but she had a great time also. This is the place to slow down, catch your breath, and learn how the San have survived in an amazing environment." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"meet the bushmen!"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2010
"we phoned the night before to check on arrival etc. and to check the road (as directed by you). We notified them that we would leave at 7am and aim to arrive by 2pm having explained we were in a VW Polo saloon vehicle. I particularly asked that if we did not arrive that someone would come and look for us. As arranged, I sent a text telling them what time we had left Grootfontein (at 9.30am) It would therefore be very surprising if we had not arrived by 2pm.

At 1.45pm we got stuck in the sand on the side road about 20kms short of Nhoma. We stood under a small tree until 3.15pm when some other guests passed by. They eventually towed us out of the sand and we followed them to Nhoma. It should also be made clear that 2WD cars cannot drive up to the camp but need to park at the bottom. Without the other car we would not have known what to do as we had no idea how much further up the track we needed to go and whether we should walk or wait.

We arrived at the camp at 3.30pm to be told we were the first to get stuck in the sand. We later learnt that when the sand is at its hottest at early afternoon it makes it very difficult to drive through the sand. The next morning we had no problem

I received a text from Arno's wife at 5.45pm saying she was sorry she had heard we got stuck in the sand and that she had had a very stressful day. It became very obvious that no one was coming to look for us and that we had been extremely lucky to be rescued by the other guests. Not a great start to our visit.

Cold drinks were offered on arrival which were much appreciated. The tents were cool and well sited. Everything worked well. Cool water in thermos was always on offer and thermos cups by the bed.

The other guests had bought gifts for the children - hairclips and books for the girls, and a football for the boys so they had a great football game. It would have been nice to know a bit more about the village before we left.

We felt we got the most out of our visit because it was over the weekend and the children were about. We enjoyed collecting them on the way back to school and giving them lift with Arno. Without the children around the visit would have seemed much flatter in contrast." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
E & D
New Mexico

"A Special Place"

3 nights Arrived 13 May 2010
"Going out with Jonas, Hart, David and Kaece to see whatever they might find in the bush was a great experience. They were successful at finding and extracting honey from a tree, they dug up a water root and used its liquid to wash honey from their arms, and made string from a plant called mother-in-law's tongue. They laughed and talked and generously gave us an arrow after demonstrating how it was made.

Estelle and Arno made us feel at home at Nhoma. We were concerned that we might feel like intruders at the San people's camp next door to the lodge but instead found the people were very friendly and warm - the kids especially. Their lives are not easy and it is difficult for them to make a living that is not in conflict with their old ways. We hope that our visit helped at least a bit." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Bucks

"Nhoma Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2010
"The highlight of the trip . A real adventure !.

Arno a most knowledgeable and interesting host. Relating to the bushmen was much easier than we had imagined it would be

We had lots of fun and learnt loads." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 40
95%
40 reviews of Nhoma Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
31
8
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa