This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by R Family from Alaska

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Overall

Namibia between 13 Oct 2010 and 25 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall, we had a wonderful time and plan on returning to Namibia.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I would have liked to have received some of the travel information that you sent earlier. The materials on checking luggage, rental cars, etc would be useful, I would probably add some comments about paying people to watch your cars, street vendors, etc. But, I also recognize that our trip was put together at the last minute and that may be why we didn't get those materials until right before we left.

Maruska was very helpful and gave great advice. Thanks for a wonderful trip."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2010
"Very friendly and helpful. Love the grounds at the site. The location was great - easy to walk to town."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2010
"Very pleasant stay here. Staff was very helpful trying to make arrangements for us and confirming reservations.

Easy to walk to town from here.

Kayaking excursion to Pelican Point - I suppose it depends on your past experiences.

We found this trip, hmm, slow and a little boring - but we've done lots of kayaking before. Other people in the group had a great time. It wasn't that there was anything wrong with the trip - the outfitter had good boats, life jackets, great relations with the clients - so no problem there, we thought there was a little more to it than just paddling back and forth along the shore."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"kayaking trip"

17 Oct 2010 • Morning excursion

I suppose it depends on your past experiences.

We found this trip, hmm, slow and a little boring - but we've done lots of kayaking before. Other people in the group had a great time. It wasn't that there was anything wrong with the trip - the outfitter had good boats, life jackets, great relations with the clients - so no problem there, we thought there was a little more to it than just paddling back and forth along the shore.
Average
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

"Taleni Etosha Village review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2010
"We loved our stay at Taleni. The staff was great, the food was wonderful. Access to Etosha from here was easy.

This was a great place to stay. I don't hesitate to recommend it.

It's not like any place else we stayed, it's more like camping, but with great amenities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2010
"The main thing Halali has going for it is the location in the Park. The watering hole was OK, but bring your own folding chair if you have one.

Seems like it was a great place when it was built, but NWR needs to put some money back into it to bring the Camp back up to par. Front desk was understaffed when most people were trying to check out. Food was mediocre."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2010
"Another wonderful stop. The food and staff were fantastic.

A touch on the luxurious side, which is OK after the dust of Etosha. Mushara and Taleni were our favorite camps.

I would recommend this to anyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Nhoma Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2010
"Nhoma Camp was the absolute highlight of our trip. We loved it. Not an stop for everyone of course, but for us, it was like being at home.

The accommodations, compared to someplace like Mushara, aren't anywhere near as fancy, but taken as part of our lifestyle and how we like to do experience things, they were perfect. Arno is a superb host and made us feel right at home. The time with the San was wonderful.

If you like to get your hands dirty, meet people, and learn about life with the Bushman, this is the place to go. Our teenaged daughter was a little suspicious about Nhoma before we arrived, but she had a great time also. This is the place to slow down, catch your breath, and learn how the San have survived in an amazing environment."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2010
"In retrospect, we would have preferred an additional day at Nhoma rather than making the stop here. But hindsight is 20/20. The food was spectacular as was the wine list. The sunset drive to look at animals was a waste. Sure, we saw animals.

The rhinos were feeding on the food the lodge puts out for them each afternoon, and anytime other animals were seen, the driver accelerated which merely sent the animals runnings. Dinner was superb, staff was great, but like I said, an additional day at Nhoma would have been better for us.

We could have made the drive from Nhome to Windhoek in a day."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2010
"This is an easy comfortable guest home. Clean, great landscaping, good food and friendly people."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team