This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr E from Yorkshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2013 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 27 Jul 2013 and 16 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"it is a small point, but it would have been better to have known the arrangements for our pick up from the cresta lodge ahead of our stay there. Otherwise info good.

Chris/ Sabina - there are some points I have not included on our stay to Nkasa which you might find helpful to know. Particularly re the awful track and bridge that you have to negotiate to get to the lodge!

Re Nhoma and Nkasa - we would be very happy to be contacted by other families/ couples contemplating staying at either of these camps, if that would be helpful."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2013
"yes, initially appears quite a clinical room, but everything was satisfactory and the host helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2013
"Our 'hut' could not have been in a more perfect setting ie directly in front of waterhole and great layout ie room for children down stairs and then double bed upstairs. if you have young children, you may be concerned re them going up and coming down the stairs alone, as the one side of the stairs was open.

The food was very ample and table service efficient. The food perhaps could have been lovingly prepared ie vegetables all over cooked but a minor point."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2013
"Incredibly tastefui accomodation and central boma, greast style - the best of the whole trip. Pool good for children, and the only lodge that considered that children may appreciate some books and games - fantastic for the girls to be able to have access to these.

The staff sang and danced and presented a cake to my husband as it was it was his 50th birthday and this made for a truly memorable evening.

Fabulous varied gift shop too!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Nhoma Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2013
"The most authentic stay of our whole trip. Although in no way a luxury destination or accomodation, the experience was one that I hope we will all remember for a very long time. Arno is a fabulous host and his knowledge of the country and its politiics engaging.

It was great that everything wall inclusive - and the only place we stayed where this was the case ie we were not presented with a bill of extras, at the end of our stay.

We stayed for three nights and it was worth it - the cooking of the ostrich omelette, the hunting with the men folk and the walk with the lady etc all really interesting.

The only suggestion I would make, would be for a small box with some childrens books or toys eg snakes and ladders would go a a long way, especially as there is no pool etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2013
"Perhaps the most beautiful location we stayed in during our three week trip. The papyrus, waterlillies and reedshas not been based by massess or tourists as in other places we stayed.

Adam was a great guide for our boat trips.

The only suggestion I would make, would be for a small box with some childrens books or toys eg snakes and ladders would go a long way, expecially as there is no pool etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2013
"The host, Horst makes this camp so special. On approaching the lodge you pass though a village where there is a lot of litter and then you see the faded sign for the camp and I must admit I had some trepidation upon reaching the gates as to what we would find. However

The reference books are useful for adults, but a small box with some childrens books or toys eg snakes and ladders would go a long way to improve the experience for them. Horst did kindly tie up one of the launches so the girls could do some pretend play.

The park which is very near the lodge was better in my view than Chobe from a drive and viewing perspective - really personal.

Mosquito spray killer as standard in the rooms would have been good, we asked for some and it was provided but upon entering the tent it was teeming with mossies."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2013
"The track in to the camp was the most rutted and difficult of our whole three week trip.

For us, the fact that the camp was fully booked and hence seemed very busy was a detractor. ie 20 plus sittng down at one long table to eat in the open each meal on the viewing deck.

The written nfo supplied to us re the place is not correct ie there is no pool, no fans, no mosquito nets and this should be corrected.

The led light in the rooms take some getting used to - ie definitely take a head torch or two!

The fish we were served on our first night should not be tackled without a head torch, as the lighing in the open air dining room is minimal and fish very bony.

Simon who runs the lodge is charming, and worked extremely hard to ensure everyone was welcomed. As you are extremely constrained as to how far you can walk around the camp Simon may wish to think about other board games etc., And for children a box of childrens books and games, and perhaps a bucket and spade in the sandy area. I would definitley not recommend it for young children."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Cresta Mowana Lodge

"Cresta Mowana Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2013
"Great place to stay ie hotel with all the modern comforts. Staff very friendly and food excellent.

The down side for us is that it is big hotel and hence very busy.

On the game drive (poor sightings) they had not supplied enough vehicles so my husband went to sit in the front of the vehicle and I was expected to put my 5 year old on my lap. I did not agree to this
a) because the vehicle was open sided and had no seat belts and
b) she was sleepy as it was 6 am and in fact she did sleep for the whole of the game drive!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Lokathula

"Lokathula review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2013
"The best breakfasts of the whole three week trip, as we took these in the Safari Lodge.

The accomodation was fine but wasteeming with mosquitoes the whole of our stay. My 5 and 7 year olds were both bitten on face, ears, arms etc whilst in bed. Mosquito killing spray and coils should be provided afor use inside the nets as you cannot 'seal' the chalet. When we arrived the windows were open and the back of the property completely open. (the property has a canvas back which was open.)

Grat location oppostive the Boma and their pool. If you do use this accomodation do go to the Boma in the evening. We all loved it! Go see the witch doctor too at the Boma!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent

family with two children under 4.

Namibia between 22 Apr 2009 and 7 May 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic - can only urge others to both use Expert Africa and go to Namibia.

Suggestions for improvement:

no your service was excellent - though please see comments re car hire experience"

Arranged By Maruska AdyeRowe


Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

"Hotel Pension Thule review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2009
"food, room and facilities in room excellent - great space"
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Beach Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2009
"fantastic food and rooms - best place to eat we found in Swakopmund.

hotel took some finding though as maps do not seem to have kept pace with how fast Swakoopmund is growing"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2009
"Great location, food etc - though lacks that personal touch.

we took a sundowner drive one evening which was ok - but apart from the sunset please do not take it to see wildlife of any note."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 May 2009
"If you want to be looked after and really expierence sincere human hospitality and an outstanding very special location go to Zebra River Lodge.

ZRL not necesserily set up to cater for children ie no high chair, cot and a dog that is definitely not child friendly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2009
"It was great to be able to see Meerkats and cheetahs and other game kept or who have become habituated to humans.
Food very very average, Location outstanding and can recommend the straw bale chalets - fantastic,

Did not have high chairs for our one year old, though were able to provide an earlier supper.

South African guide very knowledgable, if rather naive and opinionated as to what goes on in realitiy in Namibia re Cheetah Conservation - but perhaps I am being rather jaundiced, as sat next to a friend on the plane returning to England who had been staying on a farm where in the past 24 hours they had tracked and shot a lion, and trapped and shot a cheetah."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team