This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms T & Mr C from San Fran

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Top 5% of 70 counties visited!

Namibia and 1 other country between 8 Aug 2013 and 20 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip started off with a big Bang with planing with Expert Africa. Saskia was incredible! She planned the trip exactly the way we hoped for, with many additions / suggest to add to a fantastic experience. We wouldn't hesitate to go on Expert African trips again, or recommend to our friends.

Namibia has such diversity in landscape and people, providing an ever changing and intense experience from day to day. We have travelled to 40 countries in the last 3 years, and total of 75 countries in life time, we both would rate our experience in Namibia as top 5% of countries we visited and Expert Africa / Saskia as the best travel agency we have dealt with."

Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2013
"It's a simple motel with a good location (especially for Joe's Beer house). Rooms are simple, breakfast is adequate.

The owner and his wife are friendly and helpful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2013
"Pricey for the value, but travelers have no other choice! We had two wheel drive car, so we had to depend on the shuttle to take us to the dunes.

They told us to park at the 2wd car park and wait for the shuttle which will come by around 6:15am, in time for the sunrise. They didn't come till 6:45am, way AFTER the sun rose by the time we get to the dunes! The shuttle driver claimed that he was not contacted by the Dune lodge to take us up there. Who knows what's the truth. It is annoying to spend that much money and stay in the park, THEN MISS THE SUNRISE.

We were also given a room stuck behind a pile of rocks, while there were other empty rooms in the lodge."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2013
"Great experience at Barchan Dune Retreat. William and Hannetjie are friendly, knowledgeable and entertaining!

We took a sundowner game drive with William, enjoyed the sunset and the drinks along with spectacular views and conversations. The dinner was family style with other traveller and our hosts. Food was yummy, wine was excellent and the conversations were priceless.

Definitely one of the highlights of our Namibian experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2013
"Sam's was nice. The room was nicely decorated. Bathroom was huge, modern and clean.

We had dinner on site one night. It was 5-course fish meal at 5-star level for reasonable 2 star price. Sam was very helpful providing information, advise and suggestions. The restaurant he recommended in town (Erich's) was also excellent.

They also played a key roll in getting us a scenic flight to see the dunes and skeleton coast."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2013
"The lodge is located in a beautiful setting and the each tent was private.

The rooms are tastefully decorated with comfortable bed and clean bathrooms. The sunset area, pool area and dining area are inviting. Services were good. The only big drawback was the plumbing. When we flush the toilet, there was the sewerage back up/leaking stink in the room and around the tent, lasting for 20-30 minutes!

We were wondering if we were placed in a particularly "undesirable room" because we just stayed for one night. From behind a pile of rocks in Sossus Dune lodge to Sewerage leaking in Mowani lodge."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2013
"Very dated room. Definitely one of NWR's in-the-park lodging that traveller have no other choice but putting up with it. The rooms are minimally equipped, with unattractive concrete tables and countertops.

But it is very very close to the waterhole!"
Average
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"Another beautifully designed and tastefully decorated lodge.

There is not as much personal feel as Barchan, Sam's Giardino or Nhoma lodges, but the services were good and the food was delicious."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Unforgettable experience"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2013
"One of the highlights, if not the highlight of our trip.

Both the experience with the bushman and the personal interactions with Arno and Estelle are exceptional."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
River Crossing

River Crossing

"good one night stop before flight"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2013
"The lodge is good with a beautiful view of Windhoek in the distance, off the rooms and the sun deck.

A good place to stay for a night before flights."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"Convenient"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2013
"Convenient location for transfer. Standard western comfort and convenience."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team