This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss A from Haywards Heath

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

Much better than expected.

Zambia between 25 May 2019 and 5 Jun 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Planning stages very comprehensive. Excellent advice given. Every stage of itinerary was seamless whether organised by Tours Africa or the camps. I felt I'd just delivered myself into someone else's care and needn't worry about another thing. First time I lifted my suitcase was back at Heathrow.

I was so pleased the decisions I had made (with advice) about he combination of accommodations had fitted the bill completely. Although not deemed to be the best time to visit, I thought I'd had the best of all world so very lucky.

My thanks to everyone"

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

"Good flight recovery destination"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2019
"Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Had no plans to do any activities. Took great pleasure in the grounds and whatever wildlife happened to be there.

Food - Breakfast adequate. I was happy with fruit, yoghurt etc. so did not try cooked breakfasr. Light lunch and dinner very pleasant especially venison carpaccio. Bar staff very cheerful and waiters always willing if a little haphazard at times.

Housekeeping - above and beyond. I had forgotten to pack a hair item (inconsequential to most but not for me). One of the housekeeping staff said she would go to market at the end of her shift and send it back with the staff bus. It was delivered to my door a couple of hours later. Exemplary.

Room - Overjoyed to see a fan heater. I put it to good use! .Everything provided except a bathrobe which was a slight disappointment. (Provided everywhere else.)

A great stopping -off point in extremely nice surroundings.. Manager very welcoming..."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"A taste of the past"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2019
"Was apprehensive because of the open bathroom but the experience outweighed the fear as did a great welcome from Catherine. Thank you to Freddie for persuading me to go.

Absolutely idyllic setting. Lunch and dinner tables beautifully laid in prime spot. Food excellent, wine flowed, service couldn't have been better. Nor could the lively conversations. Just loved it.

I find it hard to appreciate safari-style breakfast but it seems to be set in tablets of stone. This comment doesn't reflect on Nsefu or any other camp but it's such a hassle.. We labour to some distant spot, try to fumble around for food in the dark and the cold and then perch in a line in chairs trying to balance the food and mug of tea on a small table placed to one side. Everything I love for breakfast but unable to enjoy it. Why not eat outside if one must but use the big table nearer the main area with the food table wherever one can see what's on it? The setting is still the same but the degree of comfort and enjoyment is greatly increased. Surely it would be far more convenient for the staff too.The toasting/egg fires can still be in the vicinity for atmosphere. As it is, the style neither plays into the hands of a genuine safari buff nor the 'pretend' ones like us. Whatever the setting, there's no time to enjoy it so may as well make it a more practical experience. (Sorry - a minority view I'm sure but has anyone ever asked for opinions?)

My hot water bottle request had been received loud and clear but as Amanda had said, it's unlikely it would be as cold as Hwange. Still, it always provides a degree of amusement with everyone else.

Everyone would have been aware the rooms were small but I was glad there was just one of me, especially when the bed space is shrouded in mosquito nets, The steps to the bathroom became the sorting area for my goods and chattels .. As for the steps themselves, they were no problem for me, though i was very careful, but I'm not sure they were mentioned on the Expert Africa description of the room. I wonder how the man with a stick coped next door to me. However, I did find the shower floor quite slippery, especially negotiating the raised curved edge which presumably helps to keep the water in check.

I stand in awe at the organisational skills of all the staff and guides, Whatever is going on behind the scenes, it's a seamless operation for the ever-changing guest intake. Nothing too much trouble and yet we were still treated to 'extras'. A lovely surprise on my last sundowner evening. We turned up at the chosen spot only to find Catherine with a large table bearing ice buckets for bottles of sparkling wine and a tray of canapes', Then the other 2 vehicles turned up as well. A surprise for all of us and much appreciated.

An experience I wouldn't have missed for the world. Thank you for the excellent guiding and great hospitality."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

"Convenience stop"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2019
"I'm a safari camp novice so had chosen the lodge a) to see what it was like and b) in case I needed something a little more familiar than an open bathroom etc. before transferring to another camp.(Pathetically afraid of the cold and I do like my creature comforts.) My apprehension about Nsefu was a gross misjudgment, that's for sure, but even so, I didn't mind finding our about the Lodge .I had no intention of taking part in any activities.

Room was certainly up to scratch. Excellent facilities. A pity the lagoon had dried out but I was endlessly entertaind by the baboons as I sat on the deck. The trees beyond captured the light beautifully..

The Manager kindly offered to sit with me for meals as I was alone but I'm used to that so released him from that duty. I appreciated the table they had prepared for me for luncch - prime position. However, he was very attentive during afternoon tea and drinks at the bar.

After Nsefu, food was inevitably a disappointment.though needless to say, I enjoyed breakfast. They cater for groups and the food reflected that.

Nevertheless, it served it's purpose. A good night and another experience."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Whisk me back please.."

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2019
"Hospitality with a capital H. Why did I feel so much at home? I loved it. I forsook a morning game drive and an evening one just to sit and 'be' - to savour the stillnes of the river, the light, the various noises and whatever wildlife happened to hove into view.. It was like an illustration in a book David Livingstone might have written.

What to say about the host, Ignacio? However many plates he must have spinning in his head at any given time, his focus is on his guests, of whatever ilk, whether just engaging in conversation or anticipating every wish/need. Each person treated as though they are the only one who matters. It's a rare skill. I know I was supposed to be there for the wildlife but as much pleasure as anything came from the wonderful mix of personalities at the lunch/dinner tablesand the consequent very entertaining conversations, handled very adeptly by Ignacio. I would run a mile from house parties in the conventional sense but revelled in this variety.

Can't get away from hot water bottles. I asked for one on my second night and duly found not only the bottle in my bed but an extra balnket on the bed as well. Very thoughtful and extra toasty.

Tremendous guiding and with the added dimension of crossing the river every time. Very soft, sandy,steep descent and ascent but I was never without the strong hand of Chris to keep me upright.. I now understand how extensive is the training for guides but even so, the knowledge is phenomenal, especially about birds. I loved all the careering through bush and scrub and then emerging onto a plain dotted with zebra, various entelope, giraffe etc. Was this real? As with the river, I could have happily sat stil just drinking it in. For me, the time of year seemed to be perfect. Still lots of water around and green areas but the rest just as I imagined it. I told Amanda I wanted to see hippos. I understand now why she was so confident in her assurances..

Breakfast sentiments the same as I wrote for Nsefu but on my activity- free morning it was bliss. 9am - chair and table on the terrace carefully placed by Ignacio. Order for cereal and toast taken and if possible a chopped apple to put on the cereal. No problem. I'd taken the newspaper I'd had since England to read but couldn't take my eyes off the view. As if on cue, a mother, father and baby elephant sandwiched between them slowly ambled in front of me and into the river..

Food was very good and imaginative. I didn't refuse a thing except the hot pickle second time round. (Another incomprehensible feat - organising the supply chain.) Immaculate service every time both foodwise and drinkwise.

As for the property itself, I suspect plans will be in hand to keep up the constant renewal process - conditions must be hard on wood maintenance etc. Not sure where this is on the list of priorities or if there is any practical solution but the soft sand makes for quite difficult walking between rooms and the main area - especially when running at 5.30am to squeeze in breakfast and then back again to be out by 6am!

Frustration of a trip like this is that it's hard to convey to anyone who has no experience of it exactly how it all works. That would have been me until last year. For someone who - needs must - look after herself, I felt as if I'd just succumbed to a 'care package'. 7th heaven.. Thank you to absolutely everyone involved."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

An unmissable experience

Zimbabwe between 10 Jun 2018 and 19 Jun 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"A wonderful week despite the hours I spent without blood in my veins. it was a very quick week but the order in which the 3 components were arranged was ideal - Gorges, Camp, Victoria Falls.

Every treansfer, activity, flight worked perfectly.

A word about your website. I'm not very computer literate but I have never found such a comprehensive, informative and easy to navigate site in all my life. There is so much useful content.I could read it like a book.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None whatsoever. In your hands completely."

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team