This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge

Reviews of Kapani Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kapani Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 71-78 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Dr J Alma
UK

"A good end to my trip"

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"A more business-like approach with less of a family feel.

Standards however very high and probably had the best food of all the camps I visited." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F
Denmark

"Review of Nsolo Bushcamp"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2007
"Excelllent see previous comments" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F
Denmark

"Good value for the money"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"It was a splendid tour you had arranged for us in South Luangwa.

In all five lodges Kapani, Kakuli, Nsolo, Mchenja and Luwi. Anne Marie, Lora, Natasha, Warren, the guides Abraham, Lawrence, Shaddy, Sam, Jimmy and John plus the rest of the teams gave us a wonderful time. They were all incredibly hospitable and immediately made us feel wellcome.

The game experiences were unforgettable.The guides who were all excellent did their best to show the nature and the game in varied actions. Especially John, who was called out to take us from Nsolo to Mcenja, half way walk, two days at Mchenja and the walk from Nsolo to Luwi. He was a brilliant guide, who seemed to be fond of walking like we are, while some of the guides had a preference for driving." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr K
Oxford Univ

"First day in Africa - Kapani Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2007
"A great and very reassuring start to a first visit to Africa. All staff were very friendly and professional. The rooms are lovely, bathrooms adequate. A reminder that the other Carr camps do not have a shop and do not sell local products would have been helpful. Also a reminder of the possibility to visit Kapani school - it slipped our minds, and we didn't visit a school until we arrived in Tongabezi - a comparison would have been helpful.

Kapani is ideal for two nights- any longer and the activities become a little repetitive, since walking, while theoretically available, is not actively promoted. But the drives are excellent - on our first night, we saw pretty much all the animals that were top of our list: lionesses suckling their cubs, a leopard dragging its just-killed impala onto a tree, arranging it carefully over a branch so that it wouldn't slip down, elephants, impala, warthogs, hyena, aardvark and many more.

Our guide, Abel, was very good: very knowledgeable, calm and friendly. Abraham, much cheekier, was clearly hugely experienced. We thought this lodge very good value for money. The food is outstanding, esp lunch, with great vegetables from the garden, and excellent meat too.

We were glad to hear that the guides at Norman Carr felt well treated as employees, with 12-month contracts, good training programmes and paid annual leave." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M Gordondale
UK

"Fantastic Safari at Kapani Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2007
"Everything was well organised and all staff were very friendly and welcoming. The accomodation was very comfortable and food excellent. Our guide was Abraham Banda who was delightful and must know everything there there is to know about South Luangwa - a privilege to meet him.

We were amazed by the number and variety of animals and birds and had lots of unforgettable experiences - leopard with cubs, crossing the river at sunset, walking safari, feeling of wilderness - could go on and on!

Our visit to Yosefe School was very interesting and gave us an insight into the "real" Zambia of 2007." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mopane squirrels
UK

"A relaxing introduction"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2007
"Only there one night. Lucky enough to have Abraham. Great drive.

Really enjoyed our trip to Kawasi village and school on the way." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B St Mary
UK

"Simply perfect safari experience"

5 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2007
"The Lodge: great setting, food, staff, rooms. We and the kids were totally comfortable from start to finish. A special place with a special history.

The Guide (Willie Shuma) is simply the best. 360 degree, heat-seeking, infra-red vision with a perfect understanding and knowledge of the wildlife (including our kids) and the patience of a saint. A big personality who we missed from the moment we said goodbye.

The Park: blend of East African savannah and South African scrub. We saw pretty much all we could hope to see at close quarters and in good numbers. Memories and photographs to die for. Also the low number of guests per car is a huge bonus - everyone sees everything with no "waiting your turn" evident with cars from other lodges." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Hatfield

"Kapani will always remind me of the elephants"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2007
"This was our first safari and definitely will not be our last, it lived up to our expectations and more.

Kapani Lodge is run extremely well , from the warm friendly welcome to leaving we had a fantastic time. The Lodge is very comfortable and very suitable for people who want to still have home comforts and would make and ideal start to a honeymoon. We had the fantastic experience of laying in bed watching several elephants feeding off the trees outside our window.

The staff were very friendly and attentive amd our guide James was a mindfield of information. We enjoyed having his company at mealtimes he made us feel very welcome and we chatted about our drives and learnt about life in Zambia.

The stops to take in the beautiful breathtaking sunsets and to see the bush after dark is a totally different experience than daytime drives. Although I enjoyed the night drives they were very tiring and could have been a little shorter." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-78 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Kapani Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
13
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (276 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa