This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs M Gordondale from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Expert Africa - thank you for a great holiday

Zambia between 3 Sep 2007 and 15 Sep 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank for organising everything for us- we all had a fantastic holiday - so many memories for me on my return visit to Luangwa, Senanga and the Victoria Falls and a wonderful fiirst Africa experience for Tom, Alison and David.

After several enquiries Expert Africa were the first to give us good advice about getting to Senanga and sounded as if they knew what they were talking about.

Bradt Travel Guide and Notes to travellers to Zambia were invaluable. Everything went as planned. Visa letter made entry to Zambia problem free."

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Fantastic Safari at Kapani Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2007
"Everything was well organised and all staff were very friendly and welcoming. The accomodation was very comfortable and food excellent. Our guide was Abraham Banda who was delightful and must know everything there there is to know about South Luangwa - a privilege to meet him.

We were amazed by the number and variety of animals and birds and had lots of unforgettable experiences - leopard with cubs, crossing the river at sunset, walking safari, feeling of wilderness - could go on and on!

Our visit to Yosefe School was very interesting and gave us an insight into the "real" Zambia of 2007."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Mukambi Safari Lodge

"Good stopover en route from Lusaka to Senanga"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2007
"A Voyager representative and driver, Caesar, were meeting us at Lusaka Airport with confirmation of details of drive from Lusaka to Livingstone via Senanga and an emergency telephone number.

It was an excellent tarred road all the way from Lusaka and took three and a half hours to drive. The solar heated showers were excellent. Having a hippo and warthog sleeping on the deck was something different!

We were not able to fully assess the activities available during our short stay but enjoyed the sunset cruise."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Senanga Safaris

"Senanga Safaris, well placed for return trip."

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2007
"The road from Mukambi to Monga was an excellent tarred road all the way except for the section between Kafue National Park and Kaoma where there were several pot holes - took four hours to drive. From Mongu to Senanga it was a tarred road except for approx 20 - 25 kms in the middle which were very poor - had been tarred but now almost completely broken down. Total time for the drive Mongo to Senanga was one and half hours. We filled up with petrol in Kaoma and got Kwacha from the ATM at the Zambian Commercial Bank in Mongu but the bank, Craft Centre and Lozi Museum were all closed as it was Sunday

The accomodation was good with mosquito net, air conditioning, fridge, TV, flush toilet and water in the sink but not enough for the bath (with hand held spray) and not hot. The food was very basic and the service was poor compared with other places. The swimming pool was out of commission and we did not ask about activities and none were offered.

Litambya hospital buildings and the staff houses are as I remember them from 1970 - 72, but it was very sad to see their poor state of repair. There is now a large Government Hostpital at the Boma and Litambya treats only TB and Leprosy and a few psychiartric patients. I was delighted to meet one of the cooks, Mr Tabo and his wife who worked at Litambya when I was there and the TB nurse, who was a pupil at the Secondary school then and remembers some of the teachers with whom I keep contact.

Tabo's daughter, Namakau, took us to the local market (where we bought some baskets) and the Secondary School where the headmaster was delighted to give us a tour. He was very enthusiastic and seems to be doing a good job but lack of funding again an issue. We hoped to visit the "new" hospital but ended up using their facilities - Alison went over her ankle, heard it "crack" so was keen to get it x-rayed before putting weight on it - all accomplished without too much problem - and no bone broken, thank goodness!

I was so pleased to be able to re-visit Senanga and Tom, Alison and David to see where I worked in the 70s. Having Namakao and Caesar to assist us made the visit very enjoyable. It seems incredible that getting to Senanga is more difficult now than in the 70s when we had a plane twice a week from Lusaka."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Mutemwe Lodge

"Great welcome at Mutemwe Lodge"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2007
"The drive from Senanga to the pontoon (cost 40,000 kwacha) took 30 minutes and there was a short delay as an army truck had stuck in the sand coming off the pontoon. The road south of Senanga was very sandy and difficult to drive - we were fortunate that we were in a Toyota Hylux and that Caesar was such a good driver. It took us about 2 hours 30 minutes to drive from Senanga to Ngonye Falls.

We stopped at the National Parks Office, walked down to the Zambesi with a guide and took a mokoro across to see the main Falls - well worth seeing and took about 2 hours. It was then a 2 hours drive to Mutemwe - road very difficult in places.

The Johnstons made us very welcome and the tent accomodation was excellent. We went on a sundowner tiger fishing trip, bird watching and had brunch(including champagne!) on a white sandy beach on an island in the Zambesi. The highlight for David was catching a tiger fish.

They are now organising trips of approx 3 days from Mutemwe to see the Kuomboka Ceremony."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Songwe Village, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Songwe, a real village feel but with mod-cons"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2007
"It took about 1 hour 15 minutes to drive from Mukambi to Katima Mulilo on a very sandy dirt road. Good tarred road from K.M to Livingstone which took just over 2 hours.

The village has a fantastic situation over-looking gorges below the falls and Dorothy and Emanuel made us feel we were their personal guests. Best showers of whole trip! - water heated by wood fire at each hut morning and evening! I don't suppose I'll ever again watch an African sunset from a luxurious bubble bath savouring a gin and tonic! We were very impressed by Dorothy's garden and appreciated her fresh vegetables.

We learned a bit more about Zambian customs on the traditional evening and on the visit to a local village and of the history at the Songwe museum and David Livingstone Museum in Livingstone. Abel was a friendly, helpful and knowledgable guide and no mean drummer!

Alison and David were thrilled with the white water rafting as were Tom and I with our helicopter trip over the Falls. Victoria Falls are spectacular even during the dry season and just as I remember them - except it was easy to cross into Zimbabwe in the 70s to see them from that side. I took a photo from exactly the same spot as I took one in 1971 - I could not believe it when we turned a corner and saw exactly the same view as 35 years ago - even the tree is the same!

We would have no hesitation in recommending Songwe Village as a great place to stay - perfect venue to end our holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team