This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge

Reviews of Kapani Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kapani Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Mr T
Hertfordshire

"kick off"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2008
"From the first ice-cold towel and drink to the final drive away, everyone at Kipani could not have been more friendly, helpful, and generally enthusiastic. (Perhaps the chocolate helped!!)

My guide on this stage was Rose,and she proved excellent at interpreting the things we saw, and was good company at mealtimes." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Oxfordshire

"First stop Kapani Lodge"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2008
"Amazing starting location for our trip. A great break in before heading out to the bush camps. Met lots of friendly staff and guides making our stay warm, welcoming and a good taster of what was to come next.

food was spectacular and we are in awe that such superb food can be created in such settings.

Elephants right outside the lodge only added to such a wonderful beginning." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Paul
North Yorkshire

"This was a superb place to begin the safari -"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2008
"The people here were so welcoming and the setting/facilities (especially the food) were all wonderful. We only spent 2 nights there but it seemed like we had been on holiday for ages !

Some wonderful night safaris - our guide (Widdy or Willy?)was brilliant. Definitely an ideal place to go if like us you had never been on safari. later realised how much the guides went out of their way to avoid the 'crowds'." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Scrub hares
London

"A great basecamp in South Luangwa"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"Despite being the largest lodge of our trip, there was a real family feel at Kapani. The guides were excellent and ensured we made the best use of our shortish time here: Innocent took us for a wonderful walk during which we met our first giraffe, and Rose (Zambia's first and only woman guide) introduced us to our first pride of lions.

The accommodation is older at Kapani, but totally charming, and the location magical. The swimming pool is a lovely bonus (though a bit cold for us in the Zambian winter!). In addition to Innocent and Rose, we were very well looked-after by Diane, a visiting manager from New Zealand." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Hadeda
UK

"Kapani Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2008
"We picked Kapani Lodge because we wanted a mid-holiday break from the more "rustic" atmosphere of the bush camps (ie it has mains electricity and mainstream facilities). It fulfilled this role very well - it was a very comfortable base for a couple of nights, with some very good staff (the new zealand hostess whose name i have forgotten in particular). Our guide Simon was we thought the most knowledgeable of our entire trip.

However on the downside the convention of having the guide eat with the guests at every single meal we thought was misguided (if there are just two of you to chat with your guide this can become wearing after a while - is it necessary to spend all day in the company of one's guide?).

The camp had also just bought a new game-viewing vehicle from India - it was without doubt the most uncomfortable one i have ever sat in. The game-viewing - though good - is also very crowded at this end of the park. At times it can feel like you are one of ten land rovers pursuing the same leopard!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr N
Southampton

"Kapani Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2008
"Being allocated sitting at brunch and dinner with the people you had spent time on game drives was unnecessarily restrictive.
We found it less intimate than the bush camps and in retrospect would not have spent 2 nights there.

The game drives from Kapani suffered due to the volume of other traffic, particularly night drives. Advise clients that game drives in the early morning and after dark can be cold at this time of year and necessary warm clothing is required. Simon was a very good and knowledgeable guide.

We enjoyed our visit to the local Yosefi school. We were very impressed with the headmaster who showed us around and the teacher that we met. It added another dimension to our visit to Zambia." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bushcampers
UK

"Good place to start, fantastic animals"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2008
"Food and staff excellent, friendly without being overrbearing. The guide, Brian was excellent, personable, knowledgeable.

Animal sitings were excellent for our first day - lions (cubs and male), Elephants, Hippos, Zebra, Kudu, Warthog, Eagles, Baobab tree (personal ambition of mine). Slightly overshadowed by our later experiences at the bushcamps." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The Firefinches
Kent

"Kapani Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2008
"As before - the room overlloking the lagoon made it a bit special" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Wild dogs
Kinross

"Kapani Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2008
"Kapani is an excellent lodge for some game drives pre or post going to the bushcamps. For a 7+ day holiday in the Green Season it provides a good mix of drives then walking/boat trips. The lodge was very busy over Easter weekend but never felt crowded and generally there was an excellent atmosphere.

The rooms were bright and spacious. Being fed by mains electricity meant that the pool was larger than normal for a safari lodge, very clean and excellent for spending afternoons reading books.

The food is probably the outstanding feature of Kapani with excellent variety and choice." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The Firefinches
Kent

"Kapani Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2008
"What a wonderful setting and excellent staff who were always there when you needed them but not "in your face". We felt as if we were very welcome and almost part of a family.

When we came back to Kapani after going into the bush for a few days we had a pleasant surprise - a room upgrade looking over the lagoon, and just perfect" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Kapani Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
13
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (276 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa