This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Bushcampers from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic!

Zambia between 9 Jun 2008 and 21 Jun 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"The overall experience of our trip exceeded our expectations - it was fantastic! The bushcamps were brilliant, we loved the way they were constructed - rustic but not primitive. They also blended into the environment, particularly Luwi which couldn't be seen from a few hundred yards away.

Game viewing was very good both from the trucks and on foot. Highlights whilst walking were being checked out by a huge bull Elephant, being within a herd of Buffaloes and hearing lions close by. The was best about the walks was the bird life and all the smaller things such as foot prints, insects and animal droppings. The guides were so knowledgeable about all things we encountered. We also felt extremely safe whilst out walking.

Whilst in the trucks we encountered all the big game including 5 male lions on a hippo kill.

As far as the camps go we loved the fact they all had different characters and construction. The hosts and staff were brilliant and the food top draw. The guides were excellent - very friendly and knowledgeable. Would we go again - definitely! Thanks to everyone."

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Good place to start, fantastic animals"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2008
"Food and staff excellent, friendly without being overrbearing. The guide, Brian was excellent, personable, knowledgeable.

Animal sitings were excellent for our first day - lions (cubs and male), Elephants, Hippos, Zebra, Kudu, Warthog, Eagles, Baobab tree (personal ambition of mine). Slightly overshadowed by our later experiences at the bushcamps."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Middle of nowhere - great!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2008
"The rooms were quite 'rustic' but enhanced the experience greatly.

Sam the guide was excellent (recurring theme) and we had some wonderful sitings including leopard, huge crocadile and large bull Elephant. And not forgetting the ancient Baobab tree.

The walks were very informative and thoroughly enjoyable. Staff also arranged candle lit dinner for us - thank you."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Great setting - lots of hyenas!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2008
"Loved the decking - sit outside after sundown without being in danger. Best porridge. Again the guide. Shaddy was excellent.

Wildlife excellent including Mopani bees nests on decking, watched for ages. Fantastic sitings of a buffalo herd, eagles and Eagle owl."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Great outlook - hippo serenade"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2008
"Loved the communal decking/bar area. Fab view out of chalet, the shower was a bit weak and took ages to heat up though."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Wonderful Ebony grove and chalets"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2008
"Fantastic setting and great chalet, Una made use of the bath! Richard and Susi were very good hosts making us very welcome even doing a candle lit dinner for two when we were the only people in camp.

They also arranged an impromptu barbecue for us all on the river bank - great success. Levy the guide was as all guides excellent. We saw a pride of 5 male lions on a hippo kill surrounded by 30 odd vultures and 15 hyenas!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"Awful"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2008
"This was by far the worst part of the trip. The hotel was 25+ K from the airport and they forgot to pick us up. We had to phone them to come and collect. This took about an hour. They tried to charge us for the room and once shown to the room moved us to another across the hall a quarter of an hour later. We could have been in the shower. The reason given was that the original room had a 'connecting room'. The room was identical in every way.

The room was really quite small and in both cases only set up for one person. When I queried if it was a 'superior' was told that we had been upgraded to an 'executive'! The mini bar was empty in both cases. This room was also noisy at night, I think this was caused by air conditioning units below.

The staff were generally surly and unhelpful particularly in the Business centre which we used to book our flight seats. We were ignored at bthe bar until I made a point of waving at the staff standing around doing nothing. In the resturant we were told a table would be ready in 10 mins but had to wait at least an hour.We made it clear that if there was to be a wait we would use one of their other resturants. Later we ordered a nightcap and were given a choice of whiskys. We chose Jamesons. The drink provided was clearly scotch which is much darker than Irish. We complained but were presented with the bttle of Jamesons which they perported to have used by the bar manager. Being quite tired and frustrated by how we accepted the drink as scotch, paid £7.50 a shot and the waitress then tried to take the drinks away! We retired to the room with the drink.

We had already enquired about the transfer to the airport and were told that the earliest trip was 5.30 for our flight at 8.55 but breakfast would be available from 5.00 am. At 5.05 we turned up for breakfast to find the room in darkness. We found a waitior who kindly provided us with coffee and toast. This was the only 'good' service we received.

We were then asked to check out and were again given a bill. After much palavar they agreed we had paid but had to ask if everything was OK. It was truly an awful experience and if this is what international hotels are like, give me bush camps every time!"
Terrible
Location
Poor
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team