This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge

Reviews of Kapani Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kapani Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 61-70 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
The Hammerkops
Stoke

"Kapani Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Mar 2008
"This was a couple of nights stay after Mchenja and prior to leaving for Lake Malawi. The same comments apply as stated previously. If we visited in the wet season again I think we would prefer to spend more time at Mchenja primarily because of the availability of going on boat and foot safari which is a really good combination for close-up bush experience.

Norman Carr Safaris do have a consistent and well tuned 'product' which includes not cramming too many bodies onto the vehicles which we have often observed with other camp safari vehicles in Luangwa and the Lower Zambezi park." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Hammerkops
Stoke

"Kapani Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2008
"We specifically visited Luangwa at the end of rainy season on this trip in order to experience and contrast the gorgeous greenery of the bush and the full river with the scorched but open bush of July. It was excellent fun and very worthwhile; plenty of game which kind of strolls out of a clump of bush unexpectedly. Wonderful bird life - whatever you do take a good pair of binoculars. Our guides Abel and Aubrey were of course excellent and amazing at spotting the birds - we can spot a Hammerkop at 10 kilometres now!

We were, through choice, at Kapani for a total of 5 nights which on reflection was perhaps a bit too long for the wet season since many vehicle tracks are impassable thus preventing the Landcruisers to range far and wide as in the dry season. It would make for interesting variety to drive out as far as possible and go walkabout as at Mchenja. Do visit the school.

Even though staff do change over at Kapani there is the same delightful ambience. Rosie was a wonderful hostess to us and everyone else. Thank you to Mr A Banda who expertly runs a very first rate operation." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Lion
Maine

"Enjoyed our stay at Kapani"

2 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2008
"South Luangwa National Park is a wonder and Kapani Lodge is a good place to stay. The staff here were thoroughly accommodating. Our guide Shaddy had a remarkable knowledge of birds as well as mammals.

The bungalows are huge. We had more insects and "Doom"-defying large spiders here than any of the other 12 or so places we stayed during our holiday. We even had a scorpion. The rooms could use a bit more sweeping out of spider webs and the like. Or, maybe that's just how the bush is!

The food was especially good. The pool was of an ample size--not just a plunge pool.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V
Cornwall

"A sensible choice for the green season"

4 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2008
"On arrival we had a poblem which the Lodge manager (Steve) sorted quickly efficiently and to our satisfaction without making us feel uncomfortable." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr W
Nottingham

"Kapani Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2008
"Rooms, food and all facilities were good. The only minor point that disappointed me slightly was that I was not allowed to go on a walking safari on the first morning as they couldn't get a scout and they were asked at lunchtime the day before.

It was sorted out for the following days but I expected to be able to go walking when I wanted because that is how they market themselves, as experts in walking safaris." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Beckenham

"Great setting, but needs improvements"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2007
"Unfortunately, Kapani was a disappointment.

Yes, the lagoon lodges were more spacious than our previous accommodation, but they weren't very clean, and very much needed sprucing up. We had to ask the staff to clean the bathroom before we used it. The toilet seat was dirty, and parts of the shower hadn't bee cleaned for weeks, and the bath mat clearly hadn't been changed since the last occupants. Also, some of the seat cushions were dirty. Admittedly, they took these away very promptly, but never replaced them!

The food at Kapani was nowhere near as good as the other lodges, and the staff much less attentive. Our guide was not as good either.

To us, it seemed as if no one was in overall effective charge at Kapani. This may have been the case, as we heard from a reliable source (his mother and father!), that, David, the current manager at Flatdogs would soon be taking up the position of general manger at Kapani. Hopefully he can make a difference.

Don't get us wrong, Kapani wasn't bad, but we wouldn't go back there and wouldn't recommend it to anyone - at least not without being assured that it had improved." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr Firefinch
UK

"A Fascinating School Visit"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2007
"Returning to Kapani was like meeting old friends again, although we met many new people. Our chalet overlooking the lagoon and adjacent to the swimming pool was splendid.

Besides some game drives we were very pleased to have the opportunity to visit Yosefe School to meet the head and some of his staff and to meet some of he children in their classrooms. The challenges created by large class sizes (an average class size of over 50), the high proportion of pupils who are orphans and the shortage of basic resources were very sobering, but the sense of commitment shown by the staff and the enthusiasm of the pupils was very clear.

We also made an interesting visit to the workshop and showrooms of Tribal Textiles, an enterprise employing many local people, which produces beautiful textiles using traditional designs.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S R
London

"Comfort at Kapani"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2007
"You have to be ready for a lot more people than at the camps!

It was very comfortable and we liked having a swimming pool.

Abraham went out of his way to ensure that we had a walk in the afternoon on the last whole day of our stay. There was no scout available in the morning so we had to drive but he made up for it by going out early afternoon for a walk with us.

" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr Firefinch
UK

"A Superb Introduction to South Luangwa"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2007
"The drive from Mfuwe Airport to Kapani Lodge made a fascinating start to our holiday with all the colourful sights of a vibrant community all the way along the road. We were given a splendid welcome at Kapani and were soon into the round of activities of the holiday starting with an excellent brunch, followed by a siesta and then a game drive which continued after dark with a spotlight to observe the animals.

The sightings on our first drive were superb: a profusion of hippos and crocodiles, frequent sightings of antelope (mostly impala and puku), a pair of old bull buffaloes, a wealth of bird life, particularly water birds and the ubiquitous African fish eagle, and, after dark, several sightings of hyena close to the road. We had an excellent view of two lionesses with their cubs and, after dark, a fine view of a male lion who sauntered past our vehicle completely unconcerned by our presence. We stopped for sundowners next to the river and were impressed by a group of six bull elephants who came down to drink and then waded across the river.

The next morning we had our first view of the large numbers of carmine bee eaters who nest in holes by the river side as we set off on our long drive into the bush to Luwi.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms N London
UK

"Kapani Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2007
"Please see first page!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Kapani Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
13
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa