This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs V from Cornwall

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2013 trip

Kenya between 11 Oct 2013 and 20 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"I am pleased we took Richard's advice to spend our first day at the Emakoko Lodge in Nairobi National Park, it gave us time to 'catch our breath' and relax before heading out into the bush.

The two Offbeat camps were just the safari experience I wanted for the family and we had some brilliant sightings.

This was a special family trip which lived up to all expectations with some wonderful memories."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The beautiful Emakoko Lodge"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2013
"With the early flight into Nairobi it is a good option to have a full day in the National Park and stay at the beautiful Emakoko Lodge which is in a stunning setting.

It also gave us the opportunity to visit the David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage which is a must."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Offbeat Meru

Offbeat Meru

"An oasis in the park"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2013
"Tanyth and Sean were excellent hosts at this little oasis in the Meru National Park, which they ran with unobtrusive clock work precision to create a very relaxed camp with a lovely atmosphere.

Our guide Stanley was freindly, happy, knowledgeable and a good spotter

The pool was a delight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

"A true safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"A different experience to its sister camp in Meru but nonetheless excellent. A very relaxed camp which ran well with a variety of options for drives including the day drive into the Maasai Mara National Reserve.

Our guide Josephatt was a charming knowledgeable guide who did his utmost to give us the best possible view of any sighting.

A leopard at last!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A three camp desert exploration

Botswana between 2 Oct 2008 and 14 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"The overall experience was better than expected and the trip gave us a further insight into Botswana"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

"Great new lodge"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2008
"Refurbished and re-opened June 2008. Stylish well proportioned rooms with a wide balcony overlooking the dry river bed and water hole. Well worth the two hour drive from Maun, however, an airstrip is being planned.

Excellent friendly atmosphere from both camp and management staff. First rate open vehicles for game drives.

The lodge has a small privagte concession within the park which is improving its road network to enable better game viewing.

The zebra migration herd was spectacular."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
San Camp

San Camp

"Stimulating wilderness experience"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2008
"Accurately described in brochure.

Plans to update mess-tent, but the current accommodation is true safari experience.

Guides have encyclodaedic knowledge and lead you through a variety of stimulating experiences.

The camp is for desert devotees but we did see game, notably aardvark, brown hyena and aardwolf!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Deception Valley Lodge

Deception Valley Lodge

"Remote Kalahari destination"

4 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2008
"Well established spacious lodge with a watering hole. An ideal lodge to end your holiday to take time to relax.

The night drives and off roading are especially welcome.

Were lucky to see the black maned Kalahari lion in numbers.

Our pre-arranged day trip into the CKGR was a long and tiring day but well worth it for a better understanding of the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

1st trip with you and you delivered, thankyou

Zambia and 1 other country between 15 Feb 2008 and 1 Mar 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were the first of the season visitors at Mchenja with new camp managers, Richard and Susie. There were frought moments for them but they handled them well and we wish them every success.

Our flight and road transfers worked well and we should like to mention Geoff Chilongo who met us each time in Lusaka airport and smoothed our passage through.

Selinda provided two high spots, a cheetah stalk and kill and a group of 3 lionesses with 7 cubs. Lagoon provided the ultimate highlight of our trip with good sightings of a pack of wild dogs. Although the camp is beginning to look a little dated, this however is to its advantage in that it deters the spa safari clientele."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"A sensible choice for the green season"

4 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2008
"On arrival we had a poblem which the Lodge manager (Steve) sorted quickly efficiently and to our satisfaction without making us feel uncomfortable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"A beautiful bushcamp for the adventurous"

3 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2008
"We thought the camp staff tried really hard to ensure that we had a good experience.

The guides were very client aware and expert.

There was a good team spirit in the camp, which became evident when circumstances called for everyone to pull together."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Luxury in wild surroundings"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2008
"Very happy, friendly and welcoming staff.

Inspite of wet season we had very positive game viewing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Great camp for commited wildlife enthusiasts"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2008
"The purpose of our safari at Lagoon Camp was to see wild dogs. Through the excellence of our tracker Atang and our guide "General", they turned a chance sighting into an encounter with the full pack on day one. The next day we tracked them to their well hidden resting place for more observasion and later in the day returned to follow them at hectic pace through the bush on their successful night time hunt. The dogs flushing out a pangolin during their hunt.

In all a very special experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"Excellent stopover hotel"

1 night Arrived 29 Feb 2008
"You were correct in stessing the importance of physically booking the airport shuttle bus and its timing."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team