This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T from Hertfordshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

A memorable safari

Zambia between 17 Mar 2013 and 30 Mar 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"I had been to Luangwa before, so knew roughly what to expect, and was not disappointed generally. There was not a great quantity of game around (or at least visible), which is perhaps to be expected at this time of year, but everyone tried very hard to ensure a good safari, and the river boat trips provided a very novel experience.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the area, and both RPS and NCS, to anyone contemplating a "real" Africa safari.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I think you do a pretty good job as it is, no changes necessary."

Nkwali

Nkwali

"A great start"

2 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2013
"I was offered Robin's House so that I would not be disturbed by building work on the main camp pool. I thought this was a very thoughtful gesture by RPS, and appreciated it.

I was looked after during my stay by Christobel and Obi, and both could not have done more to make sure everything went well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Drama at lunchtime"

4 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2013
"Braston, Isaac and all other staff made sure everything went well during my stay of 4 nights.

The elephants crossing with a baby outside the camp, with a crocodile in waiting for any mistakes provided an exciting addition to lunch."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Lovely to return after a few years"

4 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2013
"Again, Aubrey, Enoch and all other staff could not have done any more to ensure my stay was as pleasant as possible, in spite of the paucity of game on some walks.

The surprise brunch in the bush at the end of a morning walk, and the special arrangements they made for my last dinner on the river bank ensured a memorable end to a lovely stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Leopard at last!"

1 night Arrived 28 Mar 2013
"My 12 day safari ended with a night back at Nkwali, and a very enjoyable morning drive with Julius which finally resulted in a classic view of a young leopard stretched out on a tree branch, and two magnificent male Kudu. A very good ending to almost two weeks in the bush in a lovely part of Africa.

Again, all the staff at Nkwali ensured a really pleasant stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"A good last night"

1 night Arrived 29 Mar 2013
"This camp provided a good last evening stop before flying out the next day.

The only down side was the apalling road to reach it, made more comfortable in the morning by the use of a Land cruiser."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Luangwa doesn't disappoint

Zambia between 30 Aug 2008 and 11 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"From start to finish, the whole trip went very smoothly, with all movements linking seamlessly, especially in the bush where the logistics of moving people and supplies around between camps must be a nightmare. Congratulations to the unseen logistics team.

As far as the safari experience went, the whole holiday was a marvellous experience. I consider it to be a privilege to be lucky enough to visit places as wild as Luangwa with such a high level of comfort, and with such friendly people, whose sole aim seemed to be my enjoyment. Poor Theresa was distraught when previous guests ran her out of Mosi, but we made do with red wine OK, until the truck arrived next morning with fresh supplies.

I know Anna was in the bushcamps at the same time as me, but unfortunately our paths never crossed. I hope her experience was on a par with mine. I returned home a happy bunny with lovely memories of a great part of Africa, apart from the Tetse bites which still itch a little!

Thankyou all.

Suggestions for improvement:

It is always helpful to have an up to date indication of tipping levels, and the fact that dollars are acceptable virtually everywhere.
Similarly with extra expenses eg airport/flight taxes. Then one can ensure one has the correct amounts available in the necesary denominations, with no nasty surprises at barriers.

There was a lot of uncertainty as to the obligation to tip or not, the armed scout ,as he is not employed by NCS. The requirement to tip the guide separately is covered in Chris's book, but perhaps all the above could be swept up into the 'Notes for travellers' booklet"

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"kick off"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2008
"From the first ice-cold towel and drink to the final drive away, everyone at Kipani could not have been more friendly, helpful, and generally enthusiastic. (Perhaps the chocolate helped!!)

My guide on this stage was Rose,and she proved excellent at interpreting the things we saw, and was good company at mealtimes."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Her father's daughter"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2008
"It was a pleasure to be met by Pam, who made her only guest that day very welcome. Only a brief chat over lunch before she took her time off, but very enjoyable. Monica and Theresa took over so there were more chiefs than indians that day. I thought the rooms at Nsolo were charming with an outdoor bathroom to die for!

A very interesting walk with Shaddy ensued, followed by a lovely evening meal which I was beginning to realise was an NCS trademark!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"noisy hippos; great people"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"My main contacts during my stay here were Lucinda and Aubrey, and again, no one could have been more friendly and helpful. Some really great sightings of lion, especially with the 5 cubs. My favourite is the one with leopard markings, which I had never seen on a cub before. I'm sure not many can look like that.

With all Africa around us, Lucinda and I ended up discussing Rocking Horses!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"just possibly the lovliest setting, but close"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2008
"Monica and Abel looked after me very well, and watching the leopard walking the sand bank is an abiding memory of this camp. All the camps had their own charm, but the setting for this one with the large trees and flowing water is lovely.

A great memory has to be the leopard up a tree, and getting bogged down near lions - I was amazed how little interest they took in all the activity so near to them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2008
"Theresa and Paul combined to make this a really nice stay, but again, the abiding memories are thanks to the animals - to hear a lion roaring just yards from the room at 4.30 am is truly awesome as the saying goes."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Final day"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2008
"Back with Diane and her team of cooks who must work 24 hour days! I was lucky enough to go out in the evening and the following morning with Innocent, and the morning game drive especially, with just the two of us, was magical. 10 giraffes even before getting to the park, then hundreds of buffalo in a wet dambo, followed by my first sighting since 1974 of massed Carmine Bee eaters, always with the sun in the right position for photos! And on the drive back a mile or so from camp, elephant just off the road in a final goodbye!

I have had many game drives in several countries over the years, but that one was truly memorable - thank you Innocent, and also for the samples for me to polish (I'll send you the photos!)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2008
"Lusaka has clearly develped a lot since I was last in town, when I remember it took almost two hours to get a Coke at the poolside bar of the then best hotel in town! My stay there , and transfers to and from the airport, were without problems."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team