This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge

Reviews of Kapani Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kapani Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Ms W
Bedfordshire

"Great place to start your safari"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2011
"Only negative was that the pool was out of action and one of the reasons we have chosen to stay here was because of the pool (especially because of the nephew and nieces).

Abraham was our giude and was brillant and was our special person here, my nieces and nephews loved him.

Having been on safari many years ago we did notice that there were quite a lot of vehicles in the Park in this area.

Loved the way that they tried to make each day a little different, sundowners set up on the river bank one day and then the trip over to the park on the pontoon the next - all made you feel special.

The evening / night trips were quite long though.

The food was excellent, especially the brunch!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr E
Berkeley

"Kapani Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2011
"This is a very nice lodge – well appointed and comfortable. It is nice to be in a lodge that is on mains power. They even had a nice little mini-fridge with beverages (sodas, water, beer). The bathroom was nice with plentiful hot water. The bed was comfortable – a bit on the firmer side, but that's how I like it. There's also a ceiling fan that helps to keep the air moving, but I was there during the Zambian winter so it wasn't quite necessary, but it was also helpful in blowing any mosquitoes around. A nice touch was also some free postcards.

The other facilities include a pool, which I didn't use, a comfortable map/reading room, and a small gift shop.

The food was fine and plentiful. Breakfast was cold with cereals, fruits, breads, yogurt, fruit juices, tea, coffee; and with eggs cooked to order and porridge (which was very good). Brunch/Lunch was good with a selection of hot and cold entrees/salads. Afternoon tea was usually a nice cake and beverages. Dinner was a 3-course affair. In general, the food was very good.

Guiding was good. I had John as my guide and he was certainly knowledgeable and diligent about spotting game. He was also my host at meals.

Game drive vehicles were standard Landcruisers with 3 rows of seats. The camp was very quiet, and I basically had private game drives while I stayed here." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A&M
London

"Kapani Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2011
"see previous review [Ed: see review below!]" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A&M
London

"Afternoon tea with baboons!"

2 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2011
"Great little lodge with baboons, monkeys and elephants around! We had a lot of fun when a baboon managed to reach and touch the afternoon cake before being chased away by staff members....he looked very offended and simply moved a few meters away. He then sat there licking his fingers with a sulky look. It was hilarious for us (little less for the staff as they had to throw the cake away...).
As you walk around the grounds you meet monitor lizards and monkeys as well, which is great.

One night we were woken by a loud noise of branches being broken. We looked out of our window and at first we saw just darkness. I kept thinking this noise must have been from an elephant. We looked harder and realised that the whole "darkness" was in fact the elephant standing less than a meter away from the window. We watched until he finished his dinner and he then turn around and we were almost face-to-face with him (he was so close that he gently brushed the wall turning around). This was amazing, even at 3 am!

Our guide Brian was great and friendly and he took us around by car and on foot (at our request) even if this was not the best time for walks. I wanted to see "babies" and I did! Baby zebra, giraffe, puku, elephant, monkeys, baboon....endless list!

In a drive we stopped to watch an elephant trying to protect her baby from an unseen (by us) threat; it was really interesting as she was backing into the thick bushes pushing the baby behind her. We watched for a while but we could not see whom she was so scared of. Later on the same drive we (ehm... the guides of course) spotted a leopard on a tree quite near to the car. We watched as he slowly climbed down, stopped for a moment looking directly at us between two branches (wonderful picture!) and then gently moved away. We were quite excited as this was our best leopard sight. Unfortunately that was also the evening when a surprise champagne sundowner had been set up for us on the river and....we were late! By the time we got to the spot the sun was gone and the poor member of the staff had been waiting for us for a long time. Brian agreed with us that a sundowner can be organized at any time and you cannot ignore a leopard....

These are just a couple of details as it is impossible to describe every day in details.

Another very good idea is that at NCS they keep your group with the same guide. When we came back from Kakuli Brian was with us again, welcoming us as old friends. They also send out one car for each group (on our last day they had 3 cars out, despite there were only 7 people).

Staff and service were great. Our room , the bar/restaurant and the pool were all good. Food was plenty and very good. We liked the buffet brunch so you can have as little or as much as you like. They catered for my vegetarian menus really well.

This is a lodge and not very remote, but we knew how it was in advance. Being outside the main gate I can imagine how busy it can become in the dry season. On the other hand being close to the local village allows members of the staff to go home when off duty and probably enriches the local community as well." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
W Midlands

"A warm welcome and good game drives at Kapani"

5 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2011
"On our first night we had close views of lion and leopard as well as elephant, giraffe, zebra, impala and more. This surprised us because we thought that game would be scarce in the rainy season. It didn't rain much either! There was excellent bird watching as expected.

Our knowledgeable guide, Brian, maintained an enthusiasm on each game drive which belied the fact that he has been doing the job for years! Staff at the lodge were friendly and welcoming and the food was good. We felt comfortable, safe and looked after during our stay.

It was encouraging to see that local people were employed at all levels in the organisation. This is a refreshing change compared with many companies who seem only to employ local people in the more menial roles." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
UK

"Peaceful riverside camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"This is the busy main camp of Norman Carr, positioned near the main Mfuwe entrance to the Park, not too long a drive from the airport. Judy, the receptionist, was welcoming and helpful, and the staff were friendly and efficient, particularly Collins from the office who sorted out our return flight booking to the UK. Our semi-detached room was spacious and comfortable and the view from the main elevated deck overlooking the lagoon was most attractive. The food was very always good and plentiful.

Levy was our excellent guide, always smiling and cheerful and imparting knowledge about the animals, birds, flora and fauna in a professional way. There was plenty of game to watch and we enjoyed our trip across the pontoon to explore further into the park, particularly as there were fewer vehicles in that area. Levy was always courteous, keen to care for us and show us everything.

It was gratifying to meet David Wilson, the managing director of Norman Carr and also Abraham Banda who was shortly to undergo a trip to the UK to compete in the Wanderlust World Guide competition." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms W & Ms T
London

"Lovely to visit Kapani again"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2010
"Great as always. We had an afternoon of minor disasters and everyone did their very best to put things right. A great team! There was a large party of elderly guests staying at the lodge and we very much appreciated our separate table on a raised part of the deck.

Abraham guided us and was fantastic. We had great fun with him and we also enjoyed our visit to Yosefe school." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Norfolk

"Great introduction to South Luangwa"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2010
"Staying at Kapani Lodge was an ideal start to our holiday in Zambia. As it is quite close to Mfuwe airport it was a good base for our first two nights. There was knowledgeable guiding on both birds and animals and as the amimals are quite habituated you are able to get really close views and photos.

The team were welcoming and attentive and as a vegetarian I was very well catered for with a variety of dishes from vegetable kebabs on barbeque night to risotto, salads and wonderful cakes!

The suites are very comfortable and well equipped. Clean, spacious and cool." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & friend
Italy

"Nice start at Kapani for a great trip"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2010
"At the Mfuwe airport we have been met by our guide, Andrew, who brought us directly to a night drive, where we started with sights of lions and leopards, of course after a sundowner close to impala, baboons, birds, etc.

Arrived for dinner at Kapani, also people there (Enoch) took care about the problem I had with my luggage (that did not arrive in Lusaka with me....), and that was very reassuring.

Even if I had in my hand luggage all what I needed, at least for a few days (underwear, shirt, trousers, socks, etc.), the opportunity to use the laundry service is very useful in these cases.

We spent the two nights in Kapani having a great time and great food, as it will be for the rest of the trip in all the camps, where the food was always fantastic." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Plymouth

"Kapani Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2010
"Very impressed, the drives were great and the guide and staff couldn't do enough for us." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Kapani Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
13
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (318 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (239 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (213 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (192 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (154 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (152 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


98% (119 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (93 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (74 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (74 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


99% (69 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (45 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (29 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


95% (26 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (24 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (20 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (18 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (13 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (13 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, in an area with a range of habitats to explore on foot and by 4WD.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Luangwa

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Currently undergoing renovations, Chichele Presidential Lodge stands high within the park, with superb views, and is due to reopen in late 2022.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a more traditional property in the South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa