This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M from Norfolk

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Safari to Botswana

Botswana between 25 Jun 2012 and 5 Jul 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our first visit to Botswana and we were impressed with the smoothness of all stages of our trip."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Wild dogs everywhere!"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2012
"Our first camp in Botswana - very spacious and luxurious rooms. Friendly and welcoming staff and expert guiding. We had fantastic sightings of Wild Dog everyday of our stay, as they had set up their den very close to the camp.

Bali and Aaron our guide and tracker looked after us very well. Keeping up with the dogs while they are hunting is no easy task and you need to hold on tight as the vehicles do follow them everywhere!! But with expert driving by Bali we arrived at two kills very soon after they were made by the dogs.

We saw 7 species of antelope including Eland. We also had good sightings of both side stripe and black backed jackal. Also good birding with sightings of many raptors, Giant Eagle Owl and Kori Bustard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Excellent birding!"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2012
"Our second camp in Botswana - situated in a fantastic setting with views across an area of wetland with small fresh water channels running through. This gave good sightings of many rare wetland birds and also the opportunity of great photos of elephants which would cross the wetland daily, often stopping to drink directly in front of our room.

We saw 8 species of antelope and a night view of African wild cat, along with the usual sightings of elephants, giraffe, zebra and lion (which included a warthog kill.) By the time we left we were up to 120 different bird species including Secretary bird and Wattled Crane. Thank you to Play and Shoes our guide and tracker for focusing on these. They were always very keen to try and search for the more elusive sightings.

Very good food - Thanks to 'G' Great vegetarian choices. Charles the manager of the camp was an excellent host and always around to talk."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

"The Ultimate Bird Hide!!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2012
"After our stay at two bush camps this was a great way to relax after the rigours of safari. You can take part in as much or as little of the activities on offer as you choose. Staff are very friendly and attentive and look after you very well.
The suites are very spacious with sliding doors onto your own balcony, looking out over the Zambezi.

The top deck lounge and dining area is very comfortable with large sofas where you can relax with a beer and watch the wildlife come to you! The last night Boma dinner held under the stars on the Namibian shore was very enjoyable with traditional Botswana and Namibian food, The crew also give you a taste of local cultural singing and dancing around the fire.

Just one thing to note is that due to the Zambezi Queen being registered in Namibia not Botswana you have to exit Botswana via an immigration check point and take a small boat across the Zambezi to Namibia. You then have to walk a distance to the Namibian immigration point over fairly rough ground - so where sensible footwear!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A wonderful first visit to Zambia

Zambia between 5 Sep 2010 and 14 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip to Zambia was very well organised and all ran very smoothly. All lodges were different but great in their individual way. It was a fantastic introduction to Zambia. The recommendations of where to stay in Zambia suited us very well and the information available about each lodge was very accurate.

We were impressed with the fluidity of all transfers and how helpful everyone we dealt with was."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Great introduction to South Luangwa"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2010
"Staying at Kapani Lodge was an ideal start to our holiday in Zambia. As it is quite close to Mfuwe airport it was a good base for our first two nights. There was knowledgeable guiding on both birds and animals and as the amimals are quite habituated you are able to get really close views and photos.

The team were welcoming and attentive and as a vegetarian I was very well catered for with a variety of dishes from vegetable kebabs on barbeque night to risotto, salads and wonderful cakes!

The suites are very comfortable and well equipped. Clean, spacious and cool."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"The perfect South Luangwa safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"Had a brilliant three day stay at Kaingo Camp. You are far enough into the park that the animals behave naturally for you to feel that you are part of the 'real' Africa.

Gondwe was an expert guide, along with Ben in the evenings, which enabled us to see the elusive leopard at very close range! So close that you felt you could hear her breathe as she walked past the vehicle! She was relaxed enough for us to watch her drinking and then stalking Impala.

Derek is very passionate about the area around Kaingo and has developed brilliant opportunities to see species at very close range in the hides that he has set up. The sound and smell of the Hippos is something we will never forget! We were lucky enough to have Derek accompany us on a visit to the Carmine bee-eater hide, paddling us across the Hippo filled river!

Michelle and Brian were excellent hosts in camp, even organising a private dinner on one evening and a surprise brunch in the Ebony Grove on another occasion. Food was also excellent, particularly Michelle's home made cakes! We really enjoyed the lunches served on our private deck with the Hippos laughing in the background.

There are so many fantastic memories, two of the highlights being the wonderful leopard sightings and a close encounter with the Hollywood pride of Lions as they set off on their evening hunt with the cubs in tow."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

"Perfect post-safari relaxation"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"Staying on the Islands of Siankaba was the perfect relaxing end to our trip to Zambia. It is far enough away from Victoria Falls to feel very peaceful, but only took around 30 minutes to reach the Falls. The Islands provided both a tranquil setting and enough birdlife to keep my partner occupied! There were sightings of resident African Finfoots, four different species of Kingfisher and Orange-breasted bush-shrike among lots of others.

There are plenty of activities available or you can just sit on your deck watching the Zambezi rush by.

The staff are very friendly and attentive, but if you have a special dietary requirement it is best to keep reminding so you are not served fish for dinner, or meat at breakfast, when you are vegetarian! That aside the vegetarian menu was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team