This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge

Reviews of Kapani Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kapani Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Scrub hares
London

"Return to Kapani for our last night"

1 night Arrived 19 Mar 2010
"Nothing to add here; see previous comments [Ed: See the review below!]" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Scrub hares
London

"A lovely start to our trip at Kapani Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2010
"This was our second visit to Kapani, and we loved it as much as the first time. It's location seems even finer after the rains, when the lagoon is full, than later in the year.

Our guides - Brian and Innocent - made the most of all the opportunities for game and bird viewing, and we were very pleasantly surprised that we saw so much game at this time of the year. Of course, the birds, mostly in their breeding plummage, were fantastic

The food was excellent - we were again astonished by the range and quality - and the service generally very good (although there were a couple of slips, one when requests we made weren't followed up and one when heavy rain denuded the restaurant area of management!)." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Bristol

"Kapani lodge 4 nights, 1 night at Kakuli."

5 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2010
"It took me 19 years to get back to my favourite place in the world- the South Luangwa Valley, once again at a rejuvenated Kapani lodge and having the same guide, the infamous Abraham Banda. Nothing let me down! This was just how I wanted to experience, the best of Africa's game reserves/parks and at my favourite time of the year- the emerald season. Amazing sightings, harder work for the tracker/guide, Abraham, but this is part of the challenge.

The season brings better light and photographic opportunity in general and no dust to test my lenses and camera. This is the place to see leopard and the newly crowned king with a pride of 17 lions in tow. The kill during the famous spotlight safari, with 18 lions in a scrum trying to get their share of the kill was amazing to see and hear. Great birding opportunity, genet, serval and the regular cast.

Had the opportunity for a 'free' upgrade to KAKULI bush camp, and 2 wonderful walking safari's- part of what is the Norman Carr concept. Thank you to all concerned and it will not be another 19 years before I get back to South Luangwa!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Glos

"Good introduction to the area and wildlife."

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2009
"Kapani is a good place to start. The drives give the opportunity to get close to the animals for the views you tend not to get when walking.

Our guide, Innocent, was first class and asked us what our interests were before setting out. He was very enthusiastic about all our sightings.

Kapani set the scene for the quality of food we were to enjoy at all Norman Carr camps." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Mr L
Northants

"Fantastic safari at Kapani Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2009
"All the people we met at Kapani were professional, polite and very friendly and helpful, right from our pick up at the airport to our transfer to the next camp. Everyone was focussed on making our every experience wonderful and memorable. I particularly liked that everyone introduced themselves by name and remembered our names and used them regularly; it was a nice personal touch. My memory, however, is not as good as theirs, so it might have helped me if some of the staff wore name badges.

We stayed in one of the suites, which we weren't expecting and it was fabulous. The decor and cleanliness were outstanding and the view of the lagoon was delightful, especially as each rooms veranda and lookout were private. You felt wonderfully secluded. The excellent laundry service was much appreciated and the food was out of this world. We couldn't believe how great the catering was in such a rural setting.

We'd never been on safari before, but the guides were fantastic and catered for all levels of knowledge without making you feel like you were asking a silly question. They were also great at helping us get the best views of the animals for photographs and tried to make sure we found the animals we really wanted to see. We appreciated that all the staff wroked very hard to make our holiday wonderful, but were always cheerful and seemed to be enjoying their work. We were mainly guided by John and Ashid and they were both lovely people and brilliant at their jobs." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Kapani Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2009
"friendly knowledgable staff, beautiful location, care and attention, fabulous room

would have been nice to have airconditioning in the vehicle which collected us from the airport" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms AW
SW London

"Kapani Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2009
"Although I enjoyed Kapani lodge, I did prefer the more intimate relationship I had with nature at the bush lodge.

I also felt we should have been offered the option to walk.

Our guide, Abs was extremely knowledgeable, personable and professional." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
P family
Sheffield

"Wonderful game viewing from Kapani"

4 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"The location of the Kapani camp was very picturesque, although I woul dimagine that when the oxbow lagoon dries up late in the season this may not be the case.

Food and drink surpassed our expections and previous safari experiences.

Our lagoon suite was very spacious and comfortable although one had to be brave to visit the outside toilet at night. The standard rooms were also very well equipped although a little more 'rustic'

A visit from a family of elephants through the camp on our first afternoon was very exciting, particularly for my two daughters.
Our guide, Lawrence was absolutely lovely and very knowledgeable - he had an answer for every one of our (numerous) questions and by the end of the safari felt almost like part of our family.

The game was numerous and very 'natural' - much less commercial than South Africa. Lots of leopard, lions, hippo and the other usual big mammals but also some spectacular birds. My wife adored the giraffe and we all fell in love with the numerous babies.

The swimming pool was also a welcome addition for the afternoon laze - clean and warm for a dip in between catching up on one's sleep.

" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Rugeley

"Fantastic start to adventure at Kapani"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2009
"Excellent location, lots of animals seen even on the first night. Accommodation was excellent. With the knowledge we now have from the other camps, Kapani seemed too busy, too many other jeeps.

Camp itself was not very relaxing. Somehow felt more regimented and had to stick to quite rigid times. As it is a bigger camp, perhaps running to tighter schedules was necessary.

" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
riguss
Belgium

"Kapani Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2009
"excellent starting point into Lwanga. Probably at its best when the pontoon on the river is accessible (not our case).
Rosie is real professsional with charme.

Park guide Lawrence outstanding in knowledge touch and personal contact, the best in our trip" See all these reviews: 8n in Mozambique; 5n in Zambia; 1n in Tanzania; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Kapani Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
13
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa