This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali

Reviews of Nkwali

Wildlife sightings and reviews

238 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nkwali and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Apr-2018, 60 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nkwali.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

93% success

Wild dog

63% success

Hippo

100% success

Elephant

98% success

Giraffe

98% success

Zebra

98% success

Buffalo

86% success

Spotted Hyena

84% success

Wildebeest

27% success

Eland

9% success

Roan antelope

6% success

Aardvark

5% success

Sable antelope

5% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 238
Duration
Arrival date
Miss Sandra
London

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2023
"The camp staff was very friendly and the sightings were awesome.

We also really enjoyed having dinner with the other guests at a common table - I really feel that this is what safari is about, sharing stories and meeting other people from around the world." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

9 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Miss S.
Brockenhurst

"Nkwali review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2023
"I really enjoyed my recent repeat visit to Nkwali, seeing many people that I have met before which was great.

There is a lovely new bar and bigger deck area.

The only thing that I found difficult were the steps up from the river, quite steep and uneven in height!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs M
Italy

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2023
"Spacious wonderful chalet, with full view of the river and wildlife" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
T&N
Ohio

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2023
"Nkwali was our first stop in South Luangwa and I couldn’t imagine a better place to begin. The staff was so welcoming, especially Sorrell and Kiki and our guide, Victor.

The chalets were spacious and comfortable, and well set up for the evening by the staff. The common areas overlooking the river and the hippos was a perfect way to start the day.

I really enjoyed the large common dining table that was used for dinners (and one lunch), we had a great time talking with our fellow travelers and some of the staff during meals." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Miss P
London

"Nkwali review"

7 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2023
"Another excellent stay at Nkwali. The rains had been late, and the river was high, with areas under water that had been accessible on my previous trips around this time. This allowed us to enjoy an afternoon boat trip one day to explore one of the flooded lagoons (Wamilombe), which was very interesting, and we had an unusual sighting of a female impala swimming in the middle of the river!

The wild dog sightings were excellent, as ever. I had booked a private guide and vehicle for this trip, and really enjoyed my time with Perry, who is young and enthusiastic and has great potential. He got into the spirit of my "bird list", and we managed to spot 176 species, smashing my previous PB of 162, and with several new ones for me.

I had a few more lion sightings than on previous green season trips, including one male who came to drink from the lagoon by the dining area in camp, just as we were about to sit down for lunch! I am used to seeing elephants there, but a lion was a first for me.

I have always liked Nkwali as a camp, particularly the open fronted rooms, but it's the people that really make the place. The atmosphere is relaxed and you get a sense that everyone loves what they do. I look forward to my next visit." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs C
N Ireland

"First visit to South Luangwa"

5 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2023
"Spacious open fronted chalets, facing onto a fairly fast flowing river. I would like to return at a different time of year, when water levels are lower and more wildlife would be seen from the chalet.

The accommodation was good. I had been a little concerned that not being fully enclosed by canvas or a solid wall, might have resulted in too many unwanted creatures in the room, but this was not the case.

Perry was our guide. He read the bush well, was an excellent communicator, and drove safely and confidently. Access to some areas was limited because of the wet conditions, so some of the drives were a little repetitive. We were very fortunate however, to have some wonderful sightings. In our first three drives we saw lions, a leopard with a fresh kill and wild dogs. Later in our stay we had a very close encounter on the road, with a breeding herd of elephants. Perry’s handling of this situation inspired confidence.

During our stay there was a short burst of extremely windy and wet weather. The staff, all of whom were excellent, dealt with this admirably. During our stay, a slight delay to one game drive was the only disruption we experienced.

Monkeys and baboons visited the camp, particularly in the after lunch period when no staff were around. We were warned not to leave out anything they might consider food." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Nkwali review"

6 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2022
"It was a pleasure to return to Nkwali and to be well looked after by Sorel and the other staff. Obe was our guide and was excellent - his calmness, experience and knowledge were much appreciated. Wilson spotted for us and we saw all the usual creatures ….. and a really good sighting of an aardvark!!!

The wild mango trees were fruiting and it was a great opportunity to see the elephants, monkeys and baboons feeding on the fallen fruit.

Staying at Nkwali in the wet season was a bit of a challenge as we never knew what we might encounter in the room at night. The rain brought out a host of insects, arachnids and assorted creepy crawlies. If you don’t like close encounters with such creatures this might not be the best time of year to visit but if you don’t mind then you’re in for an interesting time!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms S.
Haywards Heath

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2022
"This was an excellent lodge and a good choice for families.

We appreciated the swimming pool for cooling off and the chance to watch wildlife come to the lagoon whilst you are on the loungers.

There was plenty of game to view and we saw everything we were hoping for.

The food was also excellent." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Harvey and Jo
Lewes

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2022
"Returning to Luangwa, to Nkwali for the first visit, it was a very good recommendation for the south end of South Luangwa. Just outside the park, yet plenty of game in the camp either walking through or enjoying the small lagoon set 70 yards back from the river bank behind the camp buildings. Access to the park was very quick (by boat in late October when the pontoon was closed due to low water) but via steep steps on one side and sand bag path on the other, not so easy at night on the return journey. At 76, OK for us, but demanding if you have mobility issues.

The camp and chalets are lovely, high quality, small pool welcome in the heat, staff all very good indeed. Guiding was excellent, lots of game of all sorts on drives, a morning walk very informative on ecology etc. Will happily return if we can.

We were taken aback at the number of vehicles homing in on animals in this southern end of the park (we have been to centre and north only in the past), and actually backed off at night on one occasion when several cars from other camps were pressing in on lions." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr IB
Northumberland

"Lovely camp"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2022
"What a wonderful introduction to our time in South Luangwa, everything lived up to our expectations and more.

The staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful, special mention must be made of our expert guide Perry who went out of his way to make sure we saw so many wonderful things including our first sighting of wild dogs which have always eluded us in the past.

The accommodation was first class, waking up in the morning to the view of the river was very special especially on the morning when a leopard appeared on the opposite bank.

The food was excellent throughout, one lunch was made even more memorable when a family of elephant came down to the lagoon whilst we were eating.

Hopefully we'll make it back some day." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 11-20 of 238
96%
238 reviews of Nkwali by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
199
34
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (318 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (213 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (191 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (154 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (152 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


98% (119 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (93 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge is now the main office base for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (74 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (73 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


99% (68 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (45 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (29 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (24 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (20 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (18 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (13 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (13 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, in an area with a range of habitats to explore on foot and by 4WD.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Luangwa

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Currently undergoing renovations, Chichele Presidential Lodge stands high within the park, with superb views, and is due to reopen in late 2022.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a more traditional property in the South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa