This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro

Reviews of Lemala Ngorongoro

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lemala Ngorongoro and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lemala Ngorongoro.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

20% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

60% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Prof & Mrs C
Derbys

"A grand day out"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2013
"Tent had just been replaced. Why two 4' 6" beds rather than one 6' bed. The six foot could be split into two if needed. Only one side table in the middle of the beds so if two sleep in one bed one person does not have a table. They have to put water, torch etc. on the floor. No torch provided.

Food - very good.

Umbrella- had to share umbrella with other tents. . Difficult in the rain.

Wine Slip. Amount overstated on first night but not as bad as Mnayara. Second night I had one lime cordial, my husband 2 white / 2 red glasses of wine. Not four reds as stated." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Ilkley

"Prime location at Lemala Ngorongoro"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2012
"We picked this camp for its location on the Crater rim and quick access to the Crater floor for the day's game drive. Recommended. 'Rustic'. Slightly uneven wooden floor in the tent, but I see from your latest brochure that the tents are being upgraded this year. We had 2 nights here. Larger tents than at Kirurumu. Small and friendly camp. No view of crater but a very pleasant location anyway. chilly! Smallish mess tent with one long dining table and comfy sofas at the other end. Pre-ordered bucket showers. Phil said the hot water arrangements were a bit haphazard!

Pre-dinner drinks around the fire - blankets provided. Entertaining fellow travellers to talk to makes a difference, but of course you can't pick them - its just pot luck! We had 2 friendly German couples travelling together and a delightful Indian family - parents lived in India, 2 daughters and one son-in-law lived in America and they all met up in Arusha for a special family holiday together. We asked the German group where they were going next...they knew which area they were going to, but had no idea which camp...just reckoned it would all be in their paperwork somewhere and presumably their driver knew!

Dinner the 2nd night came with a 'surprise' dessert!..a cake made for the 36th wedding anniversary of the parents in the Indian family group, so we were all serenaded by the staff around the table. This turned out to be the first of three of these impromptu celebrations! During dinner the gas heaters in the tents were turned on and hot water bottles put in the beds. The heaters were then turned off from outside the tents, shortly after we returned to them. Cosy!

It was a very early start the next morning .. on our way with Alfred by 6am for our trip down to the Crater.. a quick and easy access from the camp. Good bush breakfast and lunch provided by the camp.

We had pre-ordered our hot water for the shower ready for an early morning start the second day - it lasts for about 10 minutes as long as you don't run it too fast (there is just a lever to pull - a voice outside the tent tells you when the bucket has been filled up! ), so we managed a shower each from one bucketful. Alfred ready and waiting for us at 6am, after our Weetabix breakfast! .. next stop Sayari Mara camp." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs G
Georgia

"Lemala Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"A nice camp on the rim. Well located for getting a good start on game drives in the crater." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Georgia

"I would not recommend this camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"Two nights in the Lemala camp was too long and too cold. I believe most people stay in lodges outside the park and I can see why. The tents are not that nice and because of the temperature and wind, they stay closed up. The food was okay, but dinner was very late and we were too hungry and cold by the time they served the meal.

Ngorongoro is interesting geologically, but not at this time of the year. It was a dust bowl with too much traffic. It simply was not that enjoyable.

Overall, we were not impressed by Lemala Camps.

Lake Manyara could have been avoided all together. It was not worth the day trip to see. Bottom line, it was a rain forest and a hippo pool." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Lemala Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2011
"Brilliant location on the road into the crater, so we were virtually the first vehicle in the crater in the morning.

We enjoyed the slightly simpler accommodation, which gives more of a feeling of being in the wilderness. The service was very friendly and helpful, but didn't quite have the smooth efficiency of some of the other lodges." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The P family
Italy

"Lemala Luxury Camp Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2011
"Tent with nothing in the bathroom working.

Difficult - impossible to re charge everithing (baeries, mobile..)" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Average
Mr J & Mr B
London

"Excellent camp with helpful staff"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2011
"A conveniently located camp, for quick access to the Crater, in pleasant surroundings.

The staff were helpful, efficient, and welcoming" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The P family
Herts

"Lemala the start of a tanzanian adventure"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2010
"On arrival at Arusha our party of 9, with ages ranging from 7 to 77, were warmly welcomed by our two guides and their safari vehicles (including plenty of cold drinks and ginger biscuits). How amazing for the two littlies (7 and 11) to see baboons along the roadside, giraffes crossing road in addition to the many Masia children herding their cattle. Our picnic at Lake Manyara was memorable and although we were all tired from our journey from the U.K. not an eye was closed as we witnessed all the animals, birds and scenery.

On arrival at Lemala - what a welcome and our tents (such fun) Loved the hot water bottles and the warming stove on return from dinner. Food was tasteful and nothing was too much trouble. The situation of the camp was perfect for an early start into the crater which enabled us to appreciate the magnificance before the hordes arrived from further afield. On leaving the Ngorongoro, whilst our guide was signing out a baboon jumped into the safari vehicle, knocked a packet of tissues out of the way and stole a packet of ginger biscuits.

Cannot give enough praise." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The H family
Surrey

"Lemala - Great location for the crater"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2010
"We stayed one night at Lemala camp before we visited the Ngorongro crater. We arrived a little late in the evening and there was a lack of chairs by the fire. The arrival briefing was a bit tedious, whilst they made you welcome they were quick to point out restrictions to the drinks menu, which given the price of the camp felt a bit 'cheap'. The tents were excellent, proper flushing toilets and hard floors. We had been warned that it was cold here and it certainly was.

Dinner was very nice atmosphere with an international feel. There were guests from the USA, Holland, Germany and Austria and everyone mixed really well. We discovered that the Dutch family were also staying at the same hotel in Zanzibar, so it was nice to make friends with them here. We thought the food was OK, however given our experience of the Nomad camp I would downgrade this to "average". Our Dutch friends, who stayed with a number of their other camps, told us they were served the same food each evening for the whole trip.

The location is excellent, there had been Buffalo in the camp during the night so the Masai "warrior" was very welcome. Something strange happened with our lunch though. I suspect we were given the wrong one as there was only enough food for three people in a party of five. Breakfast was also a bit slow given that we were trying to get into the crater early and avoid the crowds. The location is excellent for an early drive into the crater and the road down is a lot easier than the main track." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs N
Surrey

"Cold nights at Lemala Camp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"We stayed at Lemala Camp for two nights. While the position is good for an early start down into the crater, the gates open at 6am so people staying outside the gates weren't far behind us. I think that the word Luxury in the camp's name gives rather high expectations which are disappointed by the appearance of the camp (which is quite functional) and the position which didn't offer any sweeping views of the crater, just the surrounding trees.

The people were lovely, Francis is a good manager with high aspirations for the camp, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The shower water was delivered quickly and hot, which is just as well as showering has to be a brief experience when it is so cold in the shower tent. (The brochure says there are chemical toilets but we had a flush one)

Every effort had been made to make the tents attractive inside and the calor gas heaters and hot water bottles made us as comfortable as we could be but our over-riding memory is how cold it was. We had been warned but we thought it would be 'cold for Africa' rather than cold for people coming from a cold place, I don't think that you can over-emphasise this to let people know what to expect.

We didn't have time to take the opportunity to visit a local Masaai village which was a pity. We visited Lake Manyara on the way to Ngorongoro but it was the most disappointing part of our trip as it felt more like a UK safari park than a national park and was very crowded with people trying to spot wildlife." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 31
86%
31 reviews of Lemala Ngorongoro by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
11
1
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


93% (38 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (28 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


88% (23 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


90% (23 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


93% (18 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


97% (14 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (14 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


90% (8 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


94% (7 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa