This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs RW from NW London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Jan 2013 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 28 Jan 2013 and 11 Feb 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a great holiday which met all our expectations (except perhaps in Zanzibar). We will be going back to Africa with you."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

"Lemala Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2013
"This was the only mobile camp we have been to and it was very good. We chose it for its location and we were not disappointed."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

"Kusini Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2013
"The camp was run to a very high standard.

The couple running the camp were perhaps not as knowledgeable as the very best managers we have encountered but it did not spoil our experience."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

"Lamai Serengeti review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2013
"This was easily the best camp on our safari. We had previously come across Sascha and Tam when they were managing Beho Beho in 2010.

They have a degree of enthusiasm and professionalism which was not equalled elsewhere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

"Matemwe Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2013
"Location and restaurant service were both a little disappointing. Although it was possible to visit the local village with a guide, there were no facilities available outside the hotel - not even a bar on the beach.

Service in the restaurant was indifferent, probably caused by lack of training and supervision. It improved very considerably after we complained."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

First Safari

Tanzania and 1 other country between 23 Sep 2010 and 8 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We went on this holiday with very high expectations. In all cases those expectations were met and were generally exceeded. The information we received from Expert Africa was accurate and timely. We will use you again, and recommend you to our friends.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We got such good personal advice from Ellie that we hardly looked at the promotional literature. The information pack was excellent and dealt with everything we needed to know.

just one point about Zanzibar. We were recommended to take US$. in fact this was unnecessary. The shops and hotel were all just as happy with the local currency and applying the exchange rates they were quoting, paying in US$ was an expensive option. The museums were all happy with local currency too and there was no saving involved in paying in US$. Please review this recommendation."

Feedback response

We usually recommend that our travellers take US dollars on their trips to Tanzania. This is because the currency is widely accepted in all camps and beach lodges and is easy to get before you leave your home country. You are only able to get Tanzanian shillings once you are in Tanzania, from a foreign exchange or cash machine.

Most travellers will visit remoter areas for the majority of their trip where it is hard to exchange cash or stop at a cash machine. We would still recommend that these travellers have US dollars in cash to settle their bills and for tipping. If you wait until you reach Tanzania to try and get cash, you may find that you are not able to for the first part of your trip. On this particular itinerary, these traveller spent five days in Stone Town where it is easy to get local currency and where most of the smaller restaurants and shops will offer better rates for Tanzanian Shillings. In this case and for anyone spending longer than a day in Stone Town, we would definitely recommend that people get local currency and we are sorry that we didn’t mention this to these travellers. There are plenty of cash machines and foreign exchange beaureux in town where you can do this.

For travellers spending only one night in Stone Town at the end of their trip and the rest of their time out in remoter areas, they may find that it is easier to travel with US dollars which they can get before leaving home.

For further details on what kind of currency it is best to travel with – please feel free to call us and chat to a member of the Expert Africa team.


Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"Everything was at least as good as described - if not better! We saw more animals of different types than we had any right to expect. The organisation, food, service and attention to detail were wonderful. This was our first safari and it might have spoilt us for anything else.

The only negative whatsoever was the reliance on solar power for lighting in the banda. This limited the amount of available light (the bulb in the bathroom did not work). I doubt if the long term environmental advantage is particularly compelling. On the other hand Ellie recommended that we took head lights, which we did and they were invaluable in making up for the lighting deficit.

The solar heated water was fine."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2010
"We started at Mwagusi, so Beho Beho had a lot to live up to. It was of course a wonderful experience, but felt just a little over the top at times. The food was not as good as at Mwagusi, but that was a matter of taste as much as anything.

If we had not been to Mwagusi, the bush camp at Beho Beho might have felt like a more spectacular experience than it was. Again, a little over the top."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

"Beho Beho fly-camping review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2010
"See my previous comments on Beho Beho.

I am sure that most customers would regard the fly camp as spectacular. In most respects it was. However, it was a little over the top for our taste."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serena Inn

Serena Inn

"Serena Inn review"

5 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"The hotel met our expectations pretty well. The breakfasts (the only meals we ate there) were terrific and the room very good, with one exception.

The bathroom was not nearly at the standard you would expect of a hotel at this price and while this only detracted a little from the overall experience, it should be noted and fed back to the hotel management - they really do need to re-think the design. The fittings were tired, to say the least, and so their replacement should accompany the redesign."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team