This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro

Reviews of Lemala Ngorongoro

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lemala Ngorongoro and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lemala Ngorongoro.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

20% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

60% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs A
Surrey

"A cosy stay at Lemala Ngorongoro"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2015
"Although a more basic camp, we were thoroughly relaxed at the Lemala Ngorongoro tented camp. The staff were extremely welcoming and it is in a great position for early access to the crater.

The bucket showers (talking showers!) were great fun and arrived promptly when requested. The tent was very well equipped and cosy, with a heater for the cold evenings, hot water bottles and a flask of hot water for tea. The food was good but spicy - typical of local food. Wildlife visited the camp during the night, so the Masai guards escorted us after dark.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr K
Geneva

"A warm welcome on top of the cool crater"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"Even we are within the national park where animals could roam around. We felt very safe as there are massai guide around. At night, they will escort us from the tent to the main tent.

In September, the temperature is already cool in the morning and at night. The presence of heating Inside the tent plus the hot water bottle they put Under our duvet kept us nicely warm. Not to forget to mention is the food which is great.

On the negative side, I requested vegetarian meal for the trip and the camp is not aware of it. However, the next day, they has already take note and presented my vegetarian option discreetly." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Flaunden

"Big five sighting at Lemala Ngorongoro"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2015
"Another great Lemala camp at Ngorongoro. Excellent comfortable tent again with wooden floor, sofa, hot water bottles and this time a gas heater which was much appreciated in the chilly extremes of the day at altitude. Superb position with easy access to crater at 6am before anybody else. The staff were helpful and polite but seemed a little distant and less interactive than at other camps. Nevertheless, we would recommend this camp above all its competitors because of its location in the wilderness.

We encountered a number of travellers whom excluded the Ngorongoro Crater from their itinerary, for fear of too many vehicles, mass tourism and dust. This was not our experience at this time of year, when the maximum number of vehicles around a lion kill was no more than five, and all drivers were courteous to other visitors and respectful to the animals. At times, we were on our own in parts of the beautiful crater expanse which was an amazing experience.

The game viewing was excellent, despite no off-roading being permitted. 25 lion, 11 black rhino, numerous huge tuckers, hunting hyena and prolific bird life were encountered in this extraordinary geographical setting and was certainly not to be missed. Our morning departure was met with a leopard emerging from the forest on the crater rim road to complete a Big Five sighting!

Again, Ayub, our highly experienced guide for the week was outstanding for his overall care and professionalism." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The Y family
Vermont

"jump off for the Crater"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2015
"Wonderful place to stay when spending most of your time in the Crater. Common tent was dark but we only used it for breakfast and dinner.

Excellent service and great campfire circle in the eves. No view since it is in an acacia forest but you will not be there much in daylight." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The Sand Martins
Oxon

"Lemala Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"The Lemala camp enjoys a superb location on the Crater rim, inside the Park. We spent two nights there. Like everyone else at the camp, we had travelled there with our own personal guide.

The tents were very comfortable, with bucket showers on demand, and generally well equipped, although lacking a torch. It was quite cold at night, but we were comfortably warm in the tent with a gas heater and hot water bottles. The camp staff were friendly and helpful, although on occasions needed prompting, for example restocking the camp fire after dinner.

The camp's location enabled us to be one of the first people in the Crater, before the crowds arrived. The setting of the Crater floor is spectacular, and it was certainly worthwhile to spend one day there, but we have had better game viewing elsewhere. The vehicle density at sightings was uncomfortably large." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Disappointing stay in excellent location"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"Lemala is in an excellent location, right on the crater rim. However, everything else was below standard from what we have come to expect in African lodges.

It is worth staying there for the location alone and early morning access to the crater. However, go with modest expectations." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Lemala Ngorongoro camp"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2014
"We arrived in thick freezing fog which had chilled the camp right through as it is situated (as are most of the lodges and camps) high on the crater rim. We were thus not in the best of moods. The hugh tent held three double beds and they took up most of the room. The showers are hand filled bucket showers which I would imagine on a warmer day would be great- I have had many such showers in warmer conditions and they are a great safari experience. The dining tent was fine but really freezing- other guests were dining in four layers and wearing gloves! There were heaters but for some reason they were not in use on the really cold day despite our asking for them to be put on although strangely they were on the second, warmer day.

Not the best of experiences but perhaps not the camp's fault.

Once again Expert Africa did not leave a section to mention that from Manyara airstrip we were met by a Tanzanian safari company, Asilia who provided us with a vehicle and driver, Harry, who drove us on a game drive around Manyara before taking us to Lemala. He (not Lemala) then took us around the Ngorongoro crater the next day. He was experienced and knowledgeable including in birdlife and was also witty and fun to be with. The whole Asilia experience was faultless and they sound like a thoroughly modern company who have excellent policies, ethics and train their staff well- they all loved the company" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
The B family
Swindon

"Fantastic camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2013
"The camp is very well organised and although it can be really cold (take gloves and wooly hat for trip into the crater) they provide hot water bottles and a gas heater in your tent. The tent is spacious and well equipped. It is nice to have the same staff member looking after you and your tent during the whole of your stay. It is a brilliant location at the top of a quiet road into the crater - great for getting in before most others, campfire is excellent too. We had a totally fantastic time there." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The A family
Cheshire

"Lemala Ngorongoro - A Haven of Luxury"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2013
"After a 24 hour (3 flights and a drive on the rough roads from Kilimanjaro Airport) journey, the camp staff were waiting for us with warm towels, a refreshing drink and a very warm welcome. This level of service, attentiveness and friendliness did not waiver during our 2 night stay. The tents were very spacious, spotlessly clean, extremely well appointed and the beds really comfortable (my daughter likened it to sleeping on a cloud), complete with hot water bottles. In the evening and first thing in the morning the tents were warmed by calor gas heaters.

Our fellow guests were a good mix of nationalities - Belgian, Australian, Scandinavian and English - and we chatted with them over campfire drinks and dinner in the evenings. The food was all delicious (we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the camp and also had both a packed breakfast and lunch during our stay).

I graded the location as "good" simply because there is no view from the camp other than trees. However, I would really recommend Lemala Ngorongoro to everybody - it really is 5 star service and luxury camping in a very secluded and intimate setting.

The game viewing in the crater is fantastic - so many and such a variety of animals that it reminded me of being in a supermarket, with an enormous range of produce! The downside was the number of other customers - at one stage we counted 33 other vehicles jamming up the road looking at some rhino....and according to our guide, February is quite a quiet time of the year for visiting the crater!!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs RW
NW London

"Lemala Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2013
"This was the only mobile camp we have been to and it was very good. We chose it for its location and we were not disappointed." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 31
86%
31 reviews of Lemala Ngorongoro by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
11
1
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


93% (38 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (28 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


88% (23 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


90% (23 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


93% (18 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


97% (14 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (14 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


90% (8 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


94% (7 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa