This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge

Reviews of Plantation Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Plantation Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2020, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Plantation Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Hippo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
The T-R family
London

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2013
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this delightful lodge, with excellent service and food.

Wonderful guide who made sure we saw lots of game , sometimes it became rather uncomfortable in the 4x4 without any shield from the hot sun." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Lewes

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2013
"Very polite & helpful staff

Very attractive décor most particularly in the bar area" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr W
West Glamorgan

"Plantation Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"great as a place to unwind" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
New York

"Super location for Lake Manyara & Ngorongoro"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2013
"This lodge was a great start for us as it was perfectly located between Lake Manyara & Ngorongoro Crater so we didn't need to change accommodation between the game drives, and the trip to each game drive was not long at all.

It was lovely to see the villages, and stop at a few shops along the way. Unfortunately our room did not have electricity for the first 2 nights, so we were then upgraded to a suite for our last night which was beautiful - We wish the situation was resolved after the first night though as trying to get ready in the dark at 6am is not fun at all!

Food at this lodge was always excellent, and the service was good even though the staff were not as friendly as other places we stayed at in Tanzania.

The pool area appeared to be lovely, however during our stay, there was a family of 8 which took up all of the sunbeds every day, so we were unable to relax by the pool during our stay. Other reviewers warned us to check our bill properly before leaving, and we're glad we did as we were charged for a bottle of wine that we did not have!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family T
London

"Luxury at Plantation Lodge."

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2012
"Very luxurious. Beautiful setting. For us, it lacked the personal touch. The manager who received us was very keen to show us the tip box but failed to tell us that there was a swimming pool !

We were given a very warm and personal welcome at all other lodges except this one. But we enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"A cool restful haven at Plantation Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"We enjoyed our stay from the warm welcome to our departure.
Friendly staff, pleasant. bar and great food
Comfortable accommodation in a beautiful garden setting. We enjoyed our garden tour with the head gardener.

We had a knowledgeable guide, Festo, from Nomad tours who ensured we got the best out of our trips to Lake Manyara and the Ngorororo crater. we enjoyed both trips and were glad we got to both locations early.
Not as many birds as expected at Lake Manyara. Good game viewing at the crater with a good bonnet breakfast
" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
London

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"Plantation was lodge was beautiful and it was good to have a short "tent break" in between safaris!

The food wasn't quite as good as it might be - given the facilities they had available it wasn't any better than the safari camps which had to use makeshift ktichens (although to be fair, they did do brilliantly)" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O & Ms A
Madrid

"Beautiful place"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2012
"We missed one night because of a delay in our flight, but we were promoted to the suite.

Excellent location for visiting Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Ms T
Oxon

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2012
"So helpful staff led by Renata! Moshi and Zubeda welcoming from start. Wonderful suite upgrade and flexible in allowing us to stay an extra night even though lodge full. Sorry to leave.

Food rather bland for our tastes." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Plantation Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2012
"Felt more like an hotel than a safari lodge. Plantation was well run, the staff were friendly and helpful.

We were a little disappointed that we were unable to walk outside the grounds.We toured the grounds and had the chief gardener with us on one occasion to help identify plants and birds. Jacob, our Nomad guide would have had more expertize but we had the impression that the lodge did not wish him to accompany us in the grounds." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 21-30 of 38
93%
38 reviews of Plantation Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
8
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (28 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (28 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


90% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


87% (22 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


93% (15 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


97% (14 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (13 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


90% (8 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (6 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa