This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge

Reviews of Plantation Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

45 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Plantation Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2020, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Plantation Lodge.
Lion

63% success

Leopard

14% success

Wild dog

14% success

Elephant

75% success

Buffalo

63% success

Wildebeest

63% success

Zebra

63% success

Hippo

50% success

Eland

38% success

Black Rhino

29% success

Spotted Hyena

29% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 45
Duration
Arrival date
Miss G
Texas

"Georgeous Lodge!"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2015
"This place was truly spectacular yet tucked away and felt undiscovered. Wow! Food was excellent, staff very professional and the gardens were gorgeous.

They even upgraded our room! The location was perfect to see the Crater and Lake and then head out to another destination.

5 stars!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Croydon

"Great place to stay after long journey"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2014
"Arrived tired after long journey from London and trip to Lake Manyara, so we especially appreciated being told we had been upgraded to a suite.

The welcome, accommodation, grounds, food and service were outstanding: more than worth the long bumpy access track from the main road. The Lodge greatly exceeded our expectations. It is well placed for access to Ngorogoro and Lake Manyara though obvously not as close as the larger lodges on the rim." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr B
Rayleigh

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2014
"The approach to Plantation Lodge is like driving down a small dirt road across country fields, had we not had every confidence in our guide, we would have wondered where he was taking us. Suddenly green trees and shrubs appear and turning a sharp left hand corner, we were confronted by high metal security gates. Driving through the gates and down a small driveway, opened up to a courtyard, where the jeep parked and the staff were awaiting us to take care of our luggage and escort us to the reception.

As we climbed the steps it was like we had suddenly entered a different world, something like Eden. There was beautifully coloured flowers, manicured lawns, everything was so clean and pristine. The booking in procedures went well so we were taken to our Lodges. They were absolutely suburb. A million miles away from the Tented Camp experience, you might say, we were transported back to a five star hotel.

Not everything went well - my wife and I had some food preferences which were generally taken care of but not all.

Our first evening's experience at dinner was not good, the staff were not very talkative and we were made to feel that we had done something wrong. We did not even get our booked morning call with tea/coffee the following morning, good job we are not people who "sleep-in".

We mentioned these problems to our guide who must have spoken to the Management as the next evening meal was very different, same staff, but a whole new attitude. Plantation Lodge is a beautiful place but more like staying at a posh hotel rather than the personal unique way the Tented Lodge treat you, but nevertheless, an excellent comparison between our stays." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr P
Ringwood

"Great location but not so the service"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2014
"Lovely location and good rooms but not the best service on the first night.

Our driver had a word and the service was better on the second night but overall the experience was not as good as Lemala Manyara." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms C
Vista

"Glorious Plantation Lodge!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2014
"That are no words to describe the sublime beauty and serenity that is Plantation Lodge. We just came from the bush and felt like absolute queens landing in this absolute Shangri La nestled in the Ngorongoro Highlands! We each had our own stylish rooms plus a loft and a divine bathroom. We had an interesting tour from the original head landscaper/groundskeeper sharing history of the coffee plantations and the various stunning trees and bushes on the grounds. The food was out of this world and the service warm and efficient. They bend over backwards to make your stay there so special. We delighted in the bevy of cats and mascot dogs in attendance.

Take the opportunity to visit Oldupai Gorge on the way from Serengeti to Ngorongoro as it is an incredible bit of human history, thanks to the Leaky's, and is still a functioning archeaological site.

As far as Ngorongoro Crater, it has to be one of the most beautiful and magic places on earth. We were so fortunate to see several of the now rare rhino as well as a group of hyenas. Wait till you see the tusks on these magnificent elephants. So very special driving around the crater but you must stay on the circular road for viewing." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs R
Canada

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2014
"I was not feeling well here and the people went out of their way to look after me, when I didn't show up for a meal they asked my daughter if they could bring me food. They went way above and beyond. This was a lovely place to stay. It would be nice to be closer to the crater because of the length of drive to get down to the bottom. I didn't realize that once you arrived at the crater it was another hour to get down but the people more than made up for the distance.
They were so very kind.

Also the rooms were fantastic!" See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
AB
Essex

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2014
"When we arrived there was no-one to greet us and as the carport was some way from the reception we had to wait with our bags until some-one came. At reception, they claimed to have no knowledge of the food allergies which were supposed to have accompanied the booking. We went through them and unfortunately the details were not conveyed to the kitchen which then led to problems at dinner which they were not able to rectify and continued with the packed breakfasts. They managed to sort it by the second evening.

The accommodation was great - very spacious and comfortable but the little things were overlooked like no normal tea bags and bath soap/lotion containers virtually empty.

The person appointed to look after us was very helpful by contrast to the people at reception who were nonchalant." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
The T-R family
London

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2013
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this delightful lodge, with excellent service and food.

Wonderful guide who made sure we saw lots of game , sometimes it became rather uncomfortable in the 4x4 without any shield from the hot sun." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Lewes

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2013
"Very polite & helpful staff

Very attractive décor most particularly in the bar area" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr W
West Glamorgan

"Plantation Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"great as a place to unwind" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 45
94%
45 reviews of Plantation Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
9
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (43 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (37 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (27 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


91% (25 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


96% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


88% (23 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


91% (22 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


88% (17 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


91% (13 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


89% (7 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (5 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa