This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr B from Rayleigh

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Feb 2014 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 17 Feb 2014 and 28 Feb 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"I don't think that I can really commit all my expectations, experiences and wonderment otherwise I will go on and on .....

Expert Africa did a terrific job, they organised everything for a fantastic holiday, we got everything and more that we could have expected or hoped for. You are so far out of your comfort zone, after a comfortable life in UK that so see what we did, the country, how it's people live and work, the animals, just everything will stick and be remembered.

All I can say is tell Expert Africa what you really would like and not like and I am sure they will come up trumps, we did and will never reget it. I have just had the holiday of my lifetime and would highly recommend it if you only do it once, the rewards will outweigh any cost involved."

Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 18 Feb 2014
"From prior research, the Hotel looked fabulous.

We arrived on our flight from UK round 2145hrs and did not get to the hotel until around 2315hrs so not only was it dark but we were very tired. Checking in was a bit tedious even though there was only three people in front of us, everything seems to work very slowly. There were three positions behind the check in desk but only one person in attendance.

Unfortunately we also arrived at a time when it transpired that the electronic door cards did not work hence when we finally got into our room around 0015hrs and came out out to see our friends we could not get back in and had to wait 20mins for assistance because everyone had the same problem. The staff did not seem very well trained to deal with this sort of problem.

As we had a pickup at 0600 to go back to Nairobi airport our experience was not what it should have been.

After we had checked in we had organised a packed breakfast to take with us, which when arriving at 0545 the next morning was not ready as the information has not passed between Checkin and the restaurant, not good. Anyway, the hotel looks fabulous, the room was great, just the service and our our tiredness let everything down.

If it was not so far away, I would love to repeat the experience so that the Hotel could do me justice."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Lemala Manyara

Lemala Manyara (Not currently featured by Expert Africa)

"Lemala Manyara review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2014
"Well, this was the beginning of our Safari experience and in truth did not really know what to expect.

Following our flight from Nairobi to Kilamanjiro Airport, we began our experience around 1030hrs by meeting our driver/guide who in truth made a wonderful beginning to our holiday. The Lemala Camp was around a three and a half hour drive from the airport but on the way we had a tour of some of the Lake Manyara Park and by the st a wonderful picnic lunch. When finally arriving at Lemala Manyara Camp around 1530hrs to be met by a number of smiling faces who all made up feel so very special and welcome.

As the day progressed and we were shown around the Camp and to our Tents, everything we could have hoped for was realised. The tents were were laid out and very comfortable, the staff could not do enough to make our stay memorable, they helped in any and every way they could.

The food was excellent, the showers well beyond what we expected. Walking from our tents to the make dining tent in the darkness, accompanied by a member of staff, including a Masai warrior was quite magical. To hear the noises of the "Jungle" was what we called it, again was breath-taking.

We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2014
"The approach to Plantation Lodge is like driving down a small dirt road across country fields, had we not had every confidence in our guide, we would have wondered where he was taking us. Suddenly green trees and shrubs appear and turning a sharp left hand corner, we were confronted by high metal security gates. Driving through the gates and down a small driveway, opened up to a courtyard, where the jeep parked and the staff were awaiting us to take care of our luggage and escort us to the reception.

As we climbed the steps it was like we had suddenly entered a different world, something like Eden. There was beautifully coloured flowers, manicured lawns, everything was so clean and pristine. The booking in procedures went well so we were taken to our Lodges. They were absolutely suburb. A million miles away from the Tented Camp experience, you might say, we were transported back to a five star hotel.

Not everything went well - my wife and I had some food preferences which were generally taken care of but not all.

Our first evening's experience at dinner was not good, the staff were not very talkative and we were made to feel that we had done something wrong. We did not even get our booked morning call with tea/coffee the following morning, good job we are not people who "sleep-in".

We mentioned these problems to our guide who must have spoken to the Management as the next evening meal was very different, same staff, but a whole new attitude. Plantation Lodge is a beautiful place but more like staying at a posh hotel rather than the personal unique way the Tented Lodge treat you, but nevertheless, an excellent comparison between our stays."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Dunia Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2014
"We arrived at Dunia Camp after a long tiring journey which included the Serengeti.

We had some idea of what to expect after our previous Camp at Lemala Manyara, particularly as both run by the same Company. This Camp appears to be slightly larger and more spread out. Bearing in mind that our two couples had booked almost a year ahead, we found our accommodation to be at both extremes of the camp which we would not have preferred.

We found that the staff, again, could not do enough for you but it did seem to lack some of the personal touches of Lemala. One of the main issues is that there seems to be many more staff and without wearing their name badges on the outside of their clothing, it was difficult to identify them and remember their names.

We were very well looked after and any slight negative comments were minor.

There are always minor issues that could be improved (like running out of some wine and drinks) but when you remember you are staying in the animal's back garden, logistics are not always that easy."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Pole Pole review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2014
"This resort is right on the edge of the Indian Ocean. It was quite a shock to be informed, only at the time the tickets arrived, 10 days before departure, that to get to the Resort would cost us each USD20 per night's stay, which immediately added USD240 to the cost of the holiday, naughty!!

The Resort is lusciously landscaped and as it only contains seven "Bungalows" you are not going to bump into too many people, in fact, no more than 14 plus staff. Everything appears to be built using local materials which is charming, even the Bungalows seem a little "olde world" and the outside decking areas charming. The restaurant area is particularly attractive, just a pity that some of the food lets them down.

Considering this to be quite an expensive, niche Resort, meals was predetermined, no alternative choice and also as the information suggested an Italian influence, I was looking forward to Pizzas and pasta, but alas none of each and no sign of the Italian experience, the nearest we got was supposed to be bruschetta which was just chopped tomatoes and a slice of hard toast. The food was a let down as well as mysteriously the "house" wine not being available but plenty of the more expensive.

The staff were great, trying to make your stay a happy and memorable experience. When looking back it would tend to make me think that profitability is sometimes a more important issue for the owners than providing a really unique experience."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team