This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms C from Vista

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Unforgettable experience in Africa

Rwanda and 2 other countries between 12 Feb 2014 and 24 Feb 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"All the way through our trip we were grateful to individuals that gave so much to help make our vacation so spectacular. Certain people were left out in the previous feedback. I want to give special thanks and kuddos to our guides in Rwanda, Hussein, our driver guide, as well as the amazing gorilla trekking guides. Fernando was an amazing gorilla trekking quide and teacher who ensured that we had a special, memorable experience watching these amazing creatures but also learned at the same time. How did he manage to learn all of our names in such a short time, incredible! If you have any interest in gorilla trekking I would jump at the chance. It's an experience of a lifetime! And please employ the local people as porters as this helps support them in a positive way instead of poaching.

Don't put off going on safari. So many species are under pressure from humans and habitat loss to survive.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Thanks to Ellie for her patience with our labored and prolonged itinerary planning. And thanks to Claire when she filled in during Ellie's absence. We benefitted enormously from her knowledge and suggestions.

Thanks so much to all for another amazing and unforgettable trip to Africa that we will never forget!"

Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Nice hotel with beautiful grounds"

1 night Arrived 13 Feb 2014
"Average to nice hotel with friendly people and the most beautiful grounds.

Hard to believe there was so much tragedy in that area. That horror is behind them but they do not forget."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Wonderful Gorilla Mountain View Lodge!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2014
"Wonderful bungalows and fabulous grounds with the volcanoes as a backdrop. People were very friendly and welcoming. Enjoyed the enthusiastic local dance performance very much as well as the cultural village Iby'iwacu. The lodge is a fantastic place, highly recommend! Can't say enough good things about our stay here. We loved it and I want to go back!

Constructive criticism: It would be nice to give an advance warning to guests that every evening the power switches to a generator and there is a short, temporary black out. This way no one will be concerned that the power has been lost. Also, it would be better to do fresh coats of varnish on the bungalow bathroom floor when it has a couple of days to air out before the next guest arrives.The smell was a little overwhelming for a couple of days. Lastly, there is a morning rush for a quick breakfast before gorilla trekking and eggs seemed to be high in demand. But there was only 1 person at that grill and a very long line. Might consider a second pair of hands."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"same as previous"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2014
"same as previous [ Ed: see this traveller's comments on the stay here a few days earlier, below. ]"
Excellent
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Great experience at Nomad Safari Camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2014
"The camp was amazing, with a distant view of Ndutu Lake and quite luxurious for a semi-mobile camp. The beds were comfortable, lighting provided by solar lamps, hot water provided 3 times a day! The food was amazing as I have always found in safari camps. And, as always, the company fascinating. Our Nomad guide, Ally Kea was superlative with endless knowledge, entertaining stories with a quick wit and wonderful sense of humor. He made us feel so special on a daily basis. Anyone would be lucky to have him as their guide.

We were fortunate enough to experience the Serengeti from a hot air balloon and it's was an absolutely lovely perspective. Every day our safaris were exceptional and we always saw more than we ever expected partly thanks to Ally's keen eye."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Glorious Plantation Lodge!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2014
"That are no words to describe the sublime beauty and serenity that is Plantation Lodge. We just came from the bush and felt like absolute queens landing in this absolute Shangri La nestled in the Ngorongoro Highlands! We each had our own stylish rooms plus a loft and a divine bathroom. We had an interesting tour from the original head landscaper/groundskeeper sharing history of the coffee plantations and the various stunning trees and bushes on the grounds. The food was out of this world and the service warm and efficient. They bend over backwards to make your stay there so special. We delighted in the bevy of cats and mascot dogs in attendance.

Take the opportunity to visit Oldupai Gorge on the way from Serengeti to Ngorongoro as it is an incredible bit of human history, thanks to the Leaky's, and is still a functioning archeaological site.

As far as Ngorongoro Crater, it has to be one of the most beautiful and magic places on earth. We were so fortunate to see several of the now rare rhino as well as a group of hyenas. Wait till you see the tusks on these magnificent elephants. So very special driving around the crater but you must stay on the circular road for viewing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kholle House

Kholle House

"Quaint Kholle House"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2014
"This was a small, cozy hotel located right in Stone Town which is a converted old residence of a sultan's daughter. I loved the old touches such as the old tiles.

Thank god they had a/c in our room as the weather was quite hot and humid in February. Zanzibar provides an interesting history of the influence of various European countries over time and the sad look at it's role in the slave trade. Shopping can be fun at the little shops but the narrow streets are stiflingly hot.

I would go to Memories of Zanzibar and Zanzibar Gallery on Kenyatta Road for a nice selection and good prices. Drinks at sunset at the Serena was magnificent with the Dhows in the foreground. You'll impress your friends with amazing photos of that scene!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team