This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge

Reviews of Plantation Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Plantation Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2020, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Plantation Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Hippo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 31-38 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs E
East Sussex

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2011
"Amazing suite The Zanzibar to which we were upgraded, and a good swimming pool,
Enjoyable dining and excellent picnic food for our day in the Ngorongoro crater. Albert Marshall was an excellent guide and took me on an amazing game drive round the Lake Manyara park in the evening to visit the hot springs there.

Another very enjoyable visit" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Ms T
Ottawa

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2011
"Peaceful location in a rural setting. Excellent service and food.

A short drive to the gates to Ngorongoro." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr ES
California

"Plantation Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mrs M
New York

"Plantation Lodge Perfect Interlude mid-safari"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2011
"It was strange to be in a building after seven nights in tents, but the Plantation Lodge was the perfect "interlude" of civilization in the middle of our two-week safari. The grounds and gardens around the lodge are beautiful, the swimming pool is gorgeous, and the main building, restaurant, and bar area, very comfortable and chic, and the food was excellent.

A wonderful place to stay if you're visiting the crater for a day, as we did. Almost wished we had more time to "hang around" and enjoy the place, especially the pool, though it was quite crowded on a sunny afternoon.

Our driver/guide for the crater and Lake Manyara was Mtsongi, a terrific personality with a big voice and great laugh to go along with his skill as a driver and spotter." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The L family
London

"An oasis of comfort"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2011
"Having bumped along dusty roads and spent the day game viewing at Lake Manyara, we were delighted to arrive at Plantation Lodge and find the beautiful gardens and lovely buildings. The dining areas and bar were very smart with log fires for the cool evenings. The food and service were very good, and the hotel was happy to serve us a very late lunch after a morning spent in the Ngorongoro Crater (for which they provided a picnic breakfast).

The Lodge was also well positioned for the Ngorongoro Crater, notwithstanding the early start required to beat the queues at the Park entrance and in the Crater itself." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The H family
Surrey

"Plantation Lodge - friendly and convenient"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2010
"We stayed at Plantation lodge for two nights (our first and third nights of the trip) and found it excellent. Our first nights stay was in the main lodge area and the second night we were in the farmhouse which is a little further to walk. The bar was very nice and relaxed, food was fairly average and the dining room was a bit staid and quiet.

We used the pool on the first day when we arrived and it was very nice, but rather cold!

Our packed lunch was excellent, plenty of food and very tasty." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs I
York

"Plantation Lodge is a beautiful place"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2008
"Plantation Lodge was the first port of call on our debut Safari.

A great guide called Njano met us and took us for a hot lunch which was fab after a long flight. We went on our first game drive straight away round Lake Manyara, which was impressive, saw lots of wildlife including elephants everywhere - brilliant!

Plantation Lodge was beautiful, the staff were lovely, very welcoming and the food was excellent.

Our second game drive to the Ngorogoro Crater was just as good as the first day, and I even spotted a cheetah and a serval!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Bucks.

"Really good base for Manyara & the Crater"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2007
"Comfortable rooms, great food & service plus swimming pool make this a really good base - nice to stay in 1 place for 3 nights rather than moving around. Day trip into Lake Manyara National Park - Good gentle safari introduction in this relatively small park.

Half day trip into Ngorongoro Crater - Excellent! Obviously you come prepared for lots of other vehicles but other than immediately you get down into the crater we felt the level of other vehicles was okay.

The natural environment both at the top & down in the crater is stunning - well worth our trip (we actually did a full day in the crater)
Take note - the road into the crater is truly dreadful - given the amount of fees that go to the park authority it really is a disgrace." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-38 of 38
93%
38 reviews of Plantation Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
8
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (28 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (28 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


90% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


87% (22 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


93% (15 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


97% (14 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (13 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


90% (8 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (6 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa