This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge

Reviews of Plantation Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

45 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Plantation Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2020, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Plantation Lodge.
Lion

63% success

Leopard

14% success

Wild dog

14% success

Elephant

75% success

Buffalo

63% success

Wildebeest

63% success

Zebra

63% success

Hippo

50% success

Eland

38% success

Black Rhino

29% success

Spotted Hyena

29% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 45
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D.
Cambridge

"Wow"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2019
"One night was not enough!

This place is beautiful. Very high quality accommodation, food and facilities. We wished we had realised it was so good we could have stayed longer.

Perhaps Expert Africa should stress the excellence of this lodge more highly." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Dr C
Chicago

"Sublime place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2019
"Plantation Lodge is a beautiful, beautiful place with great service and extraordinary food. The rooms are spaced out over a fairly large area.

There are little sitting areas and places to relax spread across the grounds. Beautiful veranda, lots of interesting plants, trees and birds throughout. The food is truly extraordinary — the best food we've ever had in Africa.

Our only complaint was with the shower, which was anemic and had a tendency to die down to a trickle periodically." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Peaceful, beautiful gardens"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2018
"We were very fortunate to be given the Zanzibar suite. Huge room.
Nice pool and gardens, it was good for a change of pace and to relax a little.
Food good. Room had a kettle so we could make our own tea." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs B
Altrincham

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"This was proposed by Expert Africa as a great base for visiting the crater. We spent two nights here. To be honest we didnt look too closely at the details trusting Olivia to have made a good choice. Crikey. An amazing choice.

I'm sure we could have stayed somewhere less well set up, but having been here I'm not sure I'd want to. Simply amazing. Beautiful grounds, a lovely 'room' (Full suite would be closer). Staff were great and the restaurant is excellent. Met up again with a Swiss family who had been at Olivers on night 2. Far removed from the camp experience, but a very very pleasant interlude.

Trip to the Crater was relatively short allowing an early entrance and allowed us all day in there. An incredible place to visit. Hippos, lions, elephants and the usual plethora of antelope/beests. Watched lions tracking a group of buffalo, but in fact the only 'kill' we saw was a wart hog killed by hyenas (grisly but part of the experience) and the bird life was also amazing. Rhinos too far way to see from our vehicle (this is pretty much the norm apparently), but were able to spot a couple (specs admittedly) from the viewing area.

Geologically incredible place to visit, and fascinating to see a burnt out caldera, having been in an active one (Yellowstone) some years ago." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family W
USA

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2017
"Fantastic food.

Lovely grounds." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Maggie
Australia

"A very good hotel in a beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr C
Dar es Salaam

"Plantation Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2016
"Plantation Lodge was our least favourite stop-off.

The setting is nice, the rooms are clean and the veranda is a good place for a gin & tonic at the end of a long day. However, the food was extremely disappointing and the dining area and main areas on the whole lack any atmosphere. I think they could do a lot more with this place." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr Y
Paris

"Breathtaking scenery at Ngorongoro"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2016
"Amazing lodge and amazing safaris at the Ngorongoro crater. The service was really nice.

Perhaps they could have organised a sandowner within their really beatiful lodge." See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs A & M
Malta

"Great Experience Overall"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"Plantation Lodge was our first Stop and we were sure we could not better it. The Lodge itself was so picturesque with beautiful greenery all around. The staff were there to help whenever needed and the Lovely Renata who runs the place is a Gem.

Our guide Barakka drove us first to Lake Manyara where we got our first taste of a Safari. He was knowledgeable about all animals and made sure we were comfortable throughout. Within a few minutes of being in Lake Manyara we came across a giraffe who walked up to our jeep so gracefully we all stared in awe. What a beautiful experience!!

Ngorongoro Crater was even more interesting where animals are concerned. We saw lions sleeping under jeeps and so much more.

Returning to the Lodge after the Safari was always enjoyable, with a swim in the pool before dinner." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms Heidi
Chicago

"Great Rooms"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"The Plantation was a nice lodge to enjoy some time away from the tented camps. It is more packed than the other places which allows you to mingle with other guests and enjoy conversation with new people. We liked that part a lot. The grounds are secluded, safe and very beautiful. We didn't get time to enjoy the pool but it looked lovely. We each enjoyed a 60 minute massage which was unreal. It was a great end to our safari day, totally relaxing and very reasonable priced.

The lodge had wi-fi in the main bar/restaurant area which was nice to catch up with family and friends finally. The food was pretty good, not a la carte, which seems typical in these areas but still delicious.

We didn't feel as comfortable with the staff here but since it is a bigger lodge vs the intimate camp setting, I understand the difference. We liked the Plantation Lodge for the 2 nights we were there but we wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer.

Our room was secluded and gorgeous. Another large bathroom, with a huge hot shower. This place did not provide a blow dryer or laundry service.

We made friends with the resident cats here as well, always a treat!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Seychelles; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 45
94%
45 reviews of Plantation Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
9
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (43 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (37 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (27 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


91% (25 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


96% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


88% (23 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


91% (22 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


88% (17 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


91% (13 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


89% (7 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (5 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Sanctuary Ngorongoro Crater Camp

Sanctuary Ngorongoro Crater Camp

A small tented camp, located on the eastern side of the Ngorongoro Crater rim, with a five minute drive to crater descent gate.


No reviews yet
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa