This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr P & Ms T from Ottawa

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Tanzania safari

Tanzania between 18 Sep 2011 and 1 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was fantastic from start to finish. Dealing with Expert Africa, on the phone and via email was easy and efficient. From the minute we arrived in Kilimanjaro airport until the time we were delivered back there at the end of our stay, the local guides and tour reps (Asilia) were friendly, efficient, reliable and competent.

The locations, itinerary and planning were excellent. While two of the game parks (Ngorongo and Lake Manyara) were not as interesting (not much game, limited size) they were suitably short in duration. The more interesting parks (Tarangire and Northern Serengeti) had been allocated much more time and delivered a much more exciting experience. The accomodation was all excellent - the complaints we had were to do with our mental comfort level (or lack thereof!) in the more luxurious &Beyond camp. It was excellent, just not what fit our personalities.

The experience was more than we had hoped for and exceeded our expectations. It was truly memorable and we would not hesitate to recommend Expert Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Knowing which locations offered free drinking water and laundry and which ones charged extra would be helpful."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"Beautiful location - outside the hustle and bustle of Arusha, peaceful relaxing setting, excellent food and service. It was the perfect location for starting the trip (went from the airport to Rivertrees, then set off the next day for safari).

The only annoyance was having to pay extra for drinks (food was covered in the reservation, but we had to pay extra for bottles of coke and water). Seemed a bit silly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2011
"Amazing location, with views out onto a river valley. Elephants and giraffes visible in the distance while having morning coffee, occasionally game wandering through camp (saw hyena, dik-dik, and lots of birds), running water inside the tents, plenty of hot water from the solar heater, excellent comfortable beds.

Food was tasty and plentiful, wonderful campfire and drinks every night before dinner, small number of guests and relaxing atmosphere was really nice. Short drive to excellent game viewing.

Common dining table was a nice way to chat with other guests and share the day's experiences. Staff seemed genuinely friendly and helpful and were very pleasant to deal with."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

"Oliver's Fly-Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2011
"Even though this was very simple camping it still put my normal personal camping methods to shame!

Small tent but very comfy bed, excellent food around the campfire, very intimate setting (a few staff and just us- they limit the fly camping participants to those that are on safari together). Simple bucket shower and drop toilet.

Wonderful experience, watching the sunrise with a hot coffee in hand sitting in the middle of the long grasses and seeing game wander by a short distance away.

Walking safari to the fly camp and back to the main camp the next morning was part of the thrill and enjoyment. Seeing the small details, plants, tracks, animals, really gave a feeling of being up close and personal with the area. Felt totally safe with the guide and ranger."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"same as previous [Ed: see their entry below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2011
"Peaceful location in a rural setting. Excellent service and food.

A short drive to the gates to Ngorongoro."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

"Lake Manyara Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2011
"Beautiful rooms set up in the trees. Baboons and monkeys wandering around camp. Elephants came by chomping on the trees just in front of our room. Hot and cold running water, with electricity up until late (off overnight to safe generator). Excellent location deep in Lake Manyara park.

Overall, a but too 'luxury with animal viewing' as opposed to 'animal viewing with luxury' for our taste. It was all very nice but felt like a place for wealthy/elite people to stay (which is not us!).

Used lodge guide for local game drives - lots of great knowledge and information, but sometimes felt like a time-share salesman telling us about the other &Beyond camps and opportunities (you can get a membership! with discounts!). Game was a bit disappointing compared to Tarangire (and northern Serengeti). Enjoyable, but animals were seen occasionally, and in ones and twos (compared to large and plentiful herds).

Camp staff were a bit over the top - a butler eager to cater to our every whim at the drop of a hat as long is it included maximum quantities. When we asked for a small lunch (like soup and a bit of toast) we were still pressured into eating the 3 course meal. A gin and tonic before dinner included about 5x the amount of gin that we were expecting. Having all the staff turn out to sing to us when we arrived made us feel a bit uncomfortable.

Dinner was at private tables so there was no need to talk to other guests.

None of it was bad, it just wasn't to our taste."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olakira

Olakira

"Olakira Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2011
"Northern Serengeti was amazing and Olakira and staff made it even more memorable and fantastic.

Accommodation was wonderful - plenty of water for the basics (sink and toilet) and bucket showers inside the tent were more than adequate. An intimate setting (only 10 guest tents) in the middle of great game viewing (including regular lions roaring, hyenas calling, elephants, giraffe, impala and zebras feeding all within sight and hearing of the tent and event sometimes right in the camp).

Food was plentiful and consistently delicious - excellent variety, fresh, tasty and great service. Common dining table for all guests meant that every evening was a chance to talk to fellow travellers and share the day's experiences. You'd be hard pressed to find higher quality meals in any restaurant anywhere in the world, and the fact that it was all prepared in a temporary camp in the middle of the bush was truly amazing.

Hot coffee, tea and biscuits delivered to the tent at wake-up call, hot water bottles in the bed at bed-time, highly experienced and skilled guides, lots of game (we saw many lions, cheetah, leopard, buffalo, zebra, giraffe, elephant, crocodile, hippo, and even rhino, plus tons of others too numerous to list). Saw a couple of wildebeest river crossings (one right down the road from the camp!).

An amazing experience, great friendly genuine staff, and something that we'll remember for the rest of our lives. Four nights felt very comfortable, we saw a little bit of everything in terms of game. Any less though and you'd probably miss out on something."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team