This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Oxford

"Kwara Camp Review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2016
"We were at Kwara for 4 nights.

Going there, we were somewhat apprehensive as some people we had met in the previous camps (and other Trip Advisor comments) let us to believe that it was going to be rather run down. This was reinforced by the fact that it was considerable cheaper than the Lagoon and Lebala camps (all part of the Kwando group).

In fact, it turned out that this was probably the best camp we stayed at - certainly from a value-for-money perspective.

The location was really good, right on the edge of the delta close the the Moremi Reserve, so a great mix of water and land based activities. The camp itself overlooked a large lagoon with elephants wandering about (often into the camp). Also, there was a family of baboons living in the camp itself and a hoard of Impala also wandering about throughout the day, making things always lively and interesting.

Our guide and tracker were particularly excellent and worked really really hard to give us a great experience, tracking down cheetah, loads of lions, wild dogs on the hunt, elephants having a mud bath, etc etc.

The rooms were probably the most basic of the 7 camps we visited, but more than adequate, and the food was a similar standard (good) as all of the other sites.

We would certainly recommend this camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs L
Basingstoke

"Wonderful Kwara Camp"

5 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"A wonderful camp in a beautiful situation overlooking a lagoon, with hippos, elephants, baboons, impala and warthogs moving around and through the camp during the day and night.

The staff were friendly and helpful but a special mention must be made of our outstanding guide, Dux, and our excellent tracker, AT, who together provided us with some exceptional game drives. It was wonderful to see how they worked together to read the animal tracks, deciding on the animals' movements and deciding where to go next.

Thanks to their skills we were provided with some fantastic sightings including wild dogs on a kill, a pride of two lionesses and four cubs who were extremely hungry one day but the next replete having killed and consumed most of a zebra and a cheetah stalking a reedbuck." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sds & Kss
London

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2016
"The camp is based on the edge of the delta and has a large lagoon for many rooms but not all. Both our 2 rooms were a walk away towards the back of the camp and did not have lagoon views. More on this below.

The Kwara concession is a large area with mixed sightings for us. We had some drives where we saw good range of animals and others where it was much quieter and not even many impalas. When asked when we arrived we asked to see the large cats. The guide and tracker mostly talked with each other and occasionally we would get explanations from the guide. When we asked question the answers were factual but not elaborate. This meant we were not always sure what they were tracking and sometimes it led to nothing which we understand is the nature of a drive but the guide could have still made the drive more engaging and interesting. During dinner another jeep guests were openly discussing asking for their guide to be changed for the next day.

For a fairly expensive camp the service was average or sometimes below. No one asked us what type of food we like and drinks was self service from a fridge. At other camps, we only had to look and someone would be there to ask what we would like. The tents are on stilts and made of canvas. The facilities are dated. There were holes in the canvas where clearly insects could get in.

After one night, another couple who arrived on the same flight as us were moved to lagoon room as a number of guests had departed. We were not asked if we wished to move.

The makoro (wooden canoe) morning across the lagoon to an island was a lovely experience and this was the only time we felt the guide was engaging and explained many interesting things about plants, animal droppings and termite mounds.

2 days would have been sufficient at this camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr B
California

"In the bush"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2016
"Enjoyed the intimate, social nature of the camp. Was pleased with the food and being able to dine with guides and members of camp management.

After a long day of transport to camp, felt some sort of welcome drink/snack should have been offered...everyone showed up hungry and had to wait two hours before afternoon snacks were offered.

Felt our guide who was friendly and knowledgeable spent much more time in conversation with the tracker than informing us what was taking place. Common complaint in our vehicle." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F
Montreal

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"I'm extremely satisfied with the guide, his knowledge, the amount of wildlife, the experience, the wilderness.

Sleeping right beside elephants, hienas, hippos... Watching baby hienas of only few days, a family of cheetahs putting down and eating an impala, a couple of leopards (we saw four leopards in only three days!)...

What an experience!!!!" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Basel

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2016
"We had a great stay at Kwara. The game in the concession is superb and the combination of a guide and a spotter works really well. This is definetly the place for a great animal experience.

The staff at the camp are really friendly and do a geat job. The food is also excellent. It may just have been when were there, but this camp had the greatest range of guest ages, with more families than at other camps.

The rooms are very comfortable, and the gas-heated hot water works really well. Some of the furnishings are getting a bit tired (e.g. superficial cracks in the sink) but it did not affect our enjoyment or comfort at all.

We would heartily recommend Kwara!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Somerset

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2016
"Kwara was exceptional. What a location! - experienced the delta filling with water, animals and bird life from the day we arrived.

Extraordinary encounters with 3 cheetahs making a kill, 3 lions crossing a channel whilst on a boat trip, a leopard cub and incredible bird sightings including a spotted eagle owl and a pearl-spotted in camp.

Our guide, Daniel, and our tracker, Gomos, were outstanding and a delight to be with.

The camp is great and the camp staff were also super - the manager, KP was also outstanding and great fun. The food was also the best of the 3 camps." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr H & Ms Q
Nevada

"Outstanding Safari at Kwara Camp"

4 nights Arrived 31 May 2016
"We spent four nights in early June at Kwara Camp. This was the middle of our Africa trip, so we appreciated the extra time to relax. It also served as an excellent intro to safaris in Botswana, after a couple of days in Chobe. Game was abundant, and contrary to Expert Africa review, focus of game drives was not limited to predators, as we stopped to photograph all sorts of animals and birds, which all the guests in our vehicles wanted to do.

Guide Caltex and tracker KB were excellent, probably the best team at any of the camps we visited. KB was always on the lookout for wildlife, and we would have missed many of the smaller animals and birds if he had not pointed them out. Caltex was expert at positioning the vehicle for the best sun angle, and made sure everyone got good shots. He never rushed us.

We found camp managers and staff to be very friendly, and especially appreciated that the guides and managers joined the guests for sit-down meals. We also much preferred the family style dining, which allowed plenty of opportunities to exchange experiences with other guests. Flexible brunch and dinner times meant that we didn’t have to abandon a photo op in order to rush back to camp for a meal.

With four days available, we were able to enjoy additional activities, including mokoro ride, boat ride, and nature walk. If offered, don't pass them up, it's another side of Africa, not often experienced. Unfortunately, African singing and dancing shows by the staff were only scheduled for one night while we were in Kwara, and we would have liked to hear and see more of them. Since the performers were mostly in the dark while guests sat around the campfire, it was difficult to see and hear the performance. The shows were put on much better at Lagoon and Lebala Camps.

Kwara was a small camp (8 tents) which was exactly what we wanted. We were quite pleased with the food and accommodations, and didn't find the tents dated or much in need of freshening. Maybe we're just easy to please! After all, it was the wildlife that we came to see, and we were very satisfied on that account.

Highlights: the excitement of spotting a photogenic family of giraffes driving from the air strip to the camp; the beautiful lioness lounging with her very curious six week old cub less than 20 feet from our safari vehicle; returning daily to the lion pride at a giraffe kill, with vultures waiting above in the trees – and the smell of the dead giraffe getting worse each day; a leopard with her playful cub stalking mom while they walked; other beautiful leopards; the cheetah with her two “teenage” cubs; other activities including mokoro ride, small boat cruise, and guided nature walk.

We also stayed as sister camps Lagoon and Lebala, and the following comments apply equally to them.

The safari vehicles were well designed, with (relatively) easy access, canvas tops (removable), and very few support poles to interfere with photography. Only six passengers were allowed, giving everyone a "window seat", extremely important to us.

The same guides and trackers remained with us throughout our stay, from pickup at the air strip to delivery for the return flight. This added a great deal to the safari experience, as guides came to know what guests were interested in, and which areas were best to meet guest interests. It also allowed us to get to know our guide and tracker better.

Having both a guide and a tracker measurably improved the safari experience, as the guide could concentrate on driving, especially off-road, while the tracker spotted the wildlife. When trying to find an animal, it couldn't have been done effectively without the tracker to watch for paw prints in the sand.

Night drives took place after the sundowners, en route back to camp. Pickings were sparse, but we were pleased to see the occasional nocturnal predator.

We really appreciated "bush babies" (hot water bottles) on the early, cold morning drives. They were also provided in the evening for our beds, as the nights were quite chilly (maybe cold better describes the temps). We brought several layers of light jackets and sweaters, plus knit caps and gloves, taking them off as the morning wore on, and putting them back on after the sun set. We had back packs which worked well to carry all these items of clothing, plus camera gear and whatever.

Laundry service was efficient, which meant that we could have left some clothes at home, and not have stuffed our duffels quite so full.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Kwara Camp and would eagerly return. But apparently there's a possibility that Kwara and Little Kwara camps could be combined into a single, even larger camp. We would consider such a development to be very unfortunate, and would not return to a larger, combined camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family B
New York

"Great safari and lodge"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2016
"Beautiful delta safari, we loved our experience and our guides Daniel and Gomms were terrific and very personable.

We really enjoyed having them join us for dinner to get to know them. We had amazing sightings of a lioness and lion cub, cheetah, leopard and many elephants, giraffes and other wildlife.

Gathering in the morning around a fire and at night at the dinner table, meeting people from all over the world, hearing the animals all around and in camo....amazing memories." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms C
Ontario

"Kwara Camp stay"

3 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2015
"Overall we are very happy with our stay at Kwara. The accommodations were slightly less luxurious than in other camps, but activities were excellent, we loved every minute of it and we have absolutely no complaints about it.

Sometime, towards the end of our stay at Kwara, Monika displayed mild symptoms of skin allergy (irritation, peeling, rush and eachiness). We concluded it was related to timing and content in the water and once she started to wash her face with drinking water, the symptoms disappeared. It may be worth bringing to the attention of other guests who may develop similar problems.

Still our stay in Kwara was great." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa