This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Dr S & Mr B
USA

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2015
"The facilities were ok but nothing special. This lodge seemed like it could use a facelift.

The in-lodge staff were ok but did not compare in enthusiasm nor attitude with those at other lodges. That said, the guide was superb. He was so knowledgable and eager to share all he knew with us. He also had a great sense of humor and was fun to go exploring with. We saw great wildlife. The food was not good at all.

It was (sorry Megan) what I think of as the legacy of British colonial food, bland and uncreative." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Ms L
Leeds

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2015
"Kwara offers another tented experience though again very hot in the middle of the day without AC. I loved the location of the Okavanga Delta, it felt quite different and greener than Chobe and Namibia.

The staff are friendly and helpful and this camp offered both a guide and a tracker on the 4WD trips. This felt a bit more relaxing to me as the guide could concentrate on driving the difficult terrain.

The boat trip on the delta was wonderful, plenty of wonderful birds and views. This was our last camp and we were lucky to see a cheetah with cubs and a kill, a leopard and plenty of lion.

" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Scots on the wing
UK

"Wildlife paradise at Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
":Probably the highlight of our holiday along with Andersson's Camp. Warthogs, elephants and baboons walking right through the camp not to mention hippos grunting in the reeds. Wonderful atmosphere; great game drives (but no leopard!), Outstanding sunset experience in the middle of the Okavango by boat.

THE experience of the whole holiday was the mokoro trip gliding silently through the narrow channels of the Okavango (hippos at a suitably discreet distance - generally!) and getting so close to birds." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
R & P
Belgium

"Beautiful memories of landscape around Kwara"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"The location of Kwara Camp is extremely beautiful, typical Okavango scenery ! This does make up a bit for the quite "rustic" tents, which are, as many have said before us on here, in urgent need of a refurbishment.

Food was less varied then the other Kwando camps we visited during our trip (Lagoon and Lebala) and there always seemed to be something missing (e.g. no eggs at breakfast; no fresh fruit for lunch, no milk to put in the tea...). Staff was not unfriendly, but didn't seem very interested in their visitors. During dinner, guides mainly kept to themselves and talked in Setswana to each other. Overall, the general atmosphere in this camp was not as warm and welcoming as we have experienced in the other camps we visited.

That being said, we did have a memorable stay as, again, the landscape around Kwara is among the most beautiful we saw during our trip, and we wouldn't have wanted to miss that. And to top it off: we had stunning sightings of lions and cheetah at this camp ! Reason why our overall appreciation of the camp was "good" instead of "average"." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs P
Alderley Edge

"Great views of wildlife, especially wild dog"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2015
"Although the least luxurious of the 6 camps we visited the accommodation was comfortable and the food good.

We had wonderful sightings of cheetah and cubs, jackals and, best of all, a wild dog. She had become separated from her hunting partner and was plaintively calling to re-establish contact.

Our guide, Josiah, and tracker, Gomms, were friendly and knowledgeable. Gomms made an excellent gin and tonic!" See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Paris

"Amazing safari at Kwara Camp!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2015
"Best game viewing in our whole trip. We saw almost everything in 2 days: lions, cheetahs, wild dogs, leopards, elephants, hippos, etc.

Camp was nice and staff was pleasant. Our guide was amazing (George), as well as our tracker (Gomes)." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
Essex

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2015
"I would have a slight preference for Kwara compared with Lebala because the proximity of water gave an additional dimension to the overall experience." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W
London

"Kwara review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2015
"Josiah, our guide, was especially friendly and helpful.

It would be good if the camp offered private meals in the evening. Sometimes you don't want to sit with everyone else and make forced conversation." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs L & Mr H
USA

"Great lodging and dame viewing"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2015
"Accommodating were very comfortable, well arranged and staff helpful and friendly. Service and food at lodge good.

Game viewing was excellent and allowed for the most variety of wildlife on our trip.

" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Milwaukee

"Great game viewing"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2015
"Game viewing was outstanding. Rooms are rustic but that is what we liked about the camp. Staff was just average. We felt like they didn't want to be there and no one went out of their way to be friendly. We also had other couples from both Kwara and little Kwara comment about the staff not being up to par compared to other camps. We also heard some of the workers at the camp talking about guests behind their backs. We didn't mind as much because we were there for the game experience which was fantastic. Lots of activities to choose from." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa