This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr B Dorset from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

One of the best

Botswana between 31 Oct 2013 and 13 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Megan advice and the selected itinerary was spot on which contributed greatly to the success. Well done Megan

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

all OK. I suppose if we tried hard we could think of something to moan about but it was all very good!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Great"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2013
"Enjoyed our stay but, as with all parks sometimes frustrating having to stay on roads.

Exciting being chased by two very aggressive lions but we are still here to tell the tale. They did get to within 4 metres as we were speeding away in the Toyota."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

"small more basic camp but very enjoyable"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2013
"A small basic camp with small tents but again a really enjoyable stay.

The staff did everything to make our stay excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Again very enjoyable"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2013
"we were here 7 years ago. They have made completely new tents which are very big with many facilities.

We actually preferred it as it was. It is now a bit over the top. But another very enjoyable stay. the river cruise was a big disappointment. The only negative of our trip. Last visit the cruise was much better."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Kanana

Kanana

"Excellent when combined with the other camps"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2013
"No big cats but the water environment was very interesting. We had seen a lot of big cats so it did not matter to us however if someone was expecting to see big cats they might be disappointed.

Very attentive, friendly staff who did everything possible to make our stay a success."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Tanzania (this year)

Tanzania between 9 Oct 2008 and 19 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"A very enjoyable trip. Selous Impala camp and Magwusi make a very good 'pair'. Four nights was a good time to stay.

Suggestions for improvement:

We, again, enjoed our safari. Everything was as it should be. Unfortunately the prices keep rising."

Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"wonderful camp in a beautiful setting"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2008
"We really enjoyed our stay in Selous Impala Camp. I expect we have stayed in about 20 game lodges/camps and Selous Impala Camp is the best by a margin.

The setting, accomodation, staff and, particularly, the food were excellent. The scenery and game might have been better in other areas but this camp was the tops. I find it strange that at both this camp and Magwusi the guides did not have binoculars.

We raised this locally but the point was not taken. Overall the guides were not as good as Botswana/Zambia but were 'good enough'."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Great camp location, scenery and game."

4 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2008
"Magwusi is a great place to stay and we will probably return one day. The scenery, game and general location were really good. Our room was very comfortable in a beautiful location, with a wonderful view.

Over the 4 days we saw many animals/birds from our room/balcony. One very bad point which annoyed us and our fellow guests was that there was no 'drinks price list'. The drinks were quite expensive. I think this the first place I have ever stayed where there was no price list! We dicussed this locally to no avail."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Ok for the one night."

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"OK for the one night."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Very enjoyable trip

Zambia between 22 Oct 2007 and 1 Nov 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"All worked well and we think it was rhe best yet"

Image alt

Lufupa Tented Camp, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Very enjoyable. Staff very helpful. "

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2007
"Very enjoyable. The staff adopt a friendly positive helpful attitude. Robert the guide very good"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Shumba Camp

Shumba Camp

"Greta location"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2007
"I do not think 'the luxury camp' idea is the best for a safari. We had a bgoood time but Lufupa was better."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Lufupa Tented Camp, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"see previous"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2007
"See previous"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Avery pleasany relaxing stay"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2007
"A very good idea after 6 days safari. We particularly enjoyed the early morning and evening river cruises. We were the only ones to make the early trip - good for us- but they did miss a beautiful hour or so! They were very mean with the mosquito spray!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"OK for i night before the flight home"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2007
"Suited the ourpose. Pity had to catch 5:30 transport for 8:50 departure. Computer broke down so was unable to pay 'extras bill'. I expect it will catch up with us sometime!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team