This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana

Reviews of Kanana

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kanana and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kanana.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Sitatunga

75% success

White Rhino

75% success

Buffalo

67% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
W Green

"a luxery lodge"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2012
"Very comfortable lodge and very friendly and hospitable staff. we appreciated some lunch being left for us when we arrived after 2pm from the Mokoro trail.

Our guide Mypa very helpful." See all these reviews: 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Lyme Regis

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2012
"Beautiful location very peaceful.

Really appreciated the taylor made feel of the activities in that the camp responded to what we wnated to do when we wanted to do it." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Bucks

"Good lodge and good animals"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2012
"Tent comfortable.

Unfortunately Mrs K was very unwell here, with diarrhoea and vomiting. NOT due to malaria medication as have taken it many times before. Staff helpful with Rehydrate etc. Unwilling to accept responsibility though, which was disappointing. No apologies.

Fortunately we had a stock of powerful antidotes so only one activity missed.
Very good safaris here, with a pride of lions. Elephant in the camp was exciting.

Mokoro trip disappointing as the men seem to have been told to talk non stop for the whole trip which was very irritating.
Management very pleasant." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Ms O
Vancouver

"Kanana review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2012
"We only spent two nights at Kanana, but enjoyed our time there. The tents and central areas are lovely. Game here is not as plentiful or diverse as some other locations but we were lucky enough to see a leopard hunting on a night drive. We also saw giraffe, hippos, impala and a semi resident elephant, George.

The primary focus is on water activities. We had a fun motor boat trip through papyrus lined channels to a heronry but this wasnt the right season for most birds. We did see some marabou storks. Other interesting birds included saddle billed storks and ground crossbills.

Our guide was Kenny who was knowledgable and easy to get along with. He had a sense of humour too - tipping us off to the "Ugly 5" at the heronry. His bush walk was also interesting. He knew a fair bit about the plants and their uses (including how to use a poisonous one to feign illness and get out of school as a boy).

One problem was that our transfer flight to the next camp was booked for shortly after 10:00, which meant our mokoro trip the second morning was rather short. The manager, Murray, was upset about this but unable to remedy the matter.

Murray was an engaging host. We were the first guests of the year and greeted with sparkling wine accordingly. He's a larger than life character, and my husband in particular enjoyed staying up talking with him by the fire.

The food here was notably good." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Jersey

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2011
"When we were there, most viewings were of birds and not game. Friendly staff, not much interaction with Manager as in other camps.

My wife was happy with vegetarian food, other food was so-so." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Shropshire

"Kanana Revisited"

4 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2011
"This was our second visit to Kanana and we requested Wago as our guide as we had him last time - his bird identification is brilliant. Sure enough Wago was there waiting for us as the plane touched down and greeted us like old friends.

There were not too many animals (Preditors) in the Kanana consession so much of the time was spent searching for rare birds. Our first game drive yielded a Pel's Fishing Owl (it has taken us three visits to see this species).

We went on a boat ride to the heronry which is always an amazing sight in November. The tent was clean and the food plentiful - but a main course choice would have been nice with not just a vegitarian option, having said this what was available could not be faulted.

Kanana Camp hasn't changed at all - it doesn't need to." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O & Ms L
Singapore

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2011
"The chalet looked a bit tired and and the design made it impossible to get a through-flow of air, making it very hot in the afternoons.

The guide was excellent and we got very good leopard photos on our 1st drive.

Excellent photo opportunities on the boat trips with 'close' encounters with hippos, and a truely excellent bird life, including a diving African Fish Eagle. Lots of giraffe action as well." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 6n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Harrow

"Kanana review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2011
"An marvellous experience.

The reason for making down on facilities is that two out of the three boats were out of use." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Lancs

"Kanana review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2011
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kanana. The staff looked after us very well (especially when our boat lost its propeller out on the delta.)
They ensured that we made the best use of our short time there, and that we were picked up and dropped off for our connecting flights punctually.

Guides again were very knowledgable about animals and birds etc." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Cambridge

"Kanana - great water safaris"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2011
"The water/boating activities were fantastic and our guide KeKe was very good. Amos our land guide also was very good, but the lack of game was due to the floods and therefore the game drives were limited, but we saw all there was to see.

The camp itself and location was lovely, but we felt the service and food was not quite up to the standard of Okuti. The staff did not seem to have to same spirit of camaraderie as the othe two camps." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 66
95%
66 reviews of Kanana by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
16
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


94% (7 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa