This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr A from Oxfordshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

My Feb 2020 trip

South Africa between 14 Feb 2020 and 28 Feb 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"Another great trip organised by Expert africa"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Grand Dedale

"Grand Dedale"

3 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2020
"The Grand Dedale is a fantastic find if you are looking for a beatiful place to stay in the Wellington area. Angelo and Tina have created a luxury retreat that really sets its self apart.

Set within the Doolhof Wine esate the gardens, walks and buildings all reflect an oasis where you can spend many days without even thinking about visiting the surrounding area. Food is excellent and a changing menu each day reflecting local produce. Any diatary requests can be accomodated. Would highly recommend the Grand Dedale and will be returning soon.

Whilst we did not use the Spa, others who were there at the same time were extremely pleased with the treatments received."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lekkerwater Beach Lodge

Lekkerwater Beach Lodge

"Lekkerwater breach Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2020
"Marooned in a luxury lodge miles from civilisation.

From the moment you arrive at the car park and start your journey you realise how amazing this place really is. How they managed to build and service the lodge is both a feat of engineering and logistics. The views are to die for and it really makes you become at one with nature. Service is excellent and the facilities are top notch. I would recommend taking a bottle of bubbles to the hot tub located on the beach and sit back to ebjoy the view.

Make sure you do the beach / rock pool walk and try the various Fynbos additives for gins."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Feb 2019 trip

Namibia between 9 Feb 2019 and 20 Feb 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fabulous trip and the input from Sabina really helped us get the most from our time in Namibia."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2019
"This was only an overnight stop after travelling from the UK.

Staff are the highlight and couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms are a bit tired but perfectly OK.

Food was excellent especially the breakfast omelette."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2019
"This is a stunning lodge in every aspect. From the moment you arrive at the gate you are looked after by a dedicated team. We took a number of drives in the reserve and a trip to Etosha with Leon and his knowledge really helped us get the most out of each trip.

Rooms and communal areas are well appointed and food always to a high standard. Dining whilst overlooking the waterhole is quite an experience.

Do try to take some time to sit in the hide at the waterhole."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2019
"This must be the most stunning location i have ever been to !

Set between the boulders with unbelievable views this is a place to come and unwind. Total tranquillity, excellent service with a quality menu and wine list.

Wish i could have stayed longer.

Special thanks to Ambrosius who took great care of us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 15 Feb 2019
"Only booked as a stopover and chose for it's location but really surprised me that the Strand is so much better than expected.

Great location and views, good bars and excellent breakfast."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2019
"If you are going to the Namib desert this is the place to stay.

Great people, excellent facilities, food and really go out of their way to make it special.

Thanks to Daniel for the sunset drinks and the excursion."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

17 Feb 2019 • All-day excursion

Worth every penny.

They take you off the beaten track and away from the hoards and you get to climb some of the quieter dunes (not 45).

Daniel's explanations and insite really helped put everything in context.

Lunch in the shade of a few trees, taking in the vista was a wonderful affair.
Excellent
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

"Avani Windhoek Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 19 Feb 2019
"Great location in centre of town, friendly staff and they even helped to fix the the 4*4 we had broken on the drive up. Only had breakfast at the hotel as we went to Joe's Beer House for the evening so cannot comment on the food really."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

My Oct 2013 trip

Botswana between 22 Oct 2013 and 29 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great holiday, Expert Africa arranged everything without a glitch and delivered exactly what was asked."

Kanana

Kanana

"Kanana Camp"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2013
"Kanana has excellent staff and guides, they treated us incredibly well and wanted for nothing. The camp is well laid out and both communal areas and tents are up there with the best of them.

The only down side was the location as at the end of the season the waterways are often too shallow to navigate and limits what they can do."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Best all round camp we have stayed at !"

4 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2013
"This rates as the best camp we have stayed in over a number of safaris. This is primarily due to the staff, their knowledge, attention to detail and all with a smiling face. Jono and Justin should be proud of the camp they run and the quality of their team. The tents aren't up to the same standard as Kanana but your not there for the bedroom and they are more than adequate. We loved the decanter of sherry at the end of a hard day's viewing.

We were extremely lucky to see leopard on every game drive together with assortment of lions, elephants etc and we owe so much to our guide Adam."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team