This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr C-J from BC

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Marg and Phil's Return to Africa

Namibia and 2 other countries between 14 Mar 2017 and 4 Apr 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was the middle portion of a longer African holiday which we planned ourselves.

We were delighted with the personal touch and attention to detail that Maruska provided. We had enough information from telephone calls, emails, books by Bradt and your web site to approach this section of our trip with confidence. We did not have to do the planning and make reservations as Maruska, arranged everything. We made some accommodation changes a few days before we left for our holiday and a last minute reversal on our Car Hire, (which involved a new company and an eventual refund) and were relieved at how efficiently those changes were handled.

Maruska's response of making sure we were first and foremost satisfied with our itinerary and happy with all arrangements was most refreshing and reassuring.

We have spoken very highly about your service with friends and family highlighting the ethos of your company. Thank you for everything. Marg and Phil Crosby-Jones"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Mar 2017
"This was our introduction to African Lodges and we were so impressed and delighted with the personal reception and the time taken to introduce us to the Lodge, its facilities, meals, services, and our accommodation.

Mushara is advertised as Family Friendly and, as a past primary teacher, I was very impressed with the playground and toys they had readily available for children.

The staff went above and beyond what was required to acquaint us with Park procedures and they even renewed our weekly cell for us.

Our stay was just overnight so we did not do any of the Activities provided."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2017
"This Government run Camp exceeded our expectations in facilities, and food services. It was so convenient to have access to Petrol, the Post Office, two stores, a water hole and Park Information. Although the food was Buffet Style there was excellent choices, it was fresh, they provided "while you wait" breakfast eggs and dinner BBQ, and the service was quick. The room was basic but clean with AC. The camp grounds were clean and well maintained.

At Reception we would have appreciated being asked for our Park Fees along with our Accommodation information so we wouldn't have had to make a second trip to cover this.

We would have liked to see a sign within the walls of the camp directing us to the correct exit for Galton Gate where we were headed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2017
"This Camp blends into the rock kopjes perfectly. The plunge pool and loungers are surrounded by kopjes and stunning views. The circular stone accommodations were clean, cool, and unique with an outdoor bathroom which included an amazing view from the shower.

The dining area of the Lodge had outdoor tables with panoramic views and superb food - on par with any top rated cuisine. Considering you are in the middle of Damaraland this is amazing!

We went on both tours. The guide who took us to see the Geological Features, Rock Engravings and the Desert Adapted Elephants was extremely knowledgeable and eager and able to explain and answer all our questions. We were so glad we took the Tours rather than go ourselves. To top everything off we climbed to the summit of Camp Kipwe for the Sundowners to end three magnificent days."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Mar 2017
"The personal welcome and amazing uninterrupted view from our tent perched on the side of a kopje made us so disappointed we were staying only one night.

We thoroughly enjoyed all we could while there. The pool was refreshing, the natural bird bath, strategically placed just beside the restaurant, was a gift to birdwatchers, and the location for Sundowners, which was a physical challenge to attain, atop a kopje, was rewarding.

Our morning guided nature walk before we left was filled with new information and reasons to return. We followed the trail of an ardvark hoping to see him, and had the landscape, flora and fauna explained.

This Lodge is close to Windhoek and we have advised our friends there to make sure they visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2017
"The location of Ilala is perfect for the view of the mist from the Falls and the walking trail to the Falls and Bridge and the town itself. It is set in manicured gardens where monkeys and warthogs wander.

The Buffet Breakfast had everything along with freshly made hot choices. Dinner was set outside on the lawn under the stars with the piano music in the background - magical!

We went on both the Sunset and the Sunrise River Tour. Both were wonderful opportunities to view birds and other wildlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2017
"The most memorable item at the Garden Lodge was the practice of having the Guides, Management and Guests sitting and eating together. The Staff also made time to chat during the day and make sure Guests were enjoying their activities and time.

We went on one River Cruise and two Game Drives. We saw more elephants here at the river than elsewhere on our month's holiday. The Game Drives provided a wide variety of animals, particularly along the river banks.

The location of the Lodge on the river was picturesque and provided warthogs and hippos in the garden for our viewing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kanana

Kanana

"Kanana review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2017
"From our Welcoming from the singing staff to the personal goodbyes this was an exceptional unforgettable experience. The location right on the water was perfect for bird life and wandering hippos and elephants.

At Arrival we were assigned a guide, as were others, that was with us for our entire four days. These Guides, along with Management, shared our meals at the one table.

The food was served hot at the table and was varied and delicious. Three days of our four we had surprises. We had an amazing picnic, Staff entertained us with singing and dancing and we had a large group Sun Downer. Our twice daily tours both on the water and game drives were fantastic.

We were most fortunate to have Robbie as our Guide. He is exceptionally knowledgeable about African wildlife. His tracking skills were phenomenal and recognized by all. He is the epitome of a professional and caring Guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team