This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana

Reviews of Kanana

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kanana and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kanana.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Sitatunga

75% success

White Rhino

75% success

Buffalo

67% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Bertie
UK

"Amazing"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2017
"Kanana is a very well appointed lodge set on a lagoon with Hippos and frogs serenading at night.

The staff here are outstanding and will accommodate groups so that there is no conflict of interest amongst viewing priorities. All the guides are extremely knowledgeable and professional.

Tents are very comfortable with electricity and very nice showers. The game viewing was superb we stalked a 4 lions hunting and a leopard.

Simon, our guide, was happy to just sit and observe the animals so that we could really soak up the atmosphere. Amazing. We loved Kanana and would love to go back.

We have been to Botswana before but this lodge was far and above our favourite." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C-J
BC

"Kanana review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2017
"From our Welcoming from the singing staff to the personal goodbyes this was an exceptional unforgettable experience. The location right on the water was perfect for bird life and wandering hippos and elephants.

At Arrival we were assigned a guide, as were others, that was with us for our entire four days. These Guides, along with Management, shared our meals at the one table.

The food was served hot at the table and was varied and delicious. Three days of our four we had surprises. We had an amazing picnic, Staff entertained us with singing and dancing and we had a large group Sun Downer. Our twice daily tours both on the water and game drives were fantastic.

We were most fortunate to have Robbie as our Guide. He is exceptionally knowledgeable about African wildlife. His tracking skills were phenomenal and recognized by all. He is the epitome of a professional and caring Guide." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss J
Aylesbury

"A brilliant first safari experience."

3 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2017
"We loved our stay at Kanana . It was our first safari experience and lived up to all our expectations. A very special camp in a beautiful location.

We were made feel welcome from the moment we arrived by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The camp created a very 'family like atmosphere'. Every member of staff wanted to ensure we had a perfect stay ... and we did. We were even entertained one evening by the staff singing and dancing for us before our evening meal, - lovely! The activities we enjoyed were varied, game drives and water activities.

We also took advantage of the sleep out deck, a night under the stars is not to be missed. We heard lions calling in the night - quite close, and the sunrise in the morning was beautiful. The guides impressed us with their knowledge, we learned such a lot. At all times they showed sensitivity to the environment and wildlife as well as ensuring our safety at all times. We saw an abundance of wildlife each day.

The accommodation was great, and the food excellent. A truly wonderful experience.

We were only there 3 days, but at the end of our stay we felt we were leaving good friends." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F
Hertfordshire

"Kanana Review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2016
"Really lovely camp with lovely communal areas. Lots of inexperienced managers which showed in the service. Service staff were good.

The managers were really annoying and never left you alone. We didn't like the fact that they tried to make you sit in certain places for pre dinner drinks and tea. They didn't make best use of the great communal spaces and always had one big dining table in the back of the lodge for all meals.

Our room (no.7) was right by a generator which was switched on at 4.30am waking u as it was quite noisy. They should consider solar panels.

We were assigned to Chacjos as a guide but only actually had him for one activity. We didn't think he was very good. He didn't inspire any confidence that he knew the best areas for wildlife and he didn't explain anything eg when he was looking at tracks so it made us feel that he was just driving around randomly.

Wildlife viewing was terrible compared to the other camps but this was what we were expecting so wasn't an issue. The scenery is lovely and the boat and mokoro trips very relaxing. The boat and mokoro trips and really good and heronry is excellent.

When we asked for certain things (a private dinner and an early start taking breakfast to the heronry) the staff were excellent and accommodated everything we wanted to do.

Little things let the camp down e.g guides forgetting the keys for the boat two days running so we had to go back to camp for them and our driver taking us to the airstrip turning up 20 minutes late so that we were in a massive rush and had to take our own baggage from the rooms." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Oxford

"Kanana Review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2016
"The best aspect of this camp was its location - being in the middle of the Delta it had the best combination of water based and land based activities of all the camps we visited. The cruise to the Heronry and the Makoro trip were particularly memorable. On the land based side we had an excellent leopard siting.

The rooms, food and general facilities were all good.

I've marked them down slightly on service due to an unimpressive response when my wife stepped on a scorpion. Although the camp manager stayed calm (unlike my wife) they were totally unprepared for this, had to phone a doctor in Maun for advice on what to do and had no suitable medication on-hand. Fortunately, the sting was non-venomous. A further negative on the service was that the organisation of getting us and the other couple we were sharing the game vehicle with to the airstrip on the day we left was quite poor.

We were there for 2 nights, as advised by Expert Africa, and I think this was just about enough time for us to experience most of what they had to offer." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr Nick Foster
UK

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"We were extremely pleased with the Kanana lodge and it's associated activities. Simon, our guide, was very good.

The highlight of the visit for us were the two visits to the heronry." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
York

"Absolutely fantastic camp"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2016
"We loved our stay at Kanana, and having had 2 nights, wished we'd booked for slightly longer. Friendly family atmosphere with stunning chalets and shared areas. Very good food - particularly the salads! Staff were a particular highlight. Camp staff were highly accommodating, friendly and seemed to want to do everything possible to make our stay. Guides were knowledgeable and tailored activities to suit our interests.

Whilst it is correct to say that big game is less dense in this region, we still saw all the main draws (except leopard!) in addition to a very wide range of birdlife. We enjoyed the variety of game drives and water based activities, and sundowners on the water were magical. The walking safari following different tracks and identifying the smaller fauna and flora was also a highlight." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Tring

"Lovely Lodge and staff"

2 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2016
"Lovely lodge. Really good staff.

Owner guide could have said more but was very brave where he took us.

Food was OK.

Saw lion male eating catch and one day baby elephant. Loved it.

Beautiful vista of impalas in the mist." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr T
Chester

"Kanana review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2015
"whilst nothing to complain about the camp was a bit too contrived / too 'corporate' / not traditional enough for our liking. that said, we were well looked after and there was nothing to fault.

the most disappointing aspect was the low water levels that made the water-based activities less 'special' than they might have been" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The H Family
Germany

"Pangolin Island !!!!"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2015
"Kanana is a water-based camp inside the Okavango delta with 8 comfortable and spacious tented chalets. Management and staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was good. There are many activities like boat cruises, mokoro, walking safaris but also night game drives day and night.

The day we arrived at Kanana was Day of Independence in Botswana (Sept. 30th): the whole staff was celebrating this and we were lucky to participate this party with finally having dinner outside the camp in the bush!!!

The water activities were amazing: during the boat cruises (we made it twice!) we saw lot of different birds, hippos, water crossing elephants, lechwe antelopes and (unfortunately far away) sitatunga!! But the highlight was the visit of a herony with probably thousands of marabou and yellow billed storks, pelicans, ibises and ....!
Mokoro is a great experience and if you come to the delta you have to do it!!!

We also made 2 walking safaris looking for the small things you usually miss on a game drive: not really spectacular but very informative (Thanks to Simon!).

Although Kanana is a water-based camp the game drives on the island (and the one close-by) offer more game than expected: of course elephants (also in the camp), giraffes, varied antelopes (especially lechwe) and our excellent guide Simon tracked a leopard (almost) perfect hidden in high grass! But he(!!) and we were most excited when we saw a pangolin - very very rarely seen even by local people!!!!" See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 66
95%
66 reviews of Kanana by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
16
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa