This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba

Reviews of Chitabe Lediba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Lediba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Lediba.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

80% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

White Rhino

40% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
J&K
Buckinghamshire

"A Luxury Camp With Outstanding Game Viewing"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2014
"Chitabe Lediba was the most luxurious of the 4 camps in which we stayed in Botswana, and it provided the best game viewing experience. An excellent rating does not do it justice, it was outstanding in every respect.

We landed at the airstrip at about 12:30, expecting a 30 minute drive to the camp. However, our guide (Oats) had seen some wild dog at a waterhole on his way to collect us, so we headed straight there. The dogs were relaxing under a tree, and in the tree, far from relaxed, was a leopard. Incredible! We stayed transfixed for over an hour, observing the interaction between dogs and leopard as the leopard tried to catch the dogs off guard and make her escape. It was stalemate when we eventually moved on, but the thrills did not stop there on our drive.

Within minutes we were parked adjacent to two male lions that had stolen an impala kill from a cheetah. From there we moved on to a leopard in a tree, who was joined by her cub as we watched. By now it was mid-afternoon, and Oats arranged for food to be brought out to us as watched the leopard and her cub interact. And so it went on, until eventually, at around 19:30, having just witnessed wild dogs scattering a large herd of impala, we arrived at the lodge. We realise that we were exceptionally fortunate to have had such a drive, but what we really appreciated was that throughout that time the sole objective of our guide and the staff at the lodge was to maximise our enjoyment. That attention to our enjoyment remained throughout our two day stay.

That first game drive was a very hard act to follow, but the quality of the drives remained exceptionally high throughout our two day stay with plentiful lion sightings (including a mating pair), more leopard sightings with cubs, and a spectacular spotted hyena sighting with a mother interacting with two pups, one of which was not her own. Bird sightings were also excellent, especially water birds.

Our accommodation was spacious, comfortable and tastefully fitted out, with high quality bed linen and towels. The common areas were also comfortable and well appointed. The staff were exceptionally friendly, efficient and helpful.

We were able to charge camera batteries in our room." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Fabulous Game Viewing at Chitabe"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"Excellent tented camp. Very well appointed and glamorous tents.

Service from Maolosi and his team was excellent. The team joined in at meal times which provided great insights into life at the Camp and Botswana in general. Our guide OD was tremendous, our favourite of the trip.

We experienced fabulous game viewing, the best of the trip for us. We had the opportunity to watch the behaviour of predators up close and there was lots of big game, smaller game and birds." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms W & Ms T
Arizona

"Excellent camp loved OD our guide"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"This camp was lovely and very clean. OD our guide was fantastic!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr L
Maryland

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2014
"We loved this camp. It was great, all the staff was great, we had a lovely couple from Germany who were with us for three days. We all had a terrific time.

Amazing game drives - lions, leopard cubs, and cheetah successful hunt. It can't get any better than this." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Cheetah kill at Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2014
"For our third safari we returned to a luxury camp. We stayed in Chalet 1 which had an outside shower with a wonderful view.

This was our first taste of driving through deep water and we had an expert driver and guide in Oats. On our second day we got the call to say 4 cheetahs had been spotted. It was a mother and 3 two-year-old cubs hunting. Watching the cubs chasing their prey was amazing. They were too impatient and their would-be victim always managed to escape. Eventually the mother brought down a young impala and Oats was there for the kill. We spent most of the day with them. Lunch was brought out to us in the bush.

There were other special moments....two-month-old leopard twins playing together; newborn giraffe; three adult lions (brothers) hunting; three 14-month-old lion cubs; getting stuck in the muddy water and having to jack up our Land Rover at front and back.

The weather was very cold and on our last morning we had a significant frost. Hot water bottles were needed for afternoon and morning game drives." See all these reviews: 24n in Botswana; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr W
Dyfed

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2014
"This camp is just FANTASTIC. Everything was perfect and it is the best camp of the 6 we had by this point visited over 2 trips.

Nothing was too much trouble and every staff member went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We hope to visit again." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Z
USA

"Lediba"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2014
"After a short flight we landed at the Chitabe airstrip where our guide, OD, greeted us and drove us to the lodge. OD was a very congenial person with a huge in depth knowledge of the animals and fauna of the area. He was constantly on the look out for tracks on the trails and always scanning the surroundings for signs of animals. The manager, a heavy-set jovial Botwanian with an ever-present grin, greeted us at the camp.

Our 'tents' looked into the brush and were large and very confortable. We spent most of our drives looking for the Cheetah that had been spotted the morning we arrived. During our drives we saw tsessebe, impala, jackal, a variety of birds and a large baboon tribe feeding on the palm nuts and the amarula fruit. During the night time drives Ode spotted a bush baby, a small monkey with huge eyes, and a genet, a cat like mammal with a small head, a catlike body, and a large puffy tail. He also spotted a couple of mongoose.

The animal life at Lediba appeared to be less dense than that a Lebala and Lagoon. The staff at Lediba bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. The wind curtains were all drawn during the day and replaced for the night and all equipment worked. The food was simple but very tasty & the cook had an excellent way with the condiments. At the end of the last dinner, the jovial manager brought out a bottle of South African bubbly and toasted us on our 45th anniversary - a nice touch.

Lediba will be remembered as the place where the Cheetah was not found, the excellent guide Ode, the jovial manager, and the 'over the top'friendly professional staff." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Surrey

"Wonderful wildlife a surprise at every turn."

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2014
"A busy camp with a fast pace and the concession which had more big animals and numerous sightings than our other two camps. However this does not mean it was the best as our guide Gordon, although very experienced and knowledgeable, seemed a little jaded to the whole process and didn't seem as wrapped up in our enthusiasm.

The staff were all excellent and the evening of traditional food, dancing and singing was a real highlight." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Chitabe Lediba - Visit Two"

3 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2014
"After our last visit to Chitabe Lediba we commented that it seemed more like a reserve for the main camp than a lodge in its own right. This time there was no hint of little brother and we absolutely loved our time there.

All the staff, from the managers to housekeepers were always smiling, friendly and clearly bent on making our stay completely memorable. They succeeded. The game drives were first rate largely due to the skills and hard work of our guide OD. If it was there to be seen we saw it. The highlights were a feast of birds, 2 pairs of mating lions, leopard writ large and no less than 5 cheetah.

To top it off we had the most amazing sighting of a family of dwarf mongoose that posed like professionals. The food was good and the rooms huge and well equipped. This is a camp to keep going back to. All credit to the managers Kay and Six. Marvellous." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Hampshire

"Completely fabulous. Very high standard"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2014
"Lovely staff and superb lodge. Great game viewing and local knowledge" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 77
97%
77 reviews of Chitabe Lediba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
66
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa