This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba

Reviews of Chitabe Lediba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Lediba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Lediba.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

80% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

White Rhino

40% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C
Dublin

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2014
"The rooms were excellent, best of the three camps which we visited. The food was cheap and poor - chicken, lamb shank and pulled beef. The staff were enthusiastic, but the Manager displayed certain sub-optimal characteristics. I specifically told him "no chicken please" but got it for dinner that evening.

The Guide "Oats" was first class" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Ms G & Mr M
Spain

"Amazing place. A must in the Okavango Delta"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2013
"Very friendly personnel, excelent rooms, great game-viewing activities." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms N
Idaho

"Chitabe Lidaba, not chitabe"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2013
"We were NOT at Chitabe, but at Chitabe Lidaba, where I'd wanted to go, but had been told we couldn't. So we were pleasantly surprised.

Liked this much smaller camp and had an excellent guide with BB. His wife was the manager at Chitabe. BB was very knowledgeable in both the area of finding game and his expertise in photography...what a bonus!! He had had many courses in photography and had an overall supreme level of education.

He gave my daughter, the photographer, for our trip, many tips, and when she was too tired to go out one morning, he took just me, with him taking pictures (my poor close up eye site, prevented me from seeing camera dials) for the morning safari. What a treat to have both his skill as a photographer and knowledge of not only the area, but all the info about the wildlife.

While at Chitabe Lidaba, my daughter and I had the family sweet with separate rooms and adjoining pass way; great to have some separate space, which we shared with the baboons, but who cared. Really loved the small camp after the large one at Duma Tau." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family M
California

"unforgettable experience"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"Wildfife was great with predators sightings being the highlight: leopards, cheetahs, lions and hyenas in 2 days only....plus the resident elephant bull wandering around the camp at any time. But what make Chitabe Lediba unique are the people who work and run this camp. Kay and Mo were great hosts and BB, our guide, was simply outstanding: Spotting a leopard using monkeys alert calls...this is just beyond words...

The famlily tent was fantastic and the roar of a lion as wake-up call was unforgettable." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Vancouver

"Chitabe Lediba - many sightings"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"This very good camp gave us probably the most sightings of our trip, leopards, hyaenas a (very small) lion pride, a very old male lion and the usual antelopes, etc.
Our guide, Paul, was very good and tried really hard. That he is also a photographer helped

The only flaws appeared at the very end of our stay, due very obviously to some problems in camp management/communications, which, together with problems in Wilderness Air left us for 3 hours+ in the noon heat at the air strip and nearly cost us the p.m. drive at Duma Tau.

The camp manager, Mr. Mooal....? (large, used to be at Duba Plains, very important in his own mind) spends most of his time driving friends around; asst. mgr., M.s Charity (very educated, in camp for 3 monyhs, her first amin. job) is mostly in charge; *very* assertive. Arranged for us to finish a.m. drive at the airstrip (against recommendation by our guide). In the meantime Wilderness Air, after the usual time changes had problems with two planes. There was no timely communication from camp; our guide tried repeatedly to get some answers - a plane was supposedly fly to Maun and then pick us up. It never happened. Two planes landed (with space), no luck. Camp manager drove by, said hello & left. Our guide tried to contact camp general manager, was told to "take message & stand by" - nothing for an hour. No contact, no info for 3 hours.

Eventually a plane came, we got to Duma Tau; no time for lunch, but we got to p.m. drive.


" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L & Mrs O
Indiana

"Home of the Leopard"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2013
"In three days we were fortunate enough to see three leopards, all wonderfully positioned for great photography. Chitabe seems to have the best game densities of the three camps that we visited.

The staff is incredible, the food outstanding. One night they served dinner in the "boma" and the following night it was dinner around the pool. We loved the fact that it is a small camp.

Our guide, Gordon was great fun and "Flame", who was doing his guide training, added another set of eyes and a sunny personality. The only negative, and not a huge one, was the afternoon helicopter sightseeing flights from the nearly soccer field. No one in camp, not the guests nor the guides nor the staff, was happy with this as it was beyond their control. It wouldn't preclude us from returning but it takes away the tranquility of the area, it makes resting in the afternoon next to impossible and certainly must affect the wildlife." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Dassies
Cumbria

"Chitabe Lediba is a fantastic camp."

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2013
"This was a fantastic camp. The staff welcomed us with a song which was lovely. They also sang to us after our dinner one night..

Our tent was very luxurious and we had an outdoor shower (as well as an indoor one) where we could watch the wildlife while we showered.

Our guide had a great sense of humour.

The only negative was that on a couple of nights there was not quite enough food. This was probably because there was a party of people there with very healthy appetites. Once they left the portions seemed to be adequate." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
California

"Baboons & 3 Lion Prides at Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"A perfect place to conclude our 1st trip to Botswana & Africa. Like the 4 other Wilderness Safaris camps where we stayed ---this was 1st rate. We would definitely return here.

We were greatly entertained by a large troop of mischievious baboons grazing in the expansive grasses bordering our deck--many babies riding atop or clinging to the belly of their mamas. Then we saw them all running back after being chased off by staff for trying to steal food in lounge area.

Incredible fortune to observe 3 lion prides. Jaw-dropping amazing to discover our jeep was in the middle of 8 resting lionesses & cub. Saw them again later waking up & setting off to hunt. Watched 2 lions loudly crunching away at their kill. All this was closeup and fascinating.

We didn't want to go home so soon, so each animal, bird & landscape we encountered seemed especially precious. Our last morning outing, gave us just one more time to see different animal species, almost like a parade all the way to the airstrip." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O
France

"Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2013
"We loved the way the rooms have been re-decorated.

The staff was extremely friendly and the food was very good.

The guide was not the best we had on this trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Sussex

"Chitabe Lediba review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2012
"This camp has the feel of a larger organisation, being so close to the bigger Chitabe camp. The rooms are very large and have a modern, clean feel. Lovely comfy chairs to relax on both indoors and on the verandah. Large communal areas and a very relaxed feel to the camp.

The splash pool area is lovely and definitely the nicest pool of all the camps we stayed at. Our guide Mo was extremely knowledgable and skilled as well as entertaining. The game viewing was the best of our trip. The food was very good quality and well presented." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 77
97%
77 reviews of Chitabe Lediba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
66
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa