This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba

Reviews of Chitabe Lediba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Lediba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Lediba.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

80% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

White Rhino

40% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Brussels

"Great atmosphere at Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2012
"Very warm welcome from a great team of locals. Beautiful wood and thatch sitting/dining area. Food was first class and the BBQ evening lead by Malussi and all the staff, who danced and sang for us, was wonderful.

Lots of birds around the camp including a pair of grey hornbills nesting in a tree next to our tent who came to peck at our window and offer us insects. Lots of beautiful Cape glossy and Burchell's starlings.

Landscapes were beautiful; the cheetah were elusive but we did see a large pride of lions with their kill and the lions' hierarchy inter-action was fascinating. Although we didn't see a huge amount of animals during our drives, on our departure to the airstrip in the space of 45 minutes we saw: baboon, impala, tsessebe, a group of 6 giraffe, 2 warthogs, a leopard, 2 ostrichs, 3 mongoose and a steenbok all within a few metres of our jeep! Just shows you never know what to expect." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms Z
NL

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2012
"Chitabe Lediba is exceptional in many aspects: landscape and vegetation, luxurious tents which were refurbished in 2011, impressive mix of wildlife and very supportive staff and management. The BBQ in the Boma with performing staff was very good.
Wildlife included many leopards, male and female lions (with cubs), a cheetah and many birds. Ebs was our exceptional guide: low key but very knowledgable. The food was very good. The menu was every day discussed with Moalosi, and adapted to diabetic requirements. Moalosi and his staff did an excellent job." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Sleepy Hollow

"A great camp, could not be better."

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2012
"The camp was well run, superb service and food like the others. The manager, Lucy was exceptional, a fascinating, intelligent individual and a wonderful conversationalist creating a warm atmosphere among the guests.

The guide, Ebs, was the best among the good guides leading to the siting of lion families with their cubs and other reat scenes. His long experience as a guide and his sensitivity to animal behavior, as well as our widhes, led to the possibility of watching complex animal interactions, instead of quick photography and rushing off to the next scene.

The artistic taste of the camp owner was evident in the beautiful art which devorated the camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H Family
Germany

"Chitabe Lediba - luxury camp and many cats"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2012
"After another short but very scenic flight we reached Chitabe - the final destination of our safari!

We stayed for 3 nights at Chitabe Lediba, the smaller and more private sister camp of Chitabe main camp, with only 5 very luxury accommodations. Also service, food and everything else was excellent. They offer game drives in the morning and afternoon (ending as a night drive!) and of course (like in all private concessions) with the opportunity to drive off road!

Our guide at Chitabe was Molemi (very experienced) who tracked different prides of lions and the two big males that rule the concession since 8 years!! He also spotted a beautiful leopard posing for us on ground and in a tree.
The famous wild dog pack has moved after the alpha female was killed by a lion and the remaining alpha male had to look for another female! There are cheetahs (also 3 brothers) in this area but although Molemi did a very good job we unfortunately haven't seen one. Beside the predators you can see many other animals like elephants, buffaloes, different species of antelopes (incl. Lechwe) ....
The landscape in Chitabe is amazing: you can see floodplains, open water, woodland but also open grassland!

Although all camps we've visited were great at least Chitabe was our favorite one because of it's very private atmosphere.
So we can highly recommend it!

" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms Y
London

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2012
"We had a truly wonderful stay at Chitabe Lediba. On landing at the airstrip, our driver told us that a leopard had been seen in the area that morning and asked if we wanted a quick detour to see if the young male was still there. As a result, literally minutes after landing, we were photographing a leopard posing obligingly in a sausage tree! It was a great welcome to Chitabe, and very much set the tone for some really fantastic wildlife sightings over the following 3 days. We saw a group of three cheetah (mother and 2 cubs) on 3 separate occasions - on one of these, we watched them stalk and then chase impala. One evening, we watched a pride of lions hunting - they made two attempts in short succession, the females working together to confuse the impala, but they were unsuccessful. The following morning, we hadn't even left the camp when we came across the same group of lions and they had just killed a kudu - they were so close to the camp that we found them later that afternoon lying in the shade of the tents at Chitabe main camp. Lots of interesting bird species too - raptors, vultures and some beautiful wattled cranes. We had read on the Expert Africa site that Chitabe was a good place to see wild dog, but apparently the pack has declined since the death of the alpha female and, at the time of our visit, the guides said they had not had any sightings for a number of weeks.

Luke, our guide, was very good though we thought our guide at Little Vumbura was so passionate about the wildlife that he would often go the extra mile. Although not a major focus of the camp, we asked if we could do a walking safari one morning, and highly recommend it as a way of learning about the smaller species and the plant life. We didn't even have to miss out on the game drive, as we went out in the 4WD in the morning, then started our walk around 10am.

We're glad we decided to stay at Chitabe Lediba rather than the main camp. Perhaps because there are fewer tents and therefore fewer guests, we had the guide and vehicle to ourselves for several of the drives and a maximum of 4 at any one time, whilst nearly all the vehicles we saw from the main camp were shared by 6 people.

The tents are very spacious and quite luxurious. We particularly loved the outdoor shower. We found the staff to be very welcoming and efficient. The food was excellent, and the barbecue at the boma on our first evening was great." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Great stay at Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2012
"The staff here were lovely, our guide Luke extremely knowledgeble and the food was the best of all the camps we stayed at." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J of WC2
UK

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2011
"Some great game viewing, especially Leopard, BB was an enthusiastic and excellent guide.

The tents were wonderfull and as ever excellent staff" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 5n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent

"A good overall safari epxerience at CL."

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2011
"I will split my review into 2 parts as most camps seem to segregate Lodge / Camp management from the game experience. This is a pity as this was not the case when I was last in Botswana 15 years ago but is a sign of the times. As a self confessed Africa snob ( excuse the expression ) I think this is in great detriment to the safari experience but there are few lodges now run independently so I imagine this is the norm.

Camp Management.
Excellent support from all areas : Kitchen to room cleaning and dinning areas.This was a notable feature of this camp and we loved the family unit set apart at the end of the camp. These are 2 tents next to each other and made the family experience first class.The design of the tents is good with very comfortable beds and bathroom areas.Despite being very up market the design of the tents gave the camp a moderate bush feel . Gone are the days of real tents and feeling immersed in the bush.Elevated walk ways and access were useful.The pool and communal areas were also first class with smiles from all the staff.These were very well set out and gave one a sense of proximity to the bush.Food was good but one always had a sense there there was not quite enough of the key ingredient of the main course. ( ie very little meat but lots of fillers in ) The wine was undrinkable.I would rate this overall camp management aspect 7/10.

Game experience:
9/10. We had an excellent guide ( Thuso ) who had the most extraordinary eye sight and was a first class companion in the bush.Thanks to him a female Leopard was the prime viewing option for a film crew and some other guests.We also had a good session with 2 other male leopards and wild dog ( all within 200 metres ) . Elephant were not in abundance as the breeding herds had left . They had had rain a few days before. The walk was also well timed and managed . Viewing was also very well organized with never more then 2 vehicles at the sighting. And Beyonds next door camp were having a very tough time finding game and were driving 2 hours every day to CL concesion for viewing. They were suffering too much water I believe.CL is a camp set in attractive surroundings with a wide variety of terrain. We saw few Buffalo but otherwise were spoilt with our viewing." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Miss McD
UK

"Leopards in Chitable Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"We have had many safaris around the world and I have to say that our four camp trip to Botswana was, from the point of view of variety of animals, locations, hospitality and knowledgeable guides, the best one we have undertaken. This was helped by the fact that we had arranged our own private vehicle.

Our guide in Chitabe, Gordon, was outstanding. If one wishes to see leopards this is a camp to visit. We saw thirteen throughout the trip, seven of which were in Chitabe. The young elephants in and around the camp made for some on-foot, not to be missed encounters, as did the female lion with her two 18 month old cubs.

It was my wife, Caroline's, 60th birthday whilst were in Chitabe Lediba and we must thank Mwalusi and the staff for making it such a wonderful celebratory occasion." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr E
California

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2011
"Chitabe Lediba is in a great location for wildlife viewing and game drives. There are a lot of different kinds of birds and mammals, and we were fortunate enough to see a young leopard, thanks to the effort and determination of our guide, Thuso. We were fortunate enough to be the only guests with Thuso, and he always gave us ample time to view and photograph. Thuso also filled in at the camp to serve meals.

The dinner on our first night was in the boma. The quality of the food was substandard, and the boma itself did not seem especially welcoming. We had a much better experience in Little Vumbura when they had a dinner in their boma.

During that dinner, we noticed that the service did not seem up to the standard of the other camps, but we thought it may have been an anomaly. However, the next morning at breakfast the service was also poor. There was only one person at the buffet to serve food, the selection of items was quite limited, and we were not asked if we wanted coffee, etc. At lunch and dinner, we had to go ask for drinks, rather than being offered when we arrived (like the other camps).

We felt that the poor quality of the service was the direct result of poor management of the camp. One of the managers, Gwen, was new to the camp and to the profession. She commented that she had never been on a game drive, and that her primary goal working there was to gather material to write a book. The other manager (he was nicknamed "Lucy") was very experience, but did not seem to put forth much effort.

When it was time to eat, the person fetching us from our tent would usually not come up to the door, but just call out. And they tended to use their flashlight to light their way, but it left the walkway in the dark for us.

A new manager, Derek (sp?), arrived on Tuesday and was there at dinner (our second night). Starting Wednesday morning, the service started improving, and we felt that it kept improving during the rest of our stay. Derek was there for meals and to assist all of the guests at any time, and it seemed that he had really taken control of the situation. Our grades would probably have been much better if he had been there the whole time. On our last morning, after the drive, Derek had arranged a special, private lunch for us by the pool. This certainly helped leave us with a more positive feeling as we departed.

Our guide, Thuso, was a joy to be with. We felt we really got to know him more that any of the other guides or staff, and he was the best part of our stay in Chitabe Lediba, by far. We would love to see him again should we return." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 77
97%
77 reviews of Chitabe Lediba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
66
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa